Customer Reviews for

Stolen

Average Rating 4.5
( 541 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Captivating and Beautiful

While most may find this book dull - it's not a heart-stopping adventure full of adrenaline and bullets - the prose is exquisite, and the development of both characters and plot... perfect. The author has completely dragged me into the story, and she was able to toy wit...
While most may find this book dull - it's not a heart-stopping adventure full of adrenaline and bullets - the prose is exquisite, and the development of both characters and plot... perfect. The author has completely dragged me into the story, and she was able to toy with my emotions page by page. One moment I was disgusted by Gemma's kidnapper, the next I found myself drawn to him, pitying him, even at times loving him. Another aspect of the writing I found excellent was just the description; the mental images are so strong I felt as if I was standing in the desert with Gemma and her captor. One thing I can say with utter certainty if you buy the book: You will never know what to expect. For me, the emotional havoc of Stolen is what makes it so good. I define this as a page turner because I actually cared about Gemma's story.

posted by KJSutton on July 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

FRUSTRATING!

I could not put this book down when I read it and about half way through i had decided that is was my new favorite book. But I was sadly mistaken when I got the the last 50 pages. This was such an amazing book starting out but to me, the ending was awful. It's frustrati...
I could not put this book down when I read it and about half way through i had decided that is was my new favorite book. But I was sadly mistaken when I got the the last 50 pages. This was such an amazing book starting out but to me, the ending was awful. It's frustrating to say the least, when possibly great books are ruined at the end.
:(

posted by 9255343 on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating and Beautiful

    While most may find this book dull - it's not a heart-stopping adventure full of adrenaline and bullets - the prose is exquisite, and the development of both characters and plot... perfect. The author has completely dragged me into the story, and she was able to toy with my emotions page by page. One moment I was disgusted by Gemma's kidnapper, the next I found myself drawn to him, pitying him, even at times loving him. Another aspect of the writing I found excellent was just the description; the mental images are so strong I felt as if I was standing in the desert with Gemma and her captor. One thing I can say with utter certainty if you buy the book: You will never know what to expect. For me, the emotional havoc of Stolen is what makes it so good. I define this as a page turner because I actually cared about Gemma's story.

    54 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

    STOLEN is the story of 16-year-old Gemma, who is kidnapped from a Bangkok airport by Ty. What follows is basically a journal of everything that happens to Gemma, written in the form of a letter to Ty.

    You don't know at first where Ty has taken her; you only know that she is in the middle of a desert with him. They live in a home that he has built and stocked so he can care for Gemma.

    This was, for me, a novel that I will never forget. The title was very fitting, as you will see after reading the book. After finishing this story, I find it hard to say that I liked it. I did like it, but am not sure if you should like a story about a kidnapping.

    I can honestly say that it was a very intriguing story. It was very well-written, and although there were some slow parts for me, it flowed well. I put this story in the same category as LIVING DEAD GIRL by Elizabeth Scott.

    This book definitely has a place in my collection, and it's a story that I would read again as well as recommend to others.

    30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    All you need to know about stolen!

    I personally love this book.
    Amount of pages:180 pgs ( including the title page, cover and copyright information)
    Pros: very interesting, u fall in love with gemma, is not alot of pages.
    Cons: slow at times and not an action backed book if that is what u r into
    What parents need to know: this book is not terribly inopropriate compared to books with this same plot. Use of the f word along with several other curse words is in the book sometimes but it is not in every other sentence but it is still in the books. Also many references of drugs and drinking. Also scenes discribing sex and people hooking up in parks. Also talks about raping and touching in inapropriate ways.

    Age level Stolen is good for: 14-15+( depends on the parents)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Ever wonder what it was like to be stolen and taken to the deser

    Ever wonder what it was like to be stolen and taken to the desert? In Lucy Christopher’s book Stolen a girl is stolen and taken to the desert. Gemma’s long time stalker steals her while her family is on vacation. Gemma has to force herself not to believe everything Ty, her stalker, says to her even know she knows it’s true. Being told there’s nothing around and she’ll never leave, find out how Gemma manages to attempt to escape and find out if she secedes.
    This books pulls you right in. this is one of the best books I have ever read. It’s extremely easy to relate to the character and what she goes through. I constantly felt myself slipping into her shoes. I keep asking myself what I would do if I was Gemma. You’ll be hooked from start to finish and you won’t be able to set this book aside for a later time

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Twist

    Great read... Interesting twist

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    This book was a great book

    I loved this. It showed a bad side and a good side of someone that did something wrong. He knew it was wrong and sacrificed a lot to save her. I think this book is a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Would Recommend!

    To be honest I really wasn't sure I was enjoying this book during the beginning and the middle. There were even times when I found myself skimming threw parts I was finding boring. It wasn't until the end that I realize I did like this book. Even though he didn't purposely cause her any physical harm, for most of the book I didn't like Ty. He had some anger issues and there were some points where I was almost sure there was something mentally wrong with him, besides having kidnapped someone. However closer to the end I did gain a decent liking of him and a bit of an understanding for him. I did like Gemma, she reminded me of myself. Always looking for a way to escape even after he told her he wasn't going to hurt her, never trusting him. I understood her thinking.

    I think this book was actually very interesting and I would definitely recommend it. Although I do feel unhappy about the way it ended and would love to see an addition book made, telling us about what happened later...some years later.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    This is a book that some might find interesting and some might f

    This is a book that some might find interesting and some might find dull. In my opinion, It was really good. Only a few parts were boring. I really liked the plot. It starts off with Gemma fighting with her parents in an airport on the way to a family vacation. A man named Ty later offers to buy her coffee after she storms off from her parents. They start talking, and he later puts a drug in her drink. He kidnaps her and all she remembers is waking up in a house I the absolute middle of nowhere. At first Gemma reacts like a normal girl would, hating him, feeling lost, and scared. Ty has always been in love with her, and tries to show her that he is not going to harm her in any way. His only wish for her is to love him. After time, Gemma starts to not hate him anymore. She never tells him, but she starts to fall in love with him too. Her captivity period ends with her getting a nasty snake bike, and Ty drops everything to take her to the closest hospital. He know that by doing this he is also turning himself in, but he does not care. After Gemma is all better, she learns that Ty had been taken into custody while she was in the hospital, and that was the last time she would ever see him. At the end of the book, Gemma talks with her therapist about Ty and her experiences with him under captivity. The book is written as if Gemma was writing a letter to Ty, but we don't find that out until the end. She uses the word "you" when talking about him and "I" when talking about herself. I really liked this because it made it more interesting, it was creative, and we got to know about each and every one of Gemma's thoughts. Ty is described of as having brown hair and dreamy blue eyes. He is a young adult in his 20's, he is very tall, tan, handsome, and muscular. He has always been in love with Gemma, and even when she was little he would watch her at park and at her school everyday. Gemma describes herself as a teenage girl with brown hair and brown eyes. She is athletic and very stubborn with Ty throughout the story. I could only think of one theme for this book, "When someone really loves something, they would do anything for them, even if that means getting themselves in trouble," because Ty loved Gemma more than anything and he did not care what happened to him as long as she was safe. I would recommend this book for someone who is looking for a thrill. It is a page turner because you are very interested in finding out what happens to Gemma. Overall. this book has been one of the best I've read, and I would recommend it to people of all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this story though there were times when it was a little boring. The characters however help make this a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Overall a great book

    This was overall a well written novel, but it could be slow at some points. But mostly, it was interesting and intriguing, and i would recommend it to others!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    I really liked this book.

    Honestly this was a good book. But there were things that I wish were different. It was a story about a girl and her stalker who was in love with her.. a man who kidnapped her and stole her away to the outback of australia. Sorta confusing but I really liked the plot. I just wish the story ended differently. I really wanted a love ending lol. I guess I'm just a hopeless romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Great Book!!

    Extremely interesting & rather different plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    good read

    I enjoyed this book, it was different from the type I might usually pick....Set in Australia and written from the perspective of a woman writing a letter to her abductor, telling the story by going back over the details of what happened to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Good read

    Worth a read. Holds your interest and keeps moving. Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    I was at Barnes and Noble one day and saw this sitting at a tabl

    I was at Barnes and Noble one day and saw this sitting at a table. I simply read it out of curiosity, not knowing one thing about it. However, i would read it between my classes at school. I would find myself frustrated but i couldn't put it down because I needed to find out what happened next. If you read this book and feel discouraged at  first i encourage you to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    I was surprised who I was rooting for in the end! I liked this

    I was surprised who I was rooting for in the end! I liked this book, it was interesting and thought provoking. A unique kidnapper for sure, with genuine feelings. I would actually love for there to be a sequel to this book...to how they dealt with everything afterwards!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    A Very Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was well written and it held my interest until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Suprising

    I really liked this book. I could not predict anything and I was shocked with how good, and for the topic, realistic it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Invoking

    It was a really good book. Oddly different though with how the characters react.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Good story

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. Would love to see it as a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6