Customer Reviews for

Stitch 'n Bitch: The Knitter's Handbook

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great start for those new people like me!

This book is very helpful on most things, but there are a lot of explaining and not a lot of photos, plus the photos are not always very clear on which piece of yarn is what. This book does a wonderful job on teaching basic english style knitting and how to read patter...
This book is very helpful on most things, but there are a lot of explaining and not a lot of photos, plus the photos are not always very clear on which piece of yarn is what. This book does a wonderful job on teaching basic english style knitting and how to read patterns. This book will NOT teach you very well how to make tubes (socks and mittens) nor how to use double pointed needles very well. If you are looking for a nice 101 this is your book a lot of my friends who wanted to start simple projects have photocopied this book over and over again. However, if you are looking for more of a leap off from what you know look at it in the store. This book isn't a bad book at all, but there are some pitfals that me and my knitting buddies have found with this book.

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too much hype, not enough teaching

This is yet another book published quickly to get the author on the bandwagon because everyone is knitting again. Her writing tone is contrite and lame. She tries to teach you using 'hipster' language but it would be more easier to understand if she just used plain En...
This is yet another book published quickly to get the author on the bandwagon because everyone is knitting again. Her writing tone is contrite and lame. She tries to teach you using 'hipster' language but it would be more easier to understand if she just used plain English. Her subtitles for different categories are downright silly and often have sexual tones. The line drawings of hands and string positions are difficult to interpret. She devotes one measly paragraph to 'intarsia' which is using more than one color to knit. It made no sense to me, yet quite of few of her patterns require this technique to produce the finished product.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Basic knitting with attitude

    This is the knitting instruction book I always get for new knitters in their teens,twenties, and early thirties. I also use it for reference and illustration when I am teaching beginning knitting. It is written in a cheeky, irreverent style that catches and holds the attention of young knitters. The illustrations are very clear as are the written instructions. The scope of the book is basic, so it would not be the only book you would want for your knitting library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    This series of knitting and crochet books is excellent. I personally like the crochet "Happy Hooker" book better but this one is great too. There is a plethora of information on knitting from the history and basics all the way to a few advanced techniques. I did not give it five stars because the projects could have been better. None the less, I would still recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    great book!

    the simple ways stoller explains has helped me so much more than other confusing books. Well written! I use it frequently. I am a new knitter and this has really saved me!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Great resource

    Great fun to read, patterns you actually want to knit, and the book I find myself turning to when I need a reference on 'how am I supposed to do that again?' What more could you ask for? The pattern instructions are a bit confusing at times, but you can figure it out. And they are worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!!!

    This book is one of my favorite. The author makes knitting extremely easy to understand. I love this book and I would recommend this book to everyone who wants to challenge themselves to the next level. Good Luck!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Knitting book written by a WRITER

    First of all, this book is a very enjoyable read. I have read several how-to books on knitting by people who know knitting, but not writing! Stoller's background in magazine publishing is what makes this book shine. The stories are informative and entertaining - Stoller's wit is unmatchable in craft books. I was knitting about six months and had never completed a project before I got a hold of this book. Then, all the basics I had picked up here and there fell into place with Stoller's guidance. She explained all the niches in knitting; for example: the pictures of which direction the stitches need to sit on the needles to prevent gaping holes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    A Hip book on knitting

    I love this book! It has very hip, modern and fun things to make as opposed to all those books with VERY 70s-looking apparel. Who wants to knit a sweater vest? I am only a year-old knitter and at first found this hard to follow but with more practice (on many scarves) began to get the hang of things like the iPod cozie! Pictures, lingo and stories are GREAT too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    AWESOME!

    Fun to read, awesome and witty drawings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Perfect

    This book is great for more advanced but I was a beginner when I read it and it turned out to be more than just a how to knit book it was funny and it had this woman telling her family history and past and it was a wonderful choice!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2004

    Great Book

    i got this for my 17th birthday, can't say anything about the learning how, been knitting for awhile, but still a great book for those interested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    Not very user-friendly for beginners!

    The book caught my attention because of the title and great pictures of the completed projects. However, as I attempted a couple of the projects, I quickly got discouraged by the complicated directions. Some require expensive and hard-to-find yarn. This is not a book for novices!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    Inspiring!

    I picked up this book at the local library having no intention of learning how to knit--I was a confirmed crocheter who wanted to look at the patterns and adapt them. Here I am 2 months later with several scarves to my credit, with 3 more projects being knitted! Clear instructions, good illustrations so you understand what you're doing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    One of the best knitting books out there

    I have a bunch of knitting books and this one has quickly become my favorite. The patterns are unique and very wearable. Definitely not the typical boxy sweaters and boring garter stitch scarves. Also, though I have several knitting reference books, I usually use the reference section in S&B because the instructions are very clear--there's essentially no room for error. Finally, this book has a lot of information about knitting that I just haven't seen elsewhere--from which knitting magazines are best to what kind of yarn makes you look fat. Its humor and charm make it one you can sit down and read cover to cover. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    witty copy but otherwise useless

    I loved the title and thought this would be a great book but I was very disappointed. The writing on the history, intro., etc. is very witty but that is the only redeeming value. If I had been in a bookstore in person, I would not have bought this book. It does cover the basics and you can probably learn to knit from it but unless you are trying to build the biggest knitting library ever, you don't need this book. The photographs are black in white for the most part, the only color pictures are the models wearing the projects. And the patterns aren't really useful, do you really want to make a sweater with a skull on it? And who wants to knits wrist warmers? You can do a whole lot better with the Vogue guide to Knitting, the Yarn Girls Guide to Knitting, and regular pattern books and magazines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Knitting made amusing

    I found the book both informative and amusing and it really does take the old lady stereotype away from knitting. The projects are easy and somewhat more funky than what I'd do on a normal day, but I think it's a good start for a knitting resource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    This is Fabulous!!!

    Having never knitted before, I bought this book to help me learn. The illustrations are very easy to understand and the step by step explanation is perfect. I was able to start knitting right away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    The Most Punk Rock Basic/How-To Knitting Book Out There So Far!

    I am 29 and my sister in NYC sent me this book for my birthday a few months ago. I have been obsessed with learning ALL facets of knitting ever since! This book made the world of knitting more accessible and exciting for me (finally!). I've known how to crochet a bit since elementary school, but I could NEVER get the hang of knitting until NOW (along with a few other handy resources as backup). I really liked that the book was not all about instructions, patterns, & acrylic yarn. I really loved the author's stories about her family, the history of knitting, and the contemporary & fun writing througout the book. Included are some very original and functional projects created by other knitters. The edgy photo layouts of these projects had lots of eye appeal, too. I'm looking forward to tackling the Wonder Woman bikini :-D ! in addition to some of the other funky patterns. I am hoping to get others who have expressed an interest in my knitting addicted to this 'habit' as well. The hardest parts of knitting overall (for me personally) were teaching myself how to cast properly and some of the aspects of pattern reading. Once I got a hang of those things I was off! I was very inspired by the section on how to start your own knitting circle & made info/promo packets. After I making contact with all of the coffee houses in my small county, two local cafes expressed an immediate interest in hosting the 1st Bradenton, FL SnB group! We should be up and running with the next month or so and I CAN'T WAIT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    I learned to knit with THIS book!

    I bought this book 2 weeks ago and I was so excited that I could actually understand the directions!! This is the 3rd 'learn to knit' book I have bought and this was the only one I needed! I have made 4 beautiful scarves in the past 2 weeks and am getting ready for my first hat! The instructions are clear and in plain English and the drawings are SO helpful! I also liked the history she included on knitting and her family. She's just great and this book is awesome! I recommend to any beginner or experienced knitter for that matter. The patterns are new and hip and my daughter can't wait for me to make the cell phone cozy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Superb!

    I'm an intermediate knitter, and I thought this book was fantastic. I wish I had it when I started!! It's really easy to read. I brushed up on some techniques I hadn't used in a while. The patterns are smart, well-written, creative, and come out beautifully. I especially love the resource guide in the back of the book!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR ALL KNITTERS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    I did it!!!

    I tried to knit 2 years ago when I found what I thought was an easy explanation in a magazine...well the needles and yarn have been sitting in the bag since giving up after a month of trying. I picked up this book Friday and am on my way to finishing my first scarf - and people are intriqued by the book title sticking out of my tote with my needles, thread and now, my scarf!!! This book has the pictures with the words that finally made sense to me. My advice, if the author says a way to do something is her favorite - try it...it's what has made it all come together for me! Everyone's getting a scarf for Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4