Customer Reviews for

The Stolen Bride

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    Extremely Annoying

    I have read several of Brenda Joyce¿s early novels and I thought that they were very good. However the characters in this book got on my nerves. Usually it takes me a day or two to read a book. I had to force myself to finish this book, because the constant begging and crying from the heroine really annoyed me. It was pathetic the way she kept chasing after this man, I like strong heroines. Over all this book was a big disappointment for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Read this only if all the other books in the world were gone

    Bad book. If you want a book about a crazy woman who it totally selfish this is the book for you. Worst heroine ever. Silly flash back at the end of every chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Family story

    I am a dirct ancestor of the fantasy family the author used to base her stories on. Frankly, I think my real life de Warenne ancestors were a lot more erotic and exciting than these books. History is always better than fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    What a disappointment!

    I had read A Lady at Last and enjoyed every page of it, so I picked up this book and her the next in the de Warrene series immediately. I decided to read this one first since it was the earlier book in the series. Sadly, I'm debating whether to even waste my time with The Perfect Bride after reading this one. I hope it is of better caliber than this debacle. First, the whole semi-incestuous stepbrother/stepsister thing was just a little too wierd for my taste. Instead of making the reader see their long suffering love, the flashbacks of their childhood had the opposite effect and magnified the creepiness of the familial connection. But like a trooper, I kept reading thinking that I would get past that fact once I really grew acquainted with the main characters. Unfortunately, these were the most irritating characters I have ever encountered in a book, including the villians. The heroine, Eleanor, was like a broken record. The hero, Sean, was equally irritating. They did the stupidest things, especially Eleanor. Their dialogue was flat and repetitive. I could not bring myself to empathize with thier plight at all. By the end, I was hoping they would get caught and hung just to put us all out of our misery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Not her best!

    I have to say that this was not Brenda's best work. It takes away from the quality of the other De Warenne Dynasty Series. Not sure where Brenda Joyce went wrong here, but the book was just awful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Begining was great, but the ending wasnt so great

    This book started out with a step-sister's love for her step-brother since she was a child and staying true to those feelings even as she grows older. oh.. the begining was so.. good!!! I love Brenda Joyce, but I am sorry to say this book was quite disappointing once I got half way through it and the ending just was'nt as great and as strong as the begining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    such a disappointment

    i love brenda joyce's books but this was just horrible. the brother/sister factor was underlining but Elle was too annoying for words. i couldn't stand her jealousy over sean's past and her constant whining about him leaving her - come on, get a life. the brother/sister issue was an ick factor as well. it's one thing if they became related later in life but to literally grow up with one another, that's too much for me. the story just lagged on and on and i decided not to finish this one even though i'm more than 3/4 done. i'm going to just skip to the ending. sorry - don't waste your money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    This book was great....

    It was GREAT cant wait to read her others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A Great Book

    I really like this book. I like the way Eleanor was portrayed because i think alot of women are like that even though they don't admitt it. Love is a powerful thing and yes she cried alot but what women wouldn't under the circumstances,imagine the love of your life in danger. Women are emontional by nature. Yes it is nice to have the heorine to be strong and dependent but face more women than most is not that way especially when it comes to love. I also like the fact that Sean was the one that was in pain and who ultimatly needed Elle. The hero was not your average hero he actually showed emotion that you don't see to often I would recommand anyone to read this book. It makes you want to read her other novels as well. To me when author makes you want to read her other books then it is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Excellant

    ¿I promise.¿ Were the last words that Sean O¿Neil said to Eleanor de Warenne as he rode out of her life four long years ago. Accused and convicted of treason, he is just a breath away from the gallows when a daring escape makes him the most wanted man in England and Ireland. Changing his name he is set to leave Ireland but the absence and longing of his family calls to him and he can¿t resist returning home to Adare. What he finds and sees upon his arrival hurts him to the core. Eleanor his stepsister is about to be married. Once he may have dreamed of living a life with her and raising a family but those dreams were shattered and the man that Eleanor knew does not exist anymore. Instead he is a man with regrets, a man torn inside on what he really wants or desires. For years Eleanor sat and waited patiently for Sean to return home from his adventures. She¿s loved him madly since he was adopted into her family when her father and his mother married. She always chased and followed after him and he was truly her hero. It was naturally assumed that Sean and Eleanor would eventually marry. As the years went by Eleanor¿s heart was broken bit by bit and she was finally convinced that she seek marriage elsewhere. She found herself enchanted by the charm and personality of Peter Sinclair and she is soon going to be married to him. On the eve of her wedding, she discovers Sean at Adare and her heart leaps in her throat. But the Sean in front of her is hard and cruel towards her. Elle knows that she can reach him and in a daring escape she steals away with Sean on the day of her wedding. Now on the run Sean and Elle are finally alone and face-to-face with their feelings and undying love. But are both strong enough to deny and abandon the feelings they feel inside. The Stolen Bride is one of the most intense, riveting, emotional reads that I have read in a long time. The romance of Elle and Sean is complicated they are hurt, torn and damaged but yet has they delve through the layers reaching into the soul of each other it makes for a spicy and enthralling read. As part of The de Warenne Dynasty it is a novel that certainly stands alone. But it ties previous novels with recaps and follow-ups on related characters introducing them to newer readers making sure not to overwhelm the story for readers who have been following the series. The Stolen Bride is classic Brenda Joyce back in her element of strong tortured hero¿s, and heroines brave enough to rise against the odds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Not her best

    I too love all of Brenda Joyce books. I think she is a wonderful exciting author, but this book was lacking the passion and depth that she usually writes with. I look forward to her next book and hope it will be like her earlier work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    OK

    i love brenda joyce books my favorite being the masquerade. So i was waiting for this book to come out. I have to say this was not my favorite. Sean was great, but Elle just got on my darn nerves, she was too whiney for me. I hope the next book in the series is better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Did not live up to my expectations

    I always eagerly await a new Brenda Joyce book. She is one of my favorite authors. However, this one did not quite hit the mark for me. It was like listening to my three children whine all day. The lead characters spend the majority of the book arguing, fighting, crying, etc. It's somewhat exhausting just 'listening' to them. It seemed to be the same argument over and over.I thought the characters were well developed and likeable, and the concept was good overall. There was great potential. Although disappointed by this book, I will be one of the first in line for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In 1818 Ireland, Eleanor de Warenne is about to marry Peter Sinclair, but instead of her fiancé she thinks of her love Sean O¿Neill, who vanished four years ago just after she kissed him. He was the boy she grew up with when their widowed parents married. Though she told her father that he should make her a proper match, which he did, Eleanor wonders if she made an error as she needs to know whether Sean is dead as most people assume. Still three hundred people have arrived in the towns of Adare and nearby Limerick for the ceremony so in spite of her misgivings she will not dishonor her family. --- As if by magic Sean appears out of thin air. He pleads with Eleanor to hide him, which she does as he explains he has been incarcerated and just escaped prison with his enemy in hot pursuit. Rested, Sean plans to leave, but Eleanor in her wedding dress forces him to take her with him. As the hardened Sean finds his heart melting for the former tomboy he has always loved, he knows he must prove his innocence if they are to share a life together as he thought when he first met the infant female brat he knew somehow was his destiny. --- The latest de Warenne Regency era romance (see THE MASQUERADE and THE PRIZE) is a wonderful suspense thriller starring an alpha female and a mentally battered male who suffers from a form of battle fatigue syndrome. The story line is loaded with non-stop action (a trademark of Ms. Joyce), but belongs to the lead couple especially the courageous heroine. THE STOLE BRIDE grips the audience from the onset when a doubting Eleanor finds the reason for her misgivings alive, but not well and in need of help. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    3 stars

    Since childhood, Elle de Wareanne and Sean O'Neill have been the best of friends as well as step-siblings. Moreover, they are each other's first love until the day he disappeared. Two years pass, and Elle is forced to believe he was unable to keep his promise to return, and so pledges to wed another. Then, before she can, Sean comes home, under a death sentence for treason. Against all wisdom, she abandons everything to help him escape and run away with him. In the end, though, both of them are captured, but only she is freed. Sean is due to hang, and only by agreeing to wed a man she does not love can she hope to use the connections that come with that union to free her true love. It is what Sean wants for her, as he believes himself too broken and dangerous to be right for her. Elle does not agree, but she has honor to consider. ............ *** Though overly long and feeling almost padded at times, the final chapters have a heart-breaking quality that atones for any excess verbage. Sean and the secondary character of Peter have a poignancy that will bring tears to your eyes. ***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3