Customer Reviews for

A Stolen Life: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 3527 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1820)

4 Star

(869)

3 Star

(441)

2 Star

(187)

1 Star

(210)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

147 out of 153 people found this review helpful.

Wow

Be prepared that this is sad and graphic. Traumatic to read but soo addicting. Couldnt put it down!

posted by 5664843 on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

100 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Download A Stolen Life For Free

Download A Stolen Life For Free From Here goo.gl/w503Q

posted by 9344719 on August 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 441 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    It was decent....

    If you watched the Diane Sawyer interview you don't need to read this book. It is almost word for word EXACTLY the same as the interview. I skimmed most of the book because I got bored having JUST heard the same stuff a few nights earlier. There were some new details that were pretty interesting but like I said, if you saw the interview you heard everything you'll be reading.

    23 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Jaycee has been through the unimaginable and I wish her the best. The book was not what I had expected and I was a bit dissapointed. It must have been extremely difficult though for her to write this story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    an amazing story... but not an amazing book

    Wow.. where to begin... This is definitely a very riveting read. It's very short, and the only time you'll want to put it down is when you need to take a minute to have an emotional breather. Like many others, I saw the interview with Diane Sawyer, and Jaycee's attitude about everything that's happened to her is unbelievable. She seems so warm and friendly, she's optimistic about the future, she isn't letting the horrific events of her past bring her down. And you can feel that attitude throughout the book. It definitely isn't professionally written, but she knows that and tells you not to expect that. But if you saw the interview, and loved her amazing attitude and outlook on life, definitely read this. My 3 star rating is not a rating for Jaycee or her life or the terrible things that happened to her. It is a rating for the book. It is a riveting read, but you will speed through some parts and crawl through others. Many things are repetitive, some parts skip over things too much, and some parts are too slow. It is very much written in HER voice, though, so that does make many of these things pretty forgivable

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Eh

    It was okay. I started getting bored towards the end. I couldn't finish it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Scared me to Hell !!!

    Being a fan of the paranormal and supernatural and lots of fiction, I'm not a big fan of non. However, three chapters into the book I had to put it down,truly horrowing and sad....Its by far the scariest book I've picked up in a while and my heart and prayers go out to Jaycee Dugard....God Bless. Not sure if I'll finish but its's one of those books you just can't forget about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Just confirms how awful the story is in gory detail...

    The writing will make you feel like Einstein but the money from the bool makes its way to her so i am happy i purchased.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    It was ok

    Just seemed to be lacking.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    It's incredible what Jaycee had to endure (not overally graphic

    It's incredible what Jaycee had to endure (not overally graphic but enough so we get it) & it's mind boggling incredible how the SYSTEM failed her so many times but the system worked for that wacko till he got caught...those sickos that kidnapped her are not worth mentioning, god doesn't like ugly & they will get paid back badly... it just makes me so angry how this happens!!! It was very brave of Jaycee to tell her story hopefully to save & support others that have gone thru this sickening & outrageous situation. Keep tough Jaycee & I truly feel with your wisdom & faith life will get easier for you & your family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    I was unsure about reading this book, enjoying the topic but the

    I was unsure about reading this book, enjoying the topic but the reading aspect was rough. I usually don't read books unless for school projects, therefor why I read this one. She endures so much and her outlook is always moving in a forward motion. I was ironic that one of her journal entries read that she wanted to be on the Best Seller List one day. She seams quite brave and an amazing mother. Although her experience was far worse than anything could have been. It's sad but you can see how smart she is and how set on her future she was. Throughout reading and learning her lesser limitations I thought to myself, why didn't she just run? As an adult one would think Jaycee could have done so. I thought to when I was 11 years old. I didn't know much and was not much different from Jaycee Dugard's perspective at the time. I have to realize Jaycee never matured much beyond that age. The natural progression of time and life experience that turn most of us into fearless adults would have been able to escape in her situation, but being lied to and manipulated can make the fear alone paralyzing. Some people indeed may react differently but I cannot judge ones topic which I know nothing about. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Sad

    This is a good book. Poor baby!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Good to read how I am glad to have read

    What a surviver this young lady is. Not a problem following. Her story was conveyed as if having a one on one conversation. I thank her for sharing. Also good to see the the extent of therapy that is available for victims. I can only wish her and her loved ones a new and wonderful life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Interesting read....

    This book is very interesting from a psychological and literary perspective. The immaturity in the writing style really gives insight into the perspective of the writer. As the reader I gained such a respect and admiration for the author. It took a great deal of courage and survival skills to undergo the events that took place for eighteen years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Ehh....

    Well in the begining it was intresting but then it got crappy, & GROSS. Age range 13 & over, kids PLEASE, PLEASE do not read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Good

    Also was an easy read. Two days max to finish it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Ok

    I found this very disturbing.interesting nontheless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    an interesting read...a little all over the place with her thoug

    an interesting read...a little all over the place with her thoughts but to be expected

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    A stolen lifec

    Very very tragic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Rough

    So sad..... shes a survivor!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    A stolen moment /:

    This book was okay...i really didnt like it...very dissapointed! It was very ummm...gross. I really dont recommend this book to anyone. It was good but not amazing. The age rate should be 14-and over!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Heartbreaking

    Yet interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 441 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23