BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stirring the Embers (The Starting Over Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Very Interesting.

This book was great I found it for free and gave it a try it's very different from others I've read but I did enjoy it I would like to warn those of you interested in this book that there is domestic abuse and if this is some thing that you are sensitive too it may not ...
This book was great I found it for free and gave it a try it's very different from others I've read but I did enjoy it I would like to warn those of you interested in this book that there is domestic abuse and if this is some thing that you are sensitive too it may not be for you this is not mentioned in the discription of the book so I thought I would mention it just as a fair warning for those interested it is a great story and I hope you'll give this book a try and make your own judgements like I did I do not by any means condone such behavior but there are readers out there that need to know what they will be getting. Happy Reading.

posted by 5932086 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Ok

There are only nine reviews for the book out of 24. The rest are role playing games. How shameful.



This free Friday book is part of a series. It is not a free standing book. The books really should be read in order. Once in a very great while, romance book lovers ca...
There are only nine reviews for the book out of 24. The rest are role playing games. How shameful.



This free Friday book is part of a series. It is not a free standing book. The books really should be read in order. Once in a very great while, romance book lovers can find a unique plot and realistic characters, along with some surprizes. Unfortuately, this is not one of those. I think the authors of these books has a WRITING ROMANCE BOOKS FOR DUMMIES, tucked away and fllow the instructions exactly, which is why, the books are all alike. To bad, they did not follow the efiting tips as well. Some violence, sex, lots of fighting, yelling and being mean to each other, dead parents, couple thrown together. In the end, they all come together and its happily ever after. If you want the same old, same old, are 18 years old or older, then this is a book for you.

AD

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Very Interesting.

    This book was great I found it for free and gave it a try it's very different from others I've read but I did enjoy it I would like to warn those of you interested in this book that there is domestic abuse and if this is some thing that you are sensitive too it may not be for you this is not mentioned in the discription of the book so I thought I would mention it just as a fair warning for those interested it is a great story and I hope you'll give this book a try and make your own judgements like I did I do not by any means condone such behavior but there are readers out there that need to know what they will be getting. Happy Reading.

    32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommended. This is my first experience reading this pa

    Highly recommended. This is my first experience reading this particular author and I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent writing and story line. If you enjoy a romance novel that is touching and has the depth to show the struggle with forgiveness you will enjoy this story.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Good read

    Kate and Donovan's young love was real and came fast. Their marriage however had a very dark cloud hanging over it. This story tackles a touchy subject very well and takes the reader through the struggles that go along with healing and forgiveness. There is also a subplot of murder thrown in the mix that adds even more emotion. Kate's brother Tom's story took on another sensitive subject that felt like there was a personal, opinionated tone that could be seen as a dig to a certain religion. I would like to read more about Kate and Donovan and hope that little updates about them will be included in the next books in this series that go into the lives of their friends. 351 pages

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    This is a great story. Modern time setting. Over 300 pages. Char

    This is a great story. Modern time setting. Over 300 pages. Character development was done very well. I've read a few other of the authors other stories and enjoyed them. It does deal with domestic violence but in a sensitive way. Be sure to read the authors note on that after the story. It is a fictional story so she can make the characters anyway she wants. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great book. I was surpised by how much I liked it and did't want to put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Ok

    Initially I enjoyed this book. But as the more background was shared about the domestic abuse, I became angry. The abuse victim kept trying to understand what she did "wrong" to cause the violence...what was her role in the domestic abuse. Nobody ever deserves to be abused. The victim is not at fault. The way the book ended was absurd and an insult to anyone who has ever been victimized.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    A novel by Mary Jo Putney for free, wonderful.

    I was very pleased to find a novel by one of my favorite authors, for free! This full length book is the first in a series. Although the topic of domestic violence is disturbing, it seemed to be handled with sensitivity. As unlikely as the notion that an abuser will truely change, it seems almost realistic in this fictional account.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Not just another romance

    This book tackles real issues and looks at the after happily ever after when love doesn't stay perfect. The love scenes are steamy without being crude. The book was a fast read while being thought provoking. A rare guilty pleasure that makes you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Highly recommend jmm44

    Amazingly wonderful book!! I didn't think I'd like a book about a demolition company. Nothing in common with what I'm familiar with--but the author puts everything together to make a lot of sense. Hope you like it too!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    True EmberClan Prophecy

    <p> When the volcano erupts, the Ashes will fall. </p>
    <p> Yet still the Moon will rise. A Shadow shall be cast apound the land. </p>
    <p> Drops of light from a great Soul shall be cherished, enlightened apoun a Lily's petal. </p>
    <p> The Rain shall Fall, harder than ever, and the Wolf will mourn for the Sun. </p>
    <p> The Frost shall spread, causing Echoes in the cave. Darkness Laps at the Maple and Birch forests. Prepare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Silversnow

    I'm pretty sure it means the Clan will rise, but only when Lilystar returns. As for Vixenpaw and Echo, they'll die / be hurt ect. I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Drizzlefire

    Echo, lilystar, Dropsoul, Vixen somethin. Can we go home now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Starclan's Prophecy

    The Star will rise,
    <br>
    But not of the water's Drop,
    <br>
    When the Lily returns,
    <br>
    The clan will unite once more,
    <br>
    But for the Vixen, and the Echo,
    <br>
    Their time will come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Very good book

    This was a new author for me and so glad I grabbed this book. Suspense from the beginning to end. And, a great story line with a little romance too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    Keeps You Guessing - Good Read

    These are people I'd like to hang with. Smart, quick and funny. The story line is fresh and I was captured. If you like a good mystery with all the clues subtly woven into it so one really has to focus, this would be a great 'after the kids go back to school' read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    must read!

    I haven't gotten thru the whole book yet but what I have read is indeed captivating to say the least!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Great read!

    Could not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Loved it bought the whole series

    A must read great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Sparrowight

    Thanks

    0 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2