Customer Reviews for

The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Very funny!

    My 6 year old daughter loves this book. She laughs hysterically when she reads it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It is a very funny book for children and contains a modern vocabulary. The writing is decent, and the characters are hilarious. I read it when I was in elementary school and still remembered it ten years later.

    Scieszka's outlandish characters and twisted plots will entertain children. The vocabulary is modern, and the writing is decent. I read the book when I was a child, and I still remembered it ten years later when I started a collection of children's books for my future children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    New and refreshing

    This book is so much fun, not only is it a family favorite between my kids and I, but I have also given it out as gifts to adult friends. It's great for all ages, and no one walks away without giggling for the next few days.

    The entertainment begins on the inside cover page...and don't forget to read the table of contents. You won't be disappointed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I remember!

    I'm 17 years old now and a senior in high school, but I can tell you that this is a book that I definetaly remember my elementary school teachers reading outloud to the class many time, because we all loved it. It has everything that we loved. This book is not one to pass up. I'll be buying a copy for my little sisters to enjoy as much is I use to when I was younger. I would also get the hardcover version, because it's bound to last longer than the paperback version. Hope you like it as much as I do. Brings back great memories! (: - Natalia

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    Halairious and Outstanding!

    'The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales' is a great book! It rearanges and twists Classic Fairy Tales into funny, cute stories and let's the Fairy Tales go into whole new dirictions. If you thought Fairy Tales were boring, you've GOT to check this book out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    These guys are funny!!

    These guys are funny!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Fun Twist on classic tales

    A rollicking fun and good read for your elementary or older children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Just upon opening the book and looking at the first page, I knew

    Just upon opening the book and looking at the first page, I knew it was going to be a fun book. I'd have to say some things were really funny, while others you kind of just wanted to do the eh it was ok sort of polite laugh. I read this book aloud to my nieces and just when I thought they were certainly going to lose interest, they'd laugh along and at the end told me it was a great book. This book put various spins on a lot of the fairy tales we grew up with, for example Cinderella is no longer Cinderella, she becomes "Cinderrumpelstiltskin". Although I didn't get all the humor, I think this book would be a good one to just be silly when reading to kids. This is one of those books that the person reading it, if they put just the right about of personality in it, will make it a great one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Don't buy this used because whoever owned it will have read the

    Don't buy this used because whoever owned it will have read the book until it fell apart. I loved reading the stories to my kids because I could make them laugh out loud. When they started reading, this was a good book to read with them because the dialogue is easy to read dramatically (or melodramatically). I can browse the whole Humor section of a bookstore without finding anything funny, but this book is witty enough for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    My brothers and I had this book when we were young and loved it.

    My brothers and I had this book when we were young and loved it. My son just turned one, and we still love going through these stories just as much as we did when we were little. A fun book for both parents and kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    poor

    The condition of the book that was sent to me was supposed to be "very good" according to the seller. It was in fact very poor. The binding has a tear in it, the pages are wrinkly and dirty, there is writing in it. Come on, that is not ethical.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    A childhood favorite to pass down!

    I am 22 and when I was 8, I got this book from a book fair. It was instantly my favorite book and I never put it down. I now have a 3 year old that I will purchase this for. If he doesn't like it, I know I will :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    Get Your Children To Think In a New Way

    After my then 7 year old grand daughter finished this book she said: "This book is just too good!". And it is. It is a terrific spoof of classic fairy tales designed to make children laugh and think. Any child who enjoys reading will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great alternative

    This book is a very funny book and a great alternative to your normal fairy tales. I bought this book for my sister for a baby shower gift (I have my own copy). I hope the whole family will get many years of enjoyment out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Amust read for all kids

    A laugh aminute. Your kids will love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    Really Fun Book For All Ages

    This book is a great non-traditional twist to old children's tales. It's lots of fun and everyone will want to hear it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    amazing book

    This book is the best!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales Review

    Caldecott Book Title: The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Stupid Fairly Stupid Tales Reading Level: First thru Fourth Grade Genre: Fairy Tales About the Author: Jon Scieska was born in Flint, Michigan on September 8, 1954. In 1980, he received his Master of Fine Arts degree from Columbia University. Mr. Scieska lives in Brooklyn, New York with wife, Jerilyn, and his son, Jake, and daughter, Casey. Book Review: The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Stupid Fairly Stupid Tales puts a new twist on our old fairy tale favorites. The author refers to these stories as ¿Fairy Tales.¿ He has taken a novel approach in presenting these delightful stories which reinvent some time worn classics. This book is a collection of ten tales which include: The Stinky Cheese Man, Really Ugly Duckling, Jack¿s Bean Problem, and The Other Frog Prince. These tales are narrated by Jack, who is a character from Jack and the Bean Stalk. This book is full of surprises. Mr. Scieska takes the traditional morals, and replaces them with humorous antics and surprising plot twists. Despite the changes, the original stories that inspired the Fairy Tales are still easy to recognize. In The Stinky Cheese Man we are introduced to the aromatic counterpart of the gingerbread man, but when The Stinky Cheese Man runs away, nobody wants to run after him, or eat him because he smells so stinky. In The Other Frog Prince, a frog tricks the princess into kissing him, only to reveal in the end that he was ¿just kidding¿, leaving her wiping off frog slime. Reading The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales was a pleasant experience. I would recommend this book for both children and adults to enjoy. Bibliographic Information: Scieska, Jon & Smith, Lane. The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales . New York: Viking, 1992.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    The Stinky Cheese Man

    Jack from Jack in the beanstalk is telling this story about ¿almost Fariy Tales.¿ It starts with an introduction and a story about Chicken Licken. Chicken Licken is retold imitating Chicken Little. Fairy tales are retold by Jack in his own version of retelling the stories. One of the stories retold is the Really Ugly Duckling. ¿Well as it turned out, he was just a really ugly duckling.¿ Little Red Running shorts is ¿about this girl who runs very fast and always wears red running shorts.¿ She ran so fast that she beat the fox to her grandma¿s house. Other stories are The Princess and the Bowling Ball, The Other Frog Prince, Jack¿s Bean Problem, and Cinderrumpelstiltskin, and The Stinky Cheese Man. A little old woman and a little old man wanted to make a stinky cheese man so that they wouldn¿t be lonely anymore. She opened the oven to find that he stunk very badly. Then he ¿hopped out of the oven and ran out the door calling ¿Run run run as fast as you can. You can¿t catch me. I¿m the Stinky Cheese Man!¿ This story is mimicking The Gingerbread Man. Unlike The Gingerbread Man, no one wants the stinky cheese man because he stinks so badly. Jon Scieszka was born in Flint, Michigan in 1954. He started college intending to be a doctor. He changed his career to become a teacher like his father. After he became a teacher he started writing children¿s books with the illustrator Lane Smith. Together they have won a Caldecott Honor Award for The Stinky Cheese Man and other Fairly Stupid Tales. Scieszka, Jon. The Stinky Cheese Man and other Fairly Stupid Tales. New York: Penguin Books, 1992.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    The Stinky Cheese Man and other

    Caldecott This is a funny book and I think you¿ll like it. It's some of your favorite fairy tales except told in parody form. My favorites are 'Jack's Bean Problem,' 'Little Red Running Shorts,' 'Chicken Licken,' and 'The Really Ugly Duckling.' But they're all very funny. The Little Red Hen will crack you up as she blabbers on about how no one is helping her. Jon Scieszka was born in Flint, Michigan on September 8, 1954. He received his Master of Fine Arts from Columbia University in 1980. Today Jon Scieszka and his wife, Jerilyn, son, Jake, and daughter, Casey, live in Brooklyn, New York. Bibliography Scieszka, Jon. The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales. New York: Penguin Group, 1992.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4