BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stitches: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HAUNTING!

    I read this book in under 2 hours and three days later I can't stop thinking about it. What this poor boy went through is more teriifying in it's unfairness alone than any horror comic. I felt shocked and angry that such selfish beings ever exisited and became parents. Mr Small is an amazing writer and artist. I have deep respect for his survival and creativity.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    Page turner

    I could not put it down. It had the hair the back of neck standing up.
    I wish I could my writing could be as clear and breath taking.
    If it is ever made into a movie. I know the rating will be "R" but it will worth it. The main character in the book made me want grab him and take him to my house.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    Powerful.

    One of the most dramatic books I have read. Such an easy read but very powerful. The pictures tell the story and you would even understand it even without the words. Amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    OhMyGosh!

    I 'read' page after page on which not a word was written, yet I was gripped by emotion. I was new to the 'graphic' concept in literature so it came as a surprise to me to feel so many feelings...sadness, outrage, puzzlement, contempt, disbelief....as the story unfolded in this graphic memoir. That a family could be so disfunctional brought sadness. That David Small rose above it all to bring us the work that he has produced brought joy. I found that the drawings and brief words used in telling this story controlled the pace with which I read. Sometimes I rushed to read the next panels. Other times I paused to reflect. The drawings did that to me. I commend the author/artist for being able to do that so well to a reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this book is creepy and funny but check it out anyway!!(:

    short story about david small; stitches This book "sticthes" is really interesting. This book spoke to me as a human being because of all the graphics I thought was very cool. First it looked interesting, that it was going to be a since of weird, but when I first read it, it was pretty good tell I kept going then, it just got creepy. But it had a little mystery about davits parents. That would be the little author writing this book when he was a little boy. This book is funny to; I remember the part where David said he fell in love with Alice. David always thought because of her long blonde hair gave her magic powers to go to a magical place. Such as where plants talk, or cats can talk to, and having a potion to be very small. David Small said he also wanted to go to that magical place, so he put on a long yellow towel and ran outside. But mothers pull there kids away from him, because they thought he was crazy or something. Will the authors purpose of writing this book I would say that he wanted to let the people know what a horrible thing happen to David. David Small when he was little he didn't know his parents gave him cancer. David would tell how his parents acted and he also had a big brother. He said they all had a language of expressing themselves. Will like his mother she would smack the cabinet kitchen door all the time when it was really quite around the house. Then his dad had one to, his dad would come home from work and go down to the basement and punch his punching bag, to try to get over what he had done to his son. Then his brother also had one, his brother would beat his drums really loud. But last David had a language also; his language was getting sick all the time. His dad would give him medicine all the time when he had to stay in bed. One of the major theme in this book was when David found out he has cancer by looking at his moms letters, that she wrote, to her friend. He was in shocked he had that since 14 years old, and right now he is 16 years old. Now he got why his parents where so nice to him in the hospital he had to get surgery in, cause someone told him it was a growth but it wasn't. So David decides to move out at 16 years old and becomes a artist, painting, pictures, also drawing. He also found a motel, but it was all broken down. They had people in it living in there. They were couples and friends living together, in a old house. Another theme is he dreams about weird things, when that happens he wouldn't get to sleep, and he would get a little sick sometimes. Which he thought was weird. The author's attempt of writing this book is because he wanted to tell how you should be good to your parents. That you should listen to what they say. That the parents should also be good to there children, that you should be able to tell them anything. Also that you shouldn't leave when your teens. That you should stay in school and get good grades. You would want to have a successful life. Also you would want to have good parents, which would be there for you. That you should think before you do something. What I learned from this book is you shouldn't leave when you 16 or in your teens. That to obey your parents when they say and you shouldn't lie about anything. That you should be able to tell you kids no matter what it is, it's the best way to get through anything even though there hard. That anything could happen in this world with out you knowing. That you shouldn't give up what your really doin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Gothic Novel 101

    I did not think much of Gothic Novels until I read this book and I could not put the book down and if you have not tried Gothic Novels - this is the one to read!

    Reality is sometimes more frightening than the illusions in life. This book is 'chilling' & 'troubling' with a 'dark side' of life in the midst of 'normal' reality.

    David Small has retold his story in comic theme but is no means to be taken lightly as it is a beautiful new way of telling a hard life story to others.

    It will be hard for David to top this book as I loved the ending/beginning!

    Excellent book to add to your/my library collection!

    Excellent - Thank you David Small!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2