BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Stir of Echoes

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    combines an amateur sleuth subplot within a fast-paced paranormal story line

    Returning to his home in Hawthorne from working at the North American Aircraft plant in Inglewood, Tom Wallace sees the car of Philip, his brother-in-law a psych major at Berkley. That night Tom, his pregnant wife Anne and Phil go next door to attend a party. Phil offers to hypnotize any volunteers, but no one steps forward so he informs ¿brother man¿ that he is the chosen victim. Phil successfully hypnotizes Tom.---- That night while unable to sleep, Tom begins hearing voices of people he knows and impressions in his dead culminated with a ghost in his living room. Suddenly, Tom¿s middle class American dream lifestyle seems meaningless as the hypnosis has aroused psychic abilities that he never knew he had. He hears the intimate most confidential thoughts of those around him and learns secrets that shake his existence, but worse is the visits from the murder victim demanding he help her find her killer.---- This is a reprint of a 1950s thriller (and a one degree Bacon movie) that combines an amateur sleuth subplot within a fast-paced paranormal story line containing a ghostly element and psychic abilities. Tom is a terrific protagonist as readers observe the contrast between his lifestyle and his new ESP abilities. The support cast adds depth to Tom¿s travails as he tries to solve a homicide and regain his former existence without ¿hearing¿ the thoughts of others. Richard Matheson shows why he is one of the masters of the thriller genre as this ¿historical¿ piece ages nicely.---- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Very First Matheson Book

    This was one of my favorite movies because it was realistically scary compared to most other movies. So, I decided to check on here one day to see if a book was ever made out of this movie or vice verse. This is when I found out all about richard matheson and the fact most of his books were eventually turned into movies. Including my favorite all time movie "what dreams may come" (which I am currently reading right now), and the not so infamous movie "I am legend". This book was by far much better than the actual movie. Stir of echoes is one of the greatest books ever written, in my opinion. I also love the fact that most of Matheson's books are mostly under 300 pages which is all the more enticing to everyday readers who dont always have the chance to find the time and read. Anyways, the book is almost completely different and much better than an already great movie. Matheson is Mr. Original..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2002

    A must read

    'Stir of Echoes' is a wonderful novel. The movie of the same title did it some justice, but the book is, as with most cases, better. It focuses on a man who has, after a hypnotic incident, the abiltiy to read thoughts and see things in the future. As it turns out, the precognition he possesses may just be his downfall. A real page turner. As with many Matheson books, it is a shorter book, making it an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Good Ghost Story

    I enjoy a good ghost story and a mystery. Watch the movie version with Kevin Bacon. Somewhat different from the book but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Recommended

    Good book, as always, better than the movie. Kept me riveted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Suspense!

    Another great work by Matheson. I love how he keeps the suspense building so I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book! I was a huge fan of the movie, so I figured I would give the book a shot. I knew Richard Matheson was a really influential writer, but I had never picked up one of his books. I'm so glad I did though! This novel is way different than the movie. It is not better or worse, just different. It was a super fast read and always fun. It was terrifying and thrilling. I could not put it down. It is hard to believe such a modern feeling book was written so long ago! I cannot wait to read more of Richard Matheson's stuff :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A UNIQUE THRILLER SPLENDIDLY READ

    The pairing of best-selling author Matheson and award winning narrator Brick is a formidable one. Together they have created a unique, chilling tale guaranteed to produce goose bumps and maybe even nightmares.

    For openers we hear: "The day it all started-a hot, August Saturday-I'd gotten off work a little after twelve. My name is Tom Wallace; I work in Publications at the North American Aircraft plant in Inglewood, California. We were living in Hawthorne, renting a two-bedroom tract house owned by one of our next-door neighbors, Mildred Santas."

    Tom sounds like an ordinary guy, doesn't he? Don't be deceived (remember Matheson's The Shrinking Man and his television work on The Twilight Zone?) Arriving home one day he finds that his brother-in-law, Phil, has come to visit. After supper their conversation turns to hypnotism with Phil claiming he can hypnotize Tom. At first Tom shies away from this and then agrees, saying, "What have I got to lose?"

    The answer to that is everything and more. Quite suddenly he begins to realize that he has psychic abilities, qualities he never imagined he possessed. He can hear the thoughts of other people and learns things he could have gone all his life without knowing. But, even more shocking is a message he receives from beyond the grave. Unimaginable events follow.

    Matheson's book is the inspiration for the popular film starring Kevin Bacon. Listening is even more pulse pounding than seeing - enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Although I absolutely love the movie, I wasn't impressed by the book. Not quite as spooky, and too many details were so different from the movie that I couldn't get used to it. It might appeal to others, though, especially if you've never seen the movie starring Kevin Bacon!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Creepy and thrilling!

    This is the first novel I've read by Matheson, and I'm already impressed. He was the Stephen King of the '50s and '60s! This about, after a party hypnotizing, a man becomes obsessed with a dream and the supernatural consequences hautning him. This can show that people go crazy with the unexplained, and how they'll do anything to find the answer. Highly recommended for reading on rainy nights, and the late hours for a great, haunting experience!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2000

    A quick read

    It's too bad this book can't help but be compared now to the movie of the same title. In itself, this is a real page-turner... a thriller that turns into more of a mystery, but keeps readers on the edge the whole time. The characters are a bit stereotyped, but the book is a bit dated, too, which is reflected in the writing. Still, worth the time and gives you a slight chill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2000

    Compelling!!!!!!

    A Stir of Echoes inspired Artisan Entertainment to create the image of this compelling novel. Tom Wallace is a caring husband and loving father, but while at a party some hynosis actions open a door in his mind. Now he has the ability to read psychic information and he also has gotten strange messages from an apparation that helps him uncover a mystery that was long forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2