Customer Reviews for

Stolen

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Daniel Palmers third book, Stolen has just become my absolute fa

    Daniel Palmers third book, Stolen has just become my absolute favorite. Once I started reading I was unable to put it down until the book was complete.
    He characters come to life on and I found myself as in love with Ruby as John Bodine the hero of the story. What would you do to save
    your true love...This book is for anyone that enjoys an exceptional thriller. Daniel is an incredible story teller and you will love this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    John and Ruby Bodine are living the typical American life. John

    John and Ruby Bodine are living the typical American life. John is trying to launch his online game, One World, and Ruby is a struggling college student. John has also finally emerged from a deep depression after an incident that happened during a mountain climb with his buddies. A trip that left one of them dead and the two survivors just learning to cope with what they had to do. Even though John and Ruby struggle to live day to day, their love is the shiny beacon guiding them to what they know their future can be. Then one day, John discovers a strange patch of skin on Ruby’s foot that sets into motion something they never planned on.

    Ruby has an aggressive form of cancer and there is only one treatment. Unfortunately the generic version is unavailable and their current insurance won’t cover the name brand. John feels he has only one option, steal the identity of one of his gamers whose insurance will cover the treatment. He finally finds the perfect one, Elliot and Tanya Uretsky. They pack up and leave their life behind and begin to live their new life as the Urtesky’s.

    One day John gets the phone call that he could never dream would happen. The caller says, “My name is Elliot Uretsky, and I believe you stole my identity.” Elliot wants to play a game called Criminal and he wants John and Ruby to be the main players. They can continue using his insurance but they have to pass his tests. They start out easy and John and Ruby think that it is all a prank and they decide not to play this fiend’s game. That is when the bodies start to show up, brutally murdered, they know this guy means business. From here till the end is a tale of suspense and terror. The things that Elliot makes this couple do will blow your mind.

    Daniel Palmer’s mind is something I would not want to be living in but I am thankful he is able to put it to paper. Even though this couple commits insurance fraud and as the game goes on some pretty devious things, you as a reader start to cheer for them to somehow win and outsmart the devious villain. Every page is a new twist thrown into the plot and the storyline keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering how far John and Ruby will go. Palmer has really outdone himself in his third novel and has solidified himself among some of the great mystery/thriller writers, in my opinion. I know he isn’t going anywhere and I look forward to what his next project will be.

    (ARC was provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Donna Wharton for Readers' Favorite Cancer was all

    Reviewed by Donna Wharton for Readers' Favorite

    Cancer was all John could think of though he had to help his wife. Ruby was his priority and he didn’t want her to die. What a roller-coaster ride! Kudos to Daniel Palmer for "Stolen". I had not yet read any of his books, but I have to tell all of you, if you are looking for suspense, this is the book for you. Throughout the book I began to think there should actually be places where it would be good for DP to place “Stop Here” for a break so that you could catch your breath for a little and slow down your heart rate. Otherwise, I was going to hyperventilate. In this book the chapters are short and very well described. If they had been any longer I would not have persisted until the end of each one. The only thing I could do at times was to hold my breath for 2 pages. DP has definitely got an extremely well-rounded way of detailing suspense: twisting and turning so that you are confused or maybe not confused because that is what the killer wants you to think. You might feel even dizzy because you have been turned around too many times.

    It took me 2 hours after finishing "Stolen" before I could write a review because I had to come down from the culmination of everything DP had in place. I was exhausted, but exhilarated, thankful at the last words when it was finally OVER and I was released from the suspense that held me in its tight grasp for so long. Thank you very much Daniel Palmer for a book so well-written that it kept me captivated and second-guessing until the vvery end as to how everyone would fare.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A good mystery novel makes for a good read but one that frighten

    A good mystery novel makes for a good read but one that frightens and warms you at the same time is rare. Daniel Palmer, in his novel Stolen does exactly that. He starts you off near the summit of a frozen mountain where protagonist John Bodine, chilled to the bone, is faced with the wrenching decision of killing one friend to save another. As the story progresses, you are taken into Bodine’s heart and passion for wife Ruby who is diagnosed with an aggressive cancer. Unlike the horror on the mountain, to save the love of his life will only require a little identity theft. But, as often happens in life, one wrong decision leads to other problems; in the case of John, creator of an online game in which players act in a virtual world he finds himself forced to play an online game in which the players are real and so is the torture and murder. 
    Throughout the story John is faced with the question of how far he will go to save the one he loves. He finds himself as the right person doing the wrong thing for the right reason; and it very well may cost him the life of his wife. Stolen is exciting, well-written, and will make you think – long after you put the book down – just how far you would go. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    STOLEN is a story anyone with an illness can relate to. When you

    STOLEN is a story anyone with an illness can relate to. When you get to that deserate point, the unthinkable comes to mind. Here are 2 good people that get there. STOLEN had me at the word go. It was full of twists and turns. Some horrifying. John and Ruby have no idea what will happen now that they took that first step. An idea to save a woman he loves deeply goes where John should have stayed far away from.
    STOLEN is a must read in Daniel Palmer's novels. If you've never read his books before, this stand alone book will hook you in. STOLEN will have STOLEN your time when reading because you will not be able to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Rip off !!!

    This book is 9 :50 on kindle!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Just Okay....

    I found this book to be just ok...... the story was not all that suspenseful nor frightening to me. It had it's good parts and it's not so good parts meaning some parts I found to be boring. I kept reading just to find out who the killer was. I can say even though this story is fiction it gives the reader a small real-life lesson about stealing in other words No matter the situation don't ever steal anything from anyone because it may cost you your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    STOLEN was a great book. Had me hooked from the get go. It does

    STOLEN was a great book. Had me hooked from the get go. It does make you wonder what lengths you would go to for those you love. It also scared the hell out of me thinking that it is so easy for someone to get all of your information! Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    A very suspenseful book that grabs the reader by the throat and

    A very suspenseful book that grabs the reader by the throat and does not let go till the very end. I would only pull about half a star, making this one fit into a realistic four and a half star review. The loss of half a star was because the author did make it bit transparent to this reader who the real culprit was. Yet the author really does create a tense situation where I even felt myself tense up every time the damn phone rang in the book. Very good stuff that makes me want to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    This is the third novel written by Daniel Palmer (son of one of

    This is the third novel written by Daniel Palmer (son of one of my favorite authors, Michael Palmer)and it is far and away the best of the three. Of course, it is a murder mystery but it is a mystery with so many twists and turns that it's impossible to figure our what's going to happen until the end of the book. I was fortunate enough to win an ARC (advance reading copy) of the book which is not due to be released until April 30, 2013.




    In this story, John Bodine is an avid climber, mostly of mountains. In the opening he has to make an chilling and horrifying decision, a life or death decision. Years later, married and now a budding entrepreneur, his life is turned upside down when his wife contracts a rare and very deadly form of melanoma. I won't give the plot away any more than this but in his quest to save his wife's life he falls into the clutches of an inhuman monster. As I previously said, the twists and turns of the story take you from conclusion to conclusion, all of which (in my case) were wrong. There were several times when I thought I knew who the culprit was only to have one theory after another dashed to pieces.




    Daniel Palmer continues to get better with each new book. I am looking forward to his next book with eager anticipation. He is on a par with his father, whose books I have loved for years. Kudos to Daniel on a very well-written, suspenseful and exciting novel!! (And thanks for the ARC!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    I received an Advance Reader Copy from following Daniel Palmer o

    I received an Advance Reader Copy from following Daniel Palmer on Facebook. In my comment on his post I told him that I would love to read the book and would post a review - anywhere & everywhere - if I really liked the book.




    So? I LOVED THIS BOOK! I won't go into great detail here, too many others have written wonderful reviews, much more eloquently than I can.




    What I WILL say is that I couldn't put this book down! I read every moment of free time I had, and had I started it on a weekend I would have read it in one sitting!




    You must read John and Ruby's story. It's am amazing, scary, wild ride, from the first page to the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Thank goodness I am lucky enough to have decent health insurance

    Thank goodness I am lucky enough to have decent health insurance that covers my family. I am lucky. What if I did not and a member of my family needed the coverage. What would I do? The main character in this thrilling novel faces that very question. His choice of how to deal with that question, and the unintended consequences, make for a scary, unrelenting and satisfying ride. As I read Stolen I kept thinking about what I would do in the same situations. Would I make the same choices as Palmer's character did? Thankfully I do not have to make these choices. In the end this is a book which is well worth reading. Fast paced. Intense. Thrilling. What more could a reader want?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1