Customer Reviews for

Stir It Up: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Young Girl's Determination

Eighth grader Anaji lives with her father, mother, brother and grandmother in Richmond Hills, Queens. She works at her family¿s roti shop, Island Spice, where she can try new recipes. She goes to a cooking school with Deema, her grandma. She receives a brochure for a...
Eighth grader Anaji lives with her father, mother, brother and grandmother in Richmond Hills, Queens. She works at her family¿s roti shop, Island Spice, where she can try new recipes. She goes to a cooking school with Deema, her grandma. She receives a brochure for a new cooking competition that will be shown as a new Food Network series. Anaji shows determination for her passion of cooking when she finds out the competition is the same day as the entrance exam for a specialized High School. Will her father rule over her and make her take the test or will she follow her dreams in hope of becoming a Food Network Star.
Anaji bakes with her grandma, Deema creating delicacies for Island Spice¿s best customers to taste. She shares her recipes with Chef Nyla, her cooking instructor at the Institute of Culinary Education. Chef Nyla gives her the chance to fulfill her dream of becoming a Food Network Star, when she hands her a paper about a new show, Super Chef Kids. Her best friend, Linc, helps her with the entrance video, where she makes Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies. When she is accepted for the New York area regional competition, she is overwhelmed. Deema accompanies her to the first round where she creates Shrimp Burger Pitas. Even with a few minor setbacks and her struggle with time management she still ends up on top. Her father pushes her to study for the Stuyvesant Exam, but Anaji has another idea, when she finds out the competition is on the same day. When she decides to follow her dream, will she pay for her disloyalty or does she have what it takes to be the chef on Super Chef Kids. Ramin Ganeshram grew up with a Trinidad father and took the Stuyvesant exam just like Anaji might in this book.
The book Stir it Up! is full of suspense and determination. Anaji is devoted to cooking and her determination to compete shows this. Dishonoring her father, Anaji show her passion to cook and be the best she possibly can and to show it too. Even with her mother paying little attention to her, in order to receive her nursing degree, will Anaji have what it takes? Anaji is determined to achieve her
goal. There is much suspense in this novel because every little thing that does not turn out the way Anaji wanted it to, puts Anaji a little father back from her goal.
Anaji¿s determination drives her to do unexpected things and hopefully will allow her to achieve he goal. Naji entered the contest because of her strong passion. Would she ever of thought she would have to make a decision like the one she faces. Does Anaji be a good girl and do what her father says or will she follow her dream to become a world famous chef? Will Anaji¿s dream and passion bring her to lie and suffer the consequences or will she accomplish her dream and become a Food Network Star?
Anaji, a Trinidad girl, has the greatest passion in the world. But, will her dream bring her to do something dishonest. Will Anaji¿s will bring her to do something she might regret and destroy her father¿s goal for her happiness. An amazing hobby and passion brings out the worst in people in order to follow their dreams. This is a great book for anyone who loves to cook, or who is interesting in learning about cultures from around the world. It is a wonderful read for kid of all ages.

posted by 10184621 on November 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Too short

3 words to describe thi book it's too short

posted by 9950440 on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    A Young Girl's Determination

    Eighth grader Anaji lives with her father, mother, brother and grandmother in Richmond Hills, Queens. She works at her family¿s roti shop, Island Spice, where she can try new recipes. She goes to a cooking school with Deema, her grandma. She receives a brochure for a new cooking competition that will be shown as a new Food Network series. Anaji shows determination for her passion of cooking when she finds out the competition is the same day as the entrance exam for a specialized High School. Will her father rule over her and make her take the test or will she follow her dreams in hope of becoming a Food Network Star.
    Anaji bakes with her grandma, Deema creating delicacies for Island Spice¿s best customers to taste. She shares her recipes with Chef Nyla, her cooking instructor at the Institute of Culinary Education. Chef Nyla gives her the chance to fulfill her dream of becoming a Food Network Star, when she hands her a paper about a new show, Super Chef Kids. Her best friend, Linc, helps her with the entrance video, where she makes Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies. When she is accepted for the New York area regional competition, she is overwhelmed. Deema accompanies her to the first round where she creates Shrimp Burger Pitas. Even with a few minor setbacks and her struggle with time management she still ends up on top. Her father pushes her to study for the Stuyvesant Exam, but Anaji has another idea, when she finds out the competition is on the same day. When she decides to follow her dream, will she pay for her disloyalty or does she have what it takes to be the chef on Super Chef Kids. Ramin Ganeshram grew up with a Trinidad father and took the Stuyvesant exam just like Anaji might in this book.
    The book Stir it Up! is full of suspense and determination. Anaji is devoted to cooking and her determination to compete shows this. Dishonoring her father, Anaji show her passion to cook and be the best she possibly can and to show it too. Even with her mother paying little attention to her, in order to receive her nursing degree, will Anaji have what it takes? Anaji is determined to achieve her
    goal. There is much suspense in this novel because every little thing that does not turn out the way Anaji wanted it to, puts Anaji a little father back from her goal.
    Anaji¿s determination drives her to do unexpected things and hopefully will allow her to achieve he goal. Naji entered the contest because of her strong passion. Would she ever of thought she would have to make a decision like the one she faces. Does Anaji be a good girl and do what her father says or will she follow her dream to become a world famous chef? Will Anaji¿s dream and passion bring her to lie and suffer the consequences or will she accomplish her dream and become a Food Network Star?
    Anaji, a Trinidad girl, has the greatest passion in the world. But, will her dream bring her to do something dishonest. Will Anaji¿s will bring her to do something she might regret and destroy her father¿s goal for her happiness. An amazing hobby and passion brings out the worst in people in order to follow their dreams. This is a great book for anyone who loves to cook, or who is interesting in learning about cultures from around the world. It is a wonderful read for kid of all ages.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    STIR IT UP!

    This book is so enchanting! This book will make you want to cook something. This book also has lots of detail. This book makes you want to read more just to figrue out what will happen next to her almost petfect life she has. The recipes this book has look very interesting too. This is a book i recomend to the people that love to cook alot of food.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Awesome for chefs!

    I am 13 and love to cook very much. A lot of the recipes that are given along with the story are exactly the same as to how my mother and i cook. Since my mother and her family are West indian, i could really relate to Anajli and her families cooking and culture. For all the kids who love to cook and want to learn new recipes this is the right book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesomeness

    This book is the best. I highly recemend this. I read the real book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Awesome

    I loved the book. I never put my nook down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    How many pages?

    Does anyone know how many pages there area?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Too short

    3 words to describe thi book it's too short

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Cheetahhh

    This book sounds pretty good. I might get this book. This girl has one good passion. Also the author of this book is pretty creative. When I grow up I want to become an author. Im already working on a series right now. I cant release the title or my real name. Im just hoping if I publish it, it will be good. I love 2 wright fiction books. I only wrote one biography and that was for a relative. I hink this book is going to be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Awesome book :) ;)

    In love wit this book its AMAZING!!!!!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Good theme

    Loved it
    Need 2 read it
    Has a good lesson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!!!

    This book is amazing. It inspired me to start cooking. Plz read this great,wonderful book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    VerY Good

    This is an awesome book. Throughtout the book there were recepies having to do with the book. I also got to learn about a different culture. It made me want to get up and cook. This is also an inspirational book for following what your heart desires. Overall, I really liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great

    Good for any one who knows anything about cooking or even nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Recommended

    My daughter and I read this book for book club and we both enjoyed it. The book club girls made the coconut cookie recipe out of the book and greatly enjoyed them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    My little sis read it and she got some good resipse from it.. My sis read and liked

    GOOD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I tjink it is good so far Grate book

    Ithink it is good so far a
    So i will be genurus and give it a 5 * rating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Stir it up

    I loved this book. I got the book on my nook and then bought the hardback copy because i wanted to physically own copy of this book for the recipes. Highly reccomend...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Great recipes!!!!!!:) Read me!!!!!! :)

    I wish i wasent elerigic to shrimp. Then i could make her shrimp recpie! :) A deffentie read. Relistic and just right!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Awesome

    Great. It's expensive because it's new

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Soccer4

    Sounds like a good book but why is it so expensive its not even long?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2