Customer Reviews for

A Stolen Life: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 3527 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1820)

4 Star

(869)

3 Star

(441)

2 Star

(187)

1 Star

(210)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

147 out of 153 people found this review helpful.

Wow

Be prepared that this is sad and graphic. Traumatic to read but soo addicting. Couldnt put it down!

posted by 5664843 on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

100 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Download A Stolen Life For Free

Download A Stolen Life For Free From Here goo.gl/w503Q

posted by 9344719 on August 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 869 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Wow

    Be prepared that this is sad and graphic. Traumatic to read but soo addicting. Couldnt put it down!

    147 out of 153 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Terrible story, written brilliantly.

    Jaycee Lee Dugard was a beautiful eleven year old girl, with hopes of an enjoyable future. She dreamt about going to water parks and parties with her best friend. On January 10, 1991, Jaycee’s life was stolen by a repulsive man. She was abducted from her school bus stop by Phillip and Nancy Garrido. She was locked up in a backyard compound and repeatedly raped and abused by Phillip in attempt to satisfy his pedophilia. Over the course of her eighteen year imprisonment, Jaycee gave birth to two daughters. On August 26, 2009, Phillip brought Jaycee and her daughters with him to the parole office in an attempt to explain why he was spotted with the girls. On that day Jaycee was finally able reunite with her mother, who never gave up hope.
    The book, A Stolen Life is written by survivor, Jaycee Dugard. The book is more than just a horror story with a recovery at the end. Jaycee’s survival shows such extraordinary resilience. Here's my advice if you're going to tackle A Stolen Life. Tackle it head on. The details of her kidnapping, sexual abuse and life as a hostage are harsh reading. I strongly disliked those terrible reminiscences. I had to put the book down a couple times because I was so overwhelmed, and I’ll admit, I cried at the end. To be honest, I have only finished a select few of books throughout my high school career, but I was drawn to her survival story and continued to read page after page. Without a doubt, this powerful and moving book feels worth the time. The reason I read the novel and its entirety is because of Jaycee’s outlook as a 5th grader and an adult. "I don't believe in hate," she writes before plunging into a grueling passage about her abuse. "To hate wastes too much time.” My first thought was I hate this guy! Then I realized how important her perspective must have been to her survival. Her optimistic perspective saved her, literary. That outlook made the book worth reading. By the end of the novel you feel sort of ridiculous for complaining about breaking your nail and slow drivers, which I did today. If anything this book makes you realize that the little things that seem like a big deal, are really just a bump in the road. As readers, we learn not to take our family for granted.
    I wasn’t particularly fond of the book overall; I wish it was never written. Therefore, Jaycee never would have had to go through this torment. Considering it happened, Jaycee did a remarkable job telling her story. I admire her for her courage and optimism. I highly recommended A Stolen Life to anyone who wants to learn about a young girl, who is stronger than she believes, and survives almost her entire life in confinement. I suggest Shattered Innocence by Robert Scott, if you desire to learn more about Jaycee and her nightmare.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Read - Check it out!

    Look at the world around you and what do you see; a ton of children running around with the freedom of there choice but for one 11 year old all that was taken from her. This story is a captivating read about both her fear, and her happiness of her abduction and what her life has now become. Jaycee Lee Dugard was taken from her family June 1991 by Phillip and Nancy Garrido. Now being home she writes an incredible story about how she isn't afraid to tell there "secret" about being locked in a shed, raped, starved, having two children who were raised as her "sisters" alone for 18 years but was never forgotten.. Torn from the family she always knew, but couldn't remember. Jaycee writes about hate and fear a lot, she explains how living with hate in her heart or head forever would ruin the time she has now. She writes of all this before she goes onto explain a horrible time of her abuse. "To hate wastes too much time. People who hate waste so much of their life hating that they miss out on all the other stuff out here.... If all my heart were filled up with hate and regrets and what-ifs, then what else would it have room for?" She does not hate the monster that did this to her she explains that it is his shame not hers. Some dislikes were that there are a lot of run on paragraphs, writing wasn’t as polished as some other reads. What can you say she was taken for 18 years. Another is how the readers looked down on her for never standing up for herself, when she made the choices to save her and her daughters. It had a lot of detail about how she was abused, but not how she technically felt or thought. Some likes were that she is living today, and happy. She kept hope and stayed strong through everything. She grew the strength to get the help she needed even if it was the toughest decision of her life. Shows young readers its okay to share your story, to get stronger from the hard things that have happened in life. Talk about your problems and situations that you feel you need to keep hidden from the world. Everyone should read this book, it is a truly captivating read. You will find yourself having a hard time putting it down. Though there are sections of the story you will find wanting to put the book down, to cry or trying to understand why a monster would do this. A lot of people want to read and hear of stories that are based upon true events, and this is a story of a girl who explains her story as she remembers.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    To very dissapointed on 8/8/2011

    I feel that this book gave out just enough information on what went on in Jaycee's life. I mean she was raped multiple times. How sick of a person are you to want to know more details. As it was i had to put the book down on more than one occaion because I couldn't emagin the things she went through. In MY opinoin Jaycee is a very brave and smart girl she did whatever it took to survive. I loved this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Good read, tough to read about the attrocities she suffered

    Sick to my stomach from reading the attrocities she suffered with thise bastards...brave woman and mother to share her struggles

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Hard to put down

    I downloaded this yesterday and finished it in less than a day. The book is not graphic but does get across much of the lonliness and horror that Jaycee went through during her years of captivity. What comes through is her innocence and strength. The book has a lightness to it. Even when you feel like crying you feel her positivity and strength. Before reading this and watching her interview I thougth she must be a very special person. Reading this book confirmed that for me. I wish her, her daughters, mom and family the peace and happiness they deserve.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    A Stolen Life is a compelling memoir written by Jaycee Dugard, i

    A Stolen Life is a compelling memoir written by Jaycee Dugard, it tells an emotional story about her life as a victim of kidnapping, sexual abuse and many more life-changing experiences. At age eleven, Jaycee Dugard was stolen from the bus stop in her hometown of Lake Tahoe, California. Phillip Craig and his wife, Nancy Garrido, held Jaycee captive for eighteen years. She not only went through immense physical abuse but also gave birth to two baby girls. By the time she was discovered, she had forgotten who she was as a child and had been convinced she was worth nothing. Phillip Craig had not only stolen Jaycee’s childhood, but also stole her innocence. To help through the process of recovery, Jaycee Dugard wrote this amazing novel touching many hearts around the world. In the pages of A Stolen Life, there are messages and themes explaining the importance of a healthy childhood and innocence. Jaycee was not able to live a “normal” childhood and she reflects on the importance of being young and free. I personally loved this story because it was about something real and happening everyday all around the world. The book was one I could not set down because of the way Jaycee’s voice poured out of the pages. Real emotion was put into this book and made it so I was more aware of my everyday actions. Not only to live life to it’s fullest but to not take advantage of what is given to me. A lot of the book was extremely hard to read because of Jaycee’s personal experiences with sexual abuse. Although there were some disturbing stories, I highly recommend reading A Stolen Life. This story will touch anyone who reads it and will also bring light to a problem that is happening around the world today. A Stolen Life has many similarities with another novel, Room by Emma Donoghue. Both stories captivating an audience interested to hear about stories of abduction. I will be forever touched by her story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

         This book is a traumatic book, almost too traumatic for the

         This book is a traumatic book, almost too traumatic for the author to even write herself. Obviously she does write the book though, but throughout a lot of the novel, she experiences a battle within herself wondering whether or not she should continue. I'm very glad she decided to continue. This book is a devastating recognition of her solitary, rape, and loneliness. It starts from the very day she was kidnapped at age 11, describes her experience for 18 years, and finishes with her rescue along with the recovery she is still on.
         There are many strengths of this book. One of my favorite things about this book is that they are always taking place as if she is in the moment. It really makes the reader go through what she was going through without actually experiencing it. I loved how easily I was drawn in. She describes her situations in the first person which is so heart-wrenching then reflects on the experience in the past. It is a very unique take on her novel. I think the book has strengths in the fact that she afraid to continue yet she does. That really makes the reader feel bad for her and at the same time realize how strong of a person she is. Even though she mentions numerous times how shy and cowardly she is in the book, the reader can't help but think about how brave and heroine she actually is. She doesn't feel bad for herself at all. Her life was stolen away from her for 18 years yet all she thinks about is how much worse her life could be. She doesn't dwell on the fact that she could have accomplished so much in those 18 years as a sex slave, instead she thinks about how she is glad it is happening to her and nobody else. She feels as though she is preventing other women from being raped. That's what I loved about her so much. She is so giving. Even when everything she loved was gone, she saw the best in the little things.
         Even though I loved this book so much, there were some weaknesses. She was kidnapped when she was only 11 years old, so the detail is only as in depth as she's learned. Of course, she probably had help with the story, but that's necessary. It was kind of confusing because her thoughts were kind of all over. Although, I don't expect her thoughts to be in line, they could have been a little less spastic. I really shouldn't complain though because she does warn the readers right in the intro that her thoughts aren't very organized.
         Personally, I loved this book. Jaycee is an inspiration. She was given the toughest of situations yet never gave up hope. She's a survivor. I enjoyed the book because, despite her circumstance, was found and reunited with her mother. I hated the fact that Phillip and his wife Nancy got away with it for so long though. They are twisted people that should have never been released from jail. It's so sickening to think that they kept her hidden for 18 years before anyone saw anything suspicious and actually did something about it. There were many chances for her to be reunited with her family. The facts were all there. Phillip had a record of raping women, police officers scanned the house in search of suspicious activity yet never once thought about going into the backyard where Jaycee was held captive, and neighbors even called the police saying there were children in the backyard of the Garridos' house yet no one did anything about it. In my opinion, a lot of her stolen life could have been prevented. It was a very good novel though. I just am so upset about the fact that over half of her life was controlled against her will and someone could've possibly done something to help sooner than help arrived.
         I think anyone would enjoy this book. Even though it's graphic at parts and depressing to think about, her story was told to make us all aware to prevent this from happening to others. I think it would probably be the hardest for a mother to read because the story focusses a lot around how much she misses her mom. I'd still recommend it to everyone even though it's such an upsetting story. It would especially satisfy those who are looking for a page turner. This book is definitely hard to put down because you really just want to know what's going to happen next and how she's going to get herself through it. I just warn anyone who's thinking of reading this book to be prepared for all sorts of emotions: from happy kittens, to terrifying rape, to sad loneliness, to confusing psychopaths, to angry lies. This book is a roller-coaster of emotion. Happy reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Good!!!!!

    Many people who gave this book bad reviews say its because it was poorly written and talked only about pets? I'd have to disagree. Sure its not well written in some parts but thats the point. It isnt all about pets either. A few chapters are but hey thats part of her story! And yes it was gruesome but she was just telling the truth of her story. And for all those younger kids wondering if they should read this...NO! Its a good book but not for kids

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    What a mom does

    There were some disturbing parts but overall a good book. It helps you understand why she didnt flee every moment she had the chance..she was so afraid of the unknown and she had to protect her 2 daughters. I recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Avid reader

    Her story is so sad but im glad she told it. Its hard to believe that she was held for 18 yrs. I read this book very fast, it was interesting to see this from her point of view. How she handles herself in those situations. Its a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Quite the Addiction!

    In A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard, Jaycee is abducted by a man and his wife while she was walking to her bus stop. That man and his wife kept Jaycee in their backyard for nearly 18 years before anyone found her. throughout those 18 years, Phillip Garrido would abuse and molest Jaycee. Jaycee had two kids by this man at a very young age. The biggest message I got from reading this true story was that no matter how hard things may get, or where life may take you, stay strong and have hope because you will get through it. What I really liked about this novel was how descriptive it was and how real the emotions were. Several pages of this novel were diary entries written by Jaycee herself. Personally, those diary entires distracted me from what else was going on in the book, and I found them to be irrelevant to what else was happening in the book. I would definitely reccomend this book for anyone who is in their late teens and adults. It is an inspiring and emotional book that really opens your eyes to what is out there. A book that I thought of while reading this one was Tuesday's With Morrie. Although Tuesday's With Morrie isn't similar in the way it is told, it is a true story and again really opens your eyes to what people go through. I would give this book an overal rating of 5 out of 5! Excellent book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Very Moving

    Very good book. So sad what Jaycee had to endure to get to where she is today. She is one amazing young lady. There is no punishment good enough for Phillip Garrido and his sick wife. They need to be tortured until their last breath!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended - It's a must read !

    After watching the interview, I was eager to read Jaycee¿s book that she herself wrote. The best word I can think of to describe Jaycee is inspiring. She is an amazing young woman with a big heart; homeschooling her two children with only a fifth grade education and having no hate towards the man who kidnapped and raped her. Her mother deserves a lot of credit for instilling her with such hope and courage. She also deserves a lot of credit because she was very accepting of her new grandchildren. Age Recommendations : 16+ Timber Creek High School Class Of 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    In her words

    As expected a difficult book to read, Jaycee Dugard's memoir is both powerful and devastating. Written after her release from the terrors of her youth, her early years are written in the voice of an eleven-year-old (something that is reinforced when she includes actual diary pages she kept during that time). Jaycee writes with all the confliciting emotions and trials that occurred even after her discovery and reunion with her family. Especially with so much biased media speculation and rumors that occur around such a story as Jacyee's, it is important to hear the truths from the survivor directly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    A Lesson to Learn

    I purchased the book to support Jaycee. I read the book to understand what kept her from running, from finding that "adult", from trusting that she didn't need to stay. She gets the point across. Take her lesson, teach and protect your children, and know that there are others in similar situations - alive and needing to find safety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Although some details are difficult emotionally to read, I am so glad I did. Keeping in mind that the journal sections were.written by a young girl in captivity, it is written so well. She had such insight and determination then and has come so far since. Jaycee has valuable lessons to share, which apply to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Support for Jaycee

    I'm preordering this book after watching the fascinating interview with Diane Sawyer. I hope I'm able to get through it.

    Bless you and your family, Jaycee!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    I remember picking this book up

    In a German airport at the bookstore. I was about 10 and it was in English. I sat in that bookstore for about 2 hours and read about 100-200 pages. I was pretty hooked. I begged my mum to buy it for me but she said no since she really ddnt know what it was about. I went home the next month and on my nook, i bought it. Im 12 now and this book is a very interesting and sad story. I jut didnt like the long chapters of her journal about the animals and pets she had...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    I enjoyed this book and the story she tells herself in her own w

    I enjoyed this book and the story she tells herself in her own words. For someone who was not taught how to properly write , she did very well. She is very descriptive and straight forward. Such a sad story and very unfortunate that this went on for so long.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 869 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 44