Customer Reviews for

Stolen Children

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    TOTALLY A GOOD BOOK THAT YOU SHOULD BUY!!!!!!!!!!!

    As soon as i got this book at the book fair i knew it was gonna be a good book. AND IT WAS!!!!!!!!! All through school i was reading it and couldn't put it down.Its the best book you'll buy.And you will agree. Its out ragous and has totally unexcpected parts that you'll enjoy.
    SO JUST BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Stolen Children

    14 year old Amy babysitts little Kendra.Two evil men come to take Kendra while Amy babysitts her.They both end up kidnapped.Amy sends clues to those who are friends and family.Amy will risk it all to escape the clutches of the two men with Kendra.
    Will she acomplish her mission?This is for you to find out.Join us reading about a girl trying to save a little girl's life and her own in a adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    This is sure to steal your attention.

    Peg Kehret's Stolen Children is the most mind reeling book I've ever read. Amy has just passed her babysitting course, but nothing has prepared her for two men to come and take her and the little girl Kendra at gun point.
    Amy like to right stories, she thinks back to a story she has just written Winning Secrets. In her story the main character gives clues about her location without letting the kidnappers know. Will Amy make it out alive? Will the kidnappers get what they want? I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves suspenseful stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    STOLEN CHILDREN is a winner

    There's a first time for everything. Last night was the first time I've ever stayed up late because I wouldn't have been able to get to sleep without finishing a book written expressly for children. The title of this compelling work is Stolen Children, the author, Peg Kehret. It's an October release from Dutton. The story is that of fourteen-year-old Amy Nordlund, who forgot to look after a dog left in her care. After her father reprimanded her for her neglect, he was killed in an automobile accident, leaving Amy upset that she'd never be able to redeem herself, either in her father's eyes or in her own. To help earn money to maintain the household, Amy takes a babysitting class, then obtains a job with a well-to-do family. Unfortunately, on the first day, two criminals kidnap Amy and her three-year-old charge, Kendra. They drive the girls to a remote location, from where they plan to send DVDs to Kendra's family, hoping to extort a large ransom payment. Amy has an opportunity to escape, but only by leaving Kendra behind. That, she will not do. She needs to figure a way to get both the little girl and herself away no small feat. One kidnapper, Smokey, is 'a firecracker with a short fuse,' and with a gun as well. The other, Hugh, an ex-con, is determined to make a bundle from the kidnapping to start a new life. While Amy tries to devise an escape plan, she also sends clues via the DVDs, hoping her mother and her friend, Jorja, will pick up on them. Meanwhile, she is responsible for 24/7 care for Kendra, and knows the kidnappers will shoot her if she is unable to keep the little girl out of their hair. Any writers of thrillers - for adults, children, or anyone else - can take lessons from Peg Kehret. The suspense never wavers as one tense episode resolves, it leads directly into another. Characters are all well-delineated, descriptions vivid, dialogue crisp and never stilted. Amy is not, God help us, 'spunky ' she is an intelligent, wise, brave and resourceful heroine, plenty good enough to do what needs doing, but never too good to be true. Above all, this is a story of responsibility and redemption. Without ever mounting a soapbox, the author conveys, through the words and deeds of the characters, the importance of being responsible, the costs of irresponsibility, and the conviction that it's never too late (in fact, the sooner, the better), to learn from mistakes. Peg Kehret's books are universally excellent this is one of her very best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    With her nanny of two months Darielle Monroe on vacation, due to an emergency in which her mom was rushed to the hospital with a broken leg, wealthy Elyse Edgerton hires fourteen year old Amy Nordlund to baby-sit her three years old Kendra. Amy took Mrs. Montes babysitting class as she still feels guilt from disappointing her dad when she failed to take responsibility for walking her neighbor¿s dog as she had promised his last words to her was he was ashamed of her he died right after that last lecture in a car accident.--------------- Two men enter the Edgerton residence using a key. They kidnap Kendra and when Amy tries to intercede they take her too. Smokey Sanderson and his Uncle Hugh send DVDs to the families demanding ransom money, but are unaware that Amy is sending secret messages to her best friend Jorja. She knows she might not make it out alive, but heeding her late dad¿s advice on responsibility her first mission is to keep Kendra safe.------------- Targeting older elementary school children, STOLEN CHILDREN is an exciting thriller starring a fascinating cast and filled with subtle interwoven ethical lessons. Amy is a clever, brave lead protagonist as she carries guilt and shame while grieving her father¿s death she had several opportunities to escape but each would have left her infant charge alone with the kidnappers so she stays as a responsible person to try to keep the baby safe. The support cast is solid although Smokey has smoked one too many illegal substances. Peg Kehret provides an interesting fast-paced tale filled with interwoven into the plot messages to get involved when something seems off, fulfill your commitments including making up for errors as saying your sorry may be only the beginning of fair repayment, and stay calm and think during a crisis.--------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Introduction Amy Nordlund is babysitting three year old Kendra,

    Introduction
    Amy Nordlund is babysitting three year old Kendra, when two criminals kidnap them and take them to a remote cabin in the woods. The criminals plan to send videos of the two girls to their parents, and will keep sending them until they pay a large amount of money. Amy uses clever signals to show her parents where they are and her parents can pass them to the police. The police figure out where they are and the girls are found, the ransom doesn’t have to be paid, and the criminals are in jail. I think this book is very exciting and there’s always an unexpected twist! I would definitely reread this book!

    Description and summary of main points
    Stolen Children is a mystery that has many plot twists that keep it interesting. Anyone who likes a good mystery would fall in love with this book after reading the first few pages. Peg Kehret directed this book towards younger audiences; therefore there is no vulgarity or inappropriate language. Peg has written many other books that deal with animals.
    Evaluation
    This book is very well thought out and written to a point where younger audiences can understand what’s going on. The unexpected twists are always something I look for within a book. I like that it’s shorter than most books, yet very detailed. I would recommend this book to someone my age, I would also read it again!

    Conclusion: All around this is a wonderful book! I would definitely reread it! Again, I like the twists of the plot and where it’s written to where younger audiences can understand it.
    Your final review: Amazing book, I will definitely be rereading this in the near future!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    In the book STOLEN CHILDREN, a baby-sitter and dog walker named

    In the book STOLEN CHILDREN, a baby-sitter and dog walker named Amy is called by a rich woman named Mrs. Edgerton. Mrs. Edgerton needs a baby-sitter for her young daughter, so she can visit her sickly mother in the hospital. When she leaves the Edgerton mansion, Amy does the basic baby-sitter stuff with the young and very creative daughter, Kendra. After Kendra had been sleeping for a while, Amy cannot find her in the house. Two men (one with a gun) pull up and break in. They take Amy and Kendra to a remote cabin deep in the woods. They two men, Smokey and Hugh, tape them daily and send the videos to Kendra’s rich family to get ransom money. Amy’s friend is now staying with Amy’s mom to give her some company, and she and Amy’s mom also watch the tapes. Her friend notices that Amy is basically playing charades, and they figure out about Smokey and Hugh. After many escape attempts, Amy takes Kendra and steals the bandit’s car. STOLEN CHILDREN is a very good book, and I would recommend you to read it. The book has many interesting surprises, the book keeps you on the edge of your seat, and it is an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    I just read the book Stolen Children by Peg Kehret and let me t

    I just read the book Stolen Children by Peg Kehret and let me tell you a little bit about it. If you like things that happen so quickly then this is a really good book for you to read. From the minute I picked the book up it was hard to even put down again. It is so great and there is so much action in it, it’s crazy. My opinion to this book is, amazing because like I said it was hard to put down once I picked it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    What a book!

    Stolen Children 'Stolen Children' is a book about a 14 year old babysitter named Amy and a 3 year old child named Kendra. When Amy finds that Kendra is no longer napping in her bed, she gets extremely worried, for she would do anything to consider herself a responsible babysitter, and soon friend to Kendra. Amy finds a van in the driveway and soon spots two kidnappers. Amy finds Kendra in the van and then gets in herself. They were taken to a dirty, small log cabin deep in the woods. Amy starts creating signals that help the police find them in ransom videos. It was a great story and incredibly suspenseful. It was also an inspiring story that taught you a lesson not to give up, and always be optimistic; hope for the best. It was an amazing book. I'd definitely recommend it and rate it five stars. !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Very Good Book You Must Read It!!!!

    When I began the book called" The Stolen Children" I knew right away I would be interested in reading it because on the front cover was eye catching. The front cover was a picture of a rocking chair in a dark room with a teddy-bear on the floor. A good part of the story is when Kendra gets fussy because it is her nap time. Amy took Kendra upstairs and laid her down. Amy came back down the stairs and opened the door and walked out onto the patio. While she was outside she heard a car, but she thought it's not a big deal maybe its one of the neighbors. Amy went back inside because it was time for Kendra to get up from her nap. Amy went up the stairs and Kendra was missing from her bed. She started to panic and she didn't know what to do. She heard Kendra crying from outside. She ran out there and seen Tubby her cat lying on the ground beside a mud puddle. Amy wanted to put clues in the videos the guys were taking of them to send ton the parents.
    The main characters are Kendra, Amy, Hugh, Smokey, and the parents of both of the children. Amy needed a job and Kendra's mom needed a babysitter. Amy got the babysitting job. While Amy was babysitting Kendra somebody came and kidnapped them. This story took place at several different scenes. Two major places so far re in the Cabin and at Kendra's house. They kidnapped the girls because they needed money. The kidnappers held them captive until someone would give them a reward for returning them. They took the girls after Kendra's mom left and it was in the afternoon. The Author of this book is Peg Kehret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    best book ever

    i read this book adn it only took me 2 days to finish it. your never able to put the book down. each little thing is a surprise. the main character teaches kids to think hard no matter how bad the sistuation might be!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    LOVE IT

    I Am Only 13 Years Old. And This Is By Far The Greatest Book I Have Read. R.L Stine Is My Favorite Author, But After This I Look Foward To Finding Peg Kehret Books! This Is About A Girl Who Takes Up A Babysitting Job After Her Father Passes Away And While Babysitting The Child Was Kidnapped. Her And The Child Are Going Through Series Of Events To Get Away From These Kidnappers. It Is A Awesome Story! FIVE STARS :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Read

    I found this on the floor of my friend's house, picked it up and before I knew it it was 9:00 and I had finished the whole book. I can't even begin to describe how detailed, how genius it was. I had never read Peg Hehret before but this definitely got me hooked and I'll be making a trip to theta book store soon. I'd love to see a sequel where Kendra is a babysitter and Alli is all grown up but Kendra is babysitting her children. That'd be cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    The Most Heartbreak and action type book you could ever read...

    Amy a typical high school kid has to start babysitting Kendra a 2 year old baby for Kendra's Mom and Dad who have to work Constently.. One Night as Amy was putting Kendra to bed Amy's phone rang and so to not wake up the baby Amy took her call outside. Then about 5 minutes later when Amy cam back into the house Kendra was gone.. her teddy bear that Kendra could not sleep without was in the kitchen floor.. Amy tried to call the cops but as soon as she got to the phone the shr found a bit of a surprise.. To find out what was at the phone READ the book Stolen Children...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Very clever- a must read!

    Stolen Children by Peg Kehret is about a 14 year old girl named Amy whose life has been on a downward swing. Moments after she and her father share hurtful words with one another he is killed in a car crash. Then there seems to be a light at the end of the tunnel. She is hired by a very wealthy Mrs.Edgerton to fill in one night, as her regular nanny was out. What should have been an easy job turns into a nightmare. Two men, Smokey and Hugh, kidnap Amy and 3 year old Kendra and take them to a remote cabin. The men videotape the girls and send the tapes to their families in hope of getting ransom. What the men don't know is that Amy has cleverly designed clues to slip into the tapes. Will her family understand her clever clues? You will have to read it and find out yourself. It is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat! The author has a unique way of writing that isn't cluttered with unneeded words. Her sentences are straight to the point, making it a very fast but enjoyable read. The characters are very vivid and memorable, especially Amy who is clever,and believable. I loved this book and I'm sure anyone else who reads it will as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    It was wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I thought this book was absolutely amazing!! My favorite!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    "Tubby said Heehaw!!"

    Amy Norland is at school when she gets the call.her father was killed in a car crash. She remembers the last thing her dad said to her, "I'm ashamed of you." Amy completes a babysitting course, and gets referred to Elyse Edgerton. While at their house she meets Kendra. Amy puts Kendra down for her nap, and goes out to sit by the pool. She falls asleep, and wakes up to find that Kendra is gone. The two guys come back, and find her. They take Amy, also. The guys take them to an abandoned cabin, and they take videos of the two of them everyday. Amy finds out that Kendra's nanny has something to do with there kidnapping. While the two guys are taking the videos, Amy gives clues to the people watching could figure out. Also, Amy makes games to play with Kendra to help with the clues, and to give her something to keep Kendra from complaining. Kendra's family is very rich and the kidnappers know it, so they tell them at the end of every video what they want them to do. The nanny's boyfriend ends up turning her into the cops. This book is full of adventure and suspense, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is in to these kinds of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stolen Children A Book Review by Tarun Gogineni

    Stolen Children by Peg Kehret is about two children: Kendra, a toddler, and her babysitter Amy, who are kidnapped. Using all her brainpower, Amy makes a desperate attempt to free Kendra and herself. This book was a bit short for my taste at only 168 pages, but nonetheless a fast-paced and exciting page-turner. For anyone who likes action books this should be on the top of your list. My favorite part is when Amy has the brilliant idea of running away when one of the kidnappers, Hugh, is sleeping and the other, Smoky, is away. Will she get away? Read the book and find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Stolen Children

    Stolen Children by Peg Kehret is mystery filled book with lots of suspense. Stolen Children is about two girls who are kidnapped and the oldest has to find out a way to save them and maybe even her life!! I think that any one can read the book because it is short and also at an easy reading level. Stolen Children is especially for kids and teens who love mystery book. Really any one can fall in love with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2