Customer Reviews for

Stolen

Average Rating 4.5
( 532 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Captivating and Beautiful

While most may find this book dull - it's not a heart-stopping adventure full of adrenaline and bullets - the prose is exquisite, and the development of both characters and plot... perfect. The author has completely dragged me into the story, and she was able to toy wit...
While most may find this book dull - it's not a heart-stopping adventure full of adrenaline and bullets - the prose is exquisite, and the development of both characters and plot... perfect. The author has completely dragged me into the story, and she was able to toy with my emotions page by page. One moment I was disgusted by Gemma's kidnapper, the next I found myself drawn to him, pitying him, even at times loving him. Another aspect of the writing I found excellent was just the description; the mental images are so strong I felt as if I was standing in the desert with Gemma and her captor. One thing I can say with utter certainty if you buy the book: You will never know what to expect. For me, the emotional havoc of Stolen is what makes it so good. I define this as a page turner because I actually cared about Gemma's story.

posted by KJSutton on July 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

FRUSTRATING!

I could not put this book down when I read it and about half way through i had decided that is was my new favorite book. But I was sadly mistaken when I got the the last 50 pages. This was such an amazing book starting out but to me, the ending was awful. It's frustrati...
I could not put this book down when I read it and about half way through i had decided that is was my new favorite book. But I was sadly mistaken when I got the the last 50 pages. This was such an amazing book starting out but to me, the ending was awful. It's frustrating to say the least, when possibly great books are ruined at the end.
:(

posted by 9255343 on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    FRUSTRATING!

    I could not put this book down when I read it and about half way through i had decided that is was my new favorite book. But I was sadly mistaken when I got the the last 50 pages. This was such an amazing book starting out but to me, the ending was awful. It's frustrating to say the least, when possibly great books are ruined at the end.
    :(

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Honestly......

    I expected alot more from this book. It took me a vert long time to get intrested and Gemma just...ahhb annoyed me. Is it weird...i kinda fell for Ty even if the whole ordeal was kinda...sad...and also,i didnt like the ending.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    What?

    I read this book and its wierd it like comepletely changes near the end it makes me feel like the writer ramdomly changed the plot . It already did not make a whole lot of sence than it just went all crazy . And to me she is kinda a jurk cause he saved her life.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    ALright...

    Stolen was an okay book...The plot was okay and it wasnt a bad book, i just found it to be a bit slower than i usually like to read...

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Nice try, for a teenage audience!

    This book was just ok. I felt it lacked real substance. It might be better suited to a younger reader . For example teenagers. For me , being an older, avid reader, I enjoy more characterization, and a richer plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Weird!!!!

    I know someone named Gemma and It's not a common name so i was surprised when i saw it. But i didn't like this book lots cuz it wasn't thrilling enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    It was alright

    It seemed to me there wasn't a real plot to the book. She got kidnapped and pulled to some remote location where she fell in love with her kidnapper. She describes him as good looking, but still, he kidnapped her. Kinda weirded me out, but the book was still a bit slow for my taste.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    After reading the wonderful reviews about this book, I was very

    After reading the wonderful reviews about this book, I was very anxious to get into it.  It's not what I was hoping for.  It's a very below average read.  Yes, as some mentioned, the prose may be good, but you also need a good story.  This just didn't have it for me.   I cannot recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Question

    Im a 13 year old girl,so would this book be a good read for me? I like mystery books. Also how many pages are there??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Boring

    I just wasn't convinced, ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    To faith

    Alex 14 guy are yu faith

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    The book was very slow to getting to the point and that made it

    The book was very slow to getting to the point and that made it sort of boring. They development of the characters took a while and it just one of those books that made you want to keep reading. The story was good and there was a few parts where you were anxious to know what would happen next, but its not exactly one of the best books that I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I was excited to read this book, as I'd heard (and read reviews

    I was excited to read this book, as I'd heard (and read reviews saying) it was captivating, was written from an interesting point of view, and was turbulent and emotional.
    In the beginning, I couldn't put this book down. Then somehow, as I kept reading, it seemed that I kept waiting for something to happen, then all of a sudden you're at the end of the book and that's it. The ending certainly was disappointing, as other reviewers have said, and I too was startled at how, frankly, dull the ending was.
    However, my main complaint is the character development. Gemma became extremely annoying to me the more I read on. I could not relate to her situation and although the details woven into the scenes and backdrops are fantastic, the characters' responses and developments fall flat. Ty's backstory was incredibly hard to believe, and I could not for the life of me understand why Gemma was doing the things she was doing. I was not sure how I should feel about the kidnapping situation, and about Ty, and his various actions and intents.
    The plot indeed is captivating, but it seems to race towards the end of the book and to an ultimately anticlimactic ending that I found very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Wierd

    This book is REALLY wierd...... i dont recommend it 2 N E 1

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Couldnt get into it.

    It was weird, unrealistic, and i had to push myself to finish the book. Gemma is an idiot, falling for her capter. And I dont mean like stockholm syndrome. Like she falls in love with a boy who ripped her away from everything. It wasnt awful, but it wasnt amazing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Dissapointing

    This book really seemed like it was going ti be good, but i felt like i spent the whole book waiting for something to happen. Then in the end nothing ever did. Great idea, but there was no excitement and little emotion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Dont buy it

    This book was cool but not the worlds best book. The hole story your sad and mad and confused. Not in the good way like when you root 4 a person in the story. I can't explain it but don't wast 10$ on this. Trust my it's not worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Ehh...

    This book started out as a very good book, i finished it so it kept me in tune. But it was verryy slow moving, sometimes it was hard for me to push through the pages, the ending was very lame, like it wasnt that well thought out... i wouldn't recomend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2