Customer Reviews for

A Stitch Before Dying (Black Sheep Knitting Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When her old friend Nadine Gould contacts Maggie about replacing

    When her old friend Nadine Gould contacts Maggie about replacing a knitting workshop instructor who had bowed out of teaching at a remote Berkshires spa resort co-run by her sister Alice Archer and Alice's "fiance" Dr. Max Flemming, Maggie agrees -- on condition that she get the guest cottage capable of housing the rest of the Black Sheep Knitters. Though the brochures sent Maggie warn the group that the place is New Agey, they aren't quite prepared for what they find when they get there. The yoga instructor, who does a bit of belly dancing on the side, is Max's ex-wife. Alice, in addition to being Max's official "current girlfriend", also happens to be the widow of his business partner ( who killed himself after a patient died) -- a situation that doesn't sit well with her son Brian, who was devastated by his father's death and blames Max (and, as it turns out, Brian has more than resentment on his side). And then there are some of the guests. Ex-model turned bulemic Shannon Piper and abrasive divorcee Helen Lynch (who can't really knit, no matter how hard she tries) are being wooed by Max for different reasons; Curtis Hill, a travel writer, seems to be more interested in taking photos, supposedly of the scenery; the Schumachers, Rita and Walter, are there for Walter's health.

    The group's reaction to their surroundings is mixed. Things like sock puppets as replacement therapists gets the already-skeptical Dana's goat. Suzanne, whose comparison of time to Control-Top pantyhose has to be read to be believed, is a spa junkie and could care less. Phoebe, when she isn't living off of pomegranate smoothies and going on foraging walks, brings her characteristic enthusiasm to everything. Lucy, who is there to get her mind off of a possibly bump in her relationship with her yet-to-be-divorced boyfriend, is looking forward to the full moon camping expedition -- the camping part, not the ridiculous moon ritual. When Curtis gets killed during the night, the whole thing goes sour for everybody, especially when the police show up and guests and staff alike have to stay put. When it turns out Max may have been the target, it gets worse.

    The one sore spot I have is that not all of the Spa recipes are listed. I've Googled everywhere and can't find the recipe for the cranberry carrot flax muffins Lucy was eating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Murderous Knitters!

    Canadeo is at it again, this time combining wicked satire of healthier-than-thou new age culture, with cold-blooded murder. Her depiction of the spa psychologist beautifully captures a certain type of new age healer, and skewers him. The comraderie of the women is, as always, the glue that holds the book together. That and a plot that just doesn't reveal itself until the author sees fit. This book kept me guessing and entertained the whole way through. Can't wait for her next effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for Women Everywhere!

    I absolutley loved this third book in the series and enjoyed every word of it. The mystery did not lack in the anticipation department and Canadeo develops the plot flawlessly in each book.
    I also love Canadeo's use of comic relief throughout the book and I think it's a neccessary literary element that most mystery writers of the genre typically leave out. I feel like I'm at home with my own friends when I read the conversations between characters and I'm magically transported to Plum Harbor with the flip of the first page.
    To be honest I'm not much of a knitter but I enjoy the series all the same.
    To all the readers out there- put some water in the tea kettle, slip on that cozy blanket, dim the lights and prepare to be thrilled by the Black Sheep's latest adventure.
    Canadeo doesn't dissapoint with A Stitch Before Dying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    I love these women

    It's too bad someone has to die so that the Black Sheep Knitters can get to work solving a mystery, because I could read a new adventure every day. Anne Canadeo writes with a sure hand about female friendship while crafting a clever mystery. When five friends who share a passion for knitting gather at a New Age Spam, they expect a weekend getaway of spa treatments, knitting workshops and fun. What they don't expect is a murder. Canadeo introduces a interesting assortment of suspects in this whodunit, from a flaky yoga instructor to New Age guru to a hunky but troubled handyman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This third book in the Black Sheep Knitting is a wonderful successor to the first two (which I also highly recommend). Canadeo again masterfully weaves (no pun intended) together friendship, knitting, food, New Age theories and oh yes, murder (not one, but two!) and will keep you chuckling all the while at her pithy asides and observations of modern life. A very interesting and unusual combination of elements, and a pleasure to read. I don't think anyone will figure out whodunit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great cozy mystery

    I am a huge fan of cozy mysteries, and "A Stitch Before Dying" hooked me from the first pages, with a great story that kept me guessing who the killer might be.

    The Black Sheep Knitting Shop is where the five members of The Black Sheep Knitters meet. The group consists of Maggie Messina, the shop owner, and Lucy, Suzanne, Dana and Phoebe. While there love of knitting is what drew them together, they have become great friends, and they use their weekly meetings to knit, gossip and share their lives in general.
    When Maggie is invited by her old friend Nadine to teach a few knitting workshops at the Crystal Lakes Inn, she agrees. The inn is under new ownership, and the owners are New Age, and are having a Creative Spirit Weekend. Part of her pay is a guest cottage, so she asks the ladies of Black Sheep to join her for the weekend!
    Their weekend of relaxation, quickly turns into much more, when two murders take place can the Black Sheep Ladies figure out who the killer is?

    While this is the third installment of the Black Sheep Knitting Mysteries, it can easily be read as a stand alone work. The author adds a neat little meet the knitters page at the beginning of the book that quickly gives you the background you need so you can dive right into the story. The ladies are fun to read about, and their distinct personalities add to the story. An added bonus is a few recipes for readers to try.

    A fantastic book for mystery lovers, where you will feel like your visiting old friends. I am anxious for my next visit to the Black Sheep Knitting Shop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    I love this series of books. I like the Goldenbaum as well but Goldenbaum tends to concentrate more on the food and social standing of the characters than the knitting. Canadeo is superb! Her stories are centered on the knitting group and the adventures they encounter. Its riveting. Keeps me on the nook until I have finished every page. Hope she continues with this group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Solving a mystery with yarn

    This is the third book in Canadeo's Black Sheep Knitting mystery series. While I have not read the first book, I did read book number two when it was published last year. It was my first introduction to the idea of a cozy mystery. Growing up I read mysteries almost exclusively for a while, things like Nancy Drew and Trixie Beldon. Later I moved on to Barbara Michaels and Phylis Whitney. In college I started reading more romances and fell away from mysteries. Since then I have jumped around but never fully got back into mysteries. This book, and the previous ones, were such fun reads that I plan to look for more mysteries to add to my TBR stack of books.

    In this installment, Maggie, the owner of the Black Sheep Knitting Store, has been invited to a new age spa to teach some knitting courses. She invites her friends to come with her for a weekend away to relax and be pampered. While two members are on a camping retreat a fellow guest is found dead. When his death is ruled a murder things at the Inn change. Everyone is jumpy and worried and the police aren't allowing anyone to check out or leave until they are finished with questioning. A few possible suspects arise within the assortment of characters staying and working at the Inn. As with the last book, Maggie and her friends do some sleuthing of their own (grown=p Nancy Drew and Trixie Beldon style).

    Different clues point to different guests and the book moves along at a nice pace. These felt like friends I was checking in with again. It made me want to learn to knit, just as the last one did, and I envied this group of women who were able to make time for each other on a regular basis even in the busyness of their daily lives, jobs and families. I think sometimes we underestimate the need to have a close relationship with our friends.

    This was an enjoyable read that I would recommend to readers of all genres. Sit with a cup of tea or a glass of wine and immerse yourself in this group of friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    charming cozy

    Maggie Messina owns the Black Sheep Knitting Shop. She and four of her friends formed the Black Sheep Knitters as each loves to knit and think of the shop as their refuge where they can focus peacefully on their past-time.

    Maggie is invited to provide a knitting seminar at the exclusive Crystal Lake Inn in the Berkshires. For diverse reasons, her four Black Sheep Knitters accompany her to the inn as they each look forward to knitting at the new age spa run by self help aficionado Dr. Max Flemming. On an overnight camping trip, Dana and Lucy attend the new age evening, when a murder occurs. The police question everyone but discover the victim Curtiss Hill was a reporter. He lied when he said he worked for a travel guide, but instead was an investigative reporter for Expose a muckraking tabloid that reports embarrassing items about celebs. They later learn the hut where the kill happened is normally occupied by Dr. Max. The Black Sheep Knitters assume the flamboyant owner was the intended victim and seek motives from that assumption.

    This charming cozy will entertain those readers who relish eccentric character driven mysteries. There are three viable suspects who wanted Max dead as the Knitters stitch the case together one clue at a time. Fast-paced, fans will root for the fearsome fab five as they investigate who murdered Curtis in the third Black Sheep Knitter's amateur sleuth (see Knit, Purl and Die).

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1