Customer Reviews for

Stitch 'n Bitch: The Knitter's Handbook

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great start for those new people like me!

This book is very helpful on most things, but there are a lot of explaining and not a lot of photos, plus the photos are not always very clear on which piece of yarn is what. This book does a wonderful job on teaching basic english style knitting and how to read patter...
This book is very helpful on most things, but there are a lot of explaining and not a lot of photos, plus the photos are not always very clear on which piece of yarn is what. This book does a wonderful job on teaching basic english style knitting and how to read patterns. This book will NOT teach you very well how to make tubes (socks and mittens) nor how to use double pointed needles very well. If you are looking for a nice 101 this is your book a lot of my friends who wanted to start simple projects have photocopied this book over and over again. However, if you are looking for more of a leap off from what you know look at it in the store. This book isn't a bad book at all, but there are some pitfals that me and my knitting buddies have found with this book.

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too much hype, not enough teaching

This is yet another book published quickly to get the author on the bandwagon because everyone is knitting again. Her writing tone is contrite and lame. She tries to teach you using 'hipster' language but it would be more easier to understand if she just used plain En...
This is yet another book published quickly to get the author on the bandwagon because everyone is knitting again. Her writing tone is contrite and lame. She tries to teach you using 'hipster' language but it would be more easier to understand if she just used plain English. Her subtitles for different categories are downright silly and often have sexual tones. The line drawings of hands and string positions are difficult to interpret. She devotes one measly paragraph to 'intarsia' which is using more than one color to knit. It made no sense to me, yet quite of few of her patterns require this technique to produce the finished product.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Too much hype, not enough teaching

    This is yet another book published quickly to get the author on the bandwagon because everyone is knitting again. Her writing tone is contrite and lame. She tries to teach you using 'hipster' language but it would be more easier to understand if she just used plain English. Her subtitles for different categories are downright silly and often have sexual tones. The line drawings of hands and string positions are difficult to interpret. She devotes one measly paragraph to 'intarsia' which is using more than one color to knit. It made no sense to me, yet quite of few of her patterns require this technique to produce the finished product.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Great start for those new people like me!

    This book is very helpful on most things, but there are a lot of explaining and not a lot of photos, plus the photos are not always very clear on which piece of yarn is what. This book does a wonderful job on teaching basic english style knitting and how to read patterns. This book will NOT teach you very well how to make tubes (socks and mittens) nor how to use double pointed needles very well. If you are looking for a nice 101 this is your book a lot of my friends who wanted to start simple projects have photocopied this book over and over again. However, if you are looking for more of a leap off from what you know look at it in the store. This book isn't a bad book at all, but there are some pitfals that me and my knitting buddies have found with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Targets the Younger Crowd

    As a beginning knitter, I was disappointed in this book. It's true, the stories at the beginning of the book are interesting, but that's where it stops. It definately targets the younger generation. It has a bunch of patterns that might be good for practice, but are hardly useful in the real world. The only pattern I found half way interesting was the alien scarf. I'm attempting to make it, but the instructions are not really easy for the beginner. Their are mistakes in the patterns of this book too. You can go online (if you know where to look), and get the corrections, but I think it's unprofessional to print without proof reading and checking it first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    E Pretty nice reference

    Very useful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Terrific guide

    I already had a copy of this book. I started a knitting group with 3 friends to knit andso pend tme together. One member of the group is an experienced knitter and is our teacher. The other two woman had no knitting experience. I bought each of them a copy of this book. It is extremely easy to follow for a beginner and a great reference book for a little more experienced knitter. It also has projects to try. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in learning how to knit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Excellent Resource for biginners and veteran knitters alike!

    Everything you wanted ti know and more plus some short cuts I have certainly found invaluable. Also, the patterns themselves are fun funky elegant.Something for every taste! Thanks for the hard work compiling this book a regular go-to for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    This book is teaching me to knit!

    I am new to knitting, mainly because it always looked so complicated and I am one of those people who is 'all thumbs'. I decided to give it another try, and I went searching for books that would be easy for me to understand. This was the book that clicked best for me: the basic instructions are written in an everyday, conversational way that engages me as opposed to making me feel as if I don't know what I am doing. I have yet to try most of the patterns as I am still learning the basic stitches, and even though most patterns are for a 'younger' crowd (I am 41), I would still wear them. Give this book a try, it's done wonders for me so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Excellent for beginners

    I basically learned to knit from this book. There are plenty of easy to follow instructions for everything from how to cast on, how to fix mistakes, mattress stitch, even how to knit lefty. There are also several good patterns. In my opinion, any beginning knitter should have a copy of this book, it was my lifeline as I started out and continues to be a favorite reference when I run into a problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Really helpful book!

    This is a great book for the beginning knitters out there. I had the basic idea of knitting but I was having trouble following videos and tutorials to perfect my attempts, this book solved my problems and answered many questions! I found the tips, tricks and techniques in the book extremely informative and helpful. I would highly recommend this book for any beginning knitters who are looking for more information of knitting and techniques.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Great for the visual learner

    This book teaches you how to knit by explaining things in a way you can actually understand. So many knitting books I have picked up have very few illustrations and the way they explain knitting techniques is too confusing for a newbie. After checking out about 20 books from my local library, I found this one and loved it so much I bought it. It explains things in a easy manner like a friend would tell you and not like an encyclopedia. It also provides good illustrations of the techniques. It is well organized, easy to use, and covers everything you need to know to knit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gotta Have This If You Create Knits

    This isn't exactly a book but knitting graph paper and diary for items you create for yourself. A portion has a section for body measurements and the rest are blank for your own ideas and instructions. It's perfect for clothing items that you design but aren't a lightening speed knitter, so you need to be reminded of patterns or other directions. Or for when you find the perfect sweater but you like the neck line of another...you need something to get those adjustments down. Why cut up a bunch of other books when you could get this and put all those patterns for colored designs inside this compact and portable diary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lefty's Must Have!

    The author of this book is both quite witty and informative as she instructs basic learners down the knitting path. Her drawings are simple but very effective in helping the beginner understand what stitches should or shouldn't look like and how to fix the mistakes that frequently happen. Being left handed, my mother refused to teach me how to teach claiming it was impossible due to my left handedness. I taught myself but I could only do the knit stitch and remembering how I got the stitches on and off the needles was frustrating. This book taught me the continental method, which now makes knitting a breeze for me. It's so easy, I've even shown several women how to do it while in the hobby store.

    I really appreciated the humor in the book as shortly after I bought it, I became ill and had to remain in bed for over a week. It was entertaining as well as informative as a knitting handbook. While sick, I read the entire book and knit several items.

    While it will not be the only book a true knitting addict will purchase, it is a must have for beginners, especially if they are left-handed. It describes several stitch patterns, for which there are pictures. The book contains full color pictures of interesting clothing items. And the directions are in very easy to understand language.

    All in all, it's well worth the price and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    This is the book that finally taught me how to knit.

    This is an excellent starting point for someone who wants to learn to knit (like me) who has no one around who can teach him or her how to knit (also like me). The how-to sections are well-illustrated and show where needles and yarn go more clearly than most of the books from yarn and needle makers.

    Is this the only knitting book you'll ever need? No, but it's got enough in it to keep you interested for quite a while. Not everything is scarves and afghans (very little of it is, actually) and the presentation tends towards slightly snarky but not condescending.

    My only caveat would be to try to find a later edition if you're looking to pick it up used, as there are a lot of errata in the 1st edition that, while available online, are important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Great for beginning knitters

    I bought this book to help me get started knitting. I loved all the background info about yarn, making balls, and general knowledge. The patterns offered in the book were a little on the odd side, but I do plan to make a couple of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Most Awesome Knitting book EVER!!!

    I have owned several copies of this book.. The reason why you may ask.. Because people want me to teach them how to knit. I am not a good teacher. So I let them "borrow" this book. I never see it again. Then I have to buy a new copy. I have lent it out and bought it 3 times now. I need to buy a fourth and final copy that will be strictly for me.. ANYWAY I digress...

    This book fits both learning personalities.. Those who read and follow instructions and those (like myself) who look at diagrams and figure it out. The text of the book is very witty, and extremely entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Great choice!

    I'm pleased with my choice of this book. The instructions are easy to follow and the pictures are useful. Although I have known how to knit for years, I have never progressed much past a simple knit or purl. This book quickly showed me how to do some more advanced stitches with no problem. I look forward to moving past knitting just a scarf. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    A great resource for beginners

    Easy to read and entertaining. Once you've mastered the basics it's a good source for referencing basic techniques. Projects are cute too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Easiest to use and understand

    Finally found a book with instructions I get! Illustrations are extremely helpful. I carry this book around with me and refer to it all the time. Have bought 2 copies for gifts for both experienced and novice knitters. Also like the patterns, have used many of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Basic knitting with attitude

    This is the knitting instruction book I always get for new knitters in their teens,twenties, and early thirties. I also use it for reference and illustration when I am teaching beginning knitting. It is written in a cheeky, irreverent style that catches and holds the attention of young knitters. The illustrations are very clear as are the written instructions. The scope of the book is basic, so it would not be the only book you would want for your knitting library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4