Customer Reviews for

Stolen Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #22)

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

John Sandford is back with the latest installment (#22) - Stolen

John Sandford is back with the latest installment (#22) - Stolen Prey - in his wildly successful and hugely popular series featuring Lucas Davenport, an agent for the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Investigation.

"Lucas's job at the BCA was mostly self-invented, an...
John Sandford is back with the latest installment (#22) - Stolen Prey - in his wildly successful and hugely popular series featuring Lucas Davenport, an agent for the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Investigation.

"Lucas's job at the BCA was mostly self-invented, and included politically sensitive cases, or cases that might attract a lot of media attention." When a pair of tweekers rob him at an ATM, breaking his wrist and damaging his ego, he embarks on a long term mission to find them. This is put on the back burner when the superintendent of the BCA calls - a case that is definitely going to be in the spotlight needs Davenport's skills. An entire family has been found murdered - slaughtered really, tortured in unimaginable ways. Lucas's investigation leads places no one saw coming - this isn't just a spree killer. It looks like a Mexican gang hit. What could this software engineer have done to bring this wrath on his family? Soon enough the DEA and a pair of Mexican Federales are also on the case. But everyone seems to have their own priorities concerning the case.....

I've always enjoyed Lucas and his irreverent flaunting of the rules. He's getting older and little mellower, but still has no problem side stepping protocol to get things done. I love the barbed banter between himself and team members Del Capslock, Jensen and Shrake, but no Davenport book is complete without Virgil Flowers. Those tweekers robbing ATM's? Flowers has been put to work on the case - which seems to be leading to stolen.....horse manure?

"Somewhere along the line, it occurred to him that he hadn't spoken to Virgil Flowers. He'd probably taken the day off, and knowing Flowers, he'd done it in a boat. The thing about Flowers was, in Lucas's humble opinion, you could send him out for a loaf of bread and he'd find an illegal bread cartel smuggling in heroin-saturated wheat from Afghanistan. Either that, or he'd be fishing in a muskie tournament, on government time. You had to keep an eye on him."

I have expressed doubts about Davenport's adopted daughter Letty in past books, but my opinion has changed. She's definitely growing on me and I think we'll see more of her in future books.

As always, Sandford has concocted a whip smart, action filled plot with lots of threads to keep your finger on. He employs a great twist that caught me unawares part way through.

I have enjoyed this series from book one and nothing has changed - I still eagerly await every new entry from one of my favourite authors - and curse myself when I finish it in a day!

posted by Twink on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Review1335099141647

This is a really nice book!1335099141647

posted by 4986710 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    enjoyed this book! Great characters, great story. one of my fav

    enjoyed this book! Great characters, great story. one of my fav series

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    John Sanford!

    I was anticipating the release of this book for awhile,and as you know rarely does a book live up to its hype. But this one ..did!! I liked how there was two stories going on. He involved Virgil Flowers,which always makes it entertaining. This "Prey" is one worth catching.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Another crazy ride with Lucas Davenport

    In this 22nd installment in John Sanford's Prey series, Lucas Davenport has to chase down 3 sets of criminals. The first is a pair of tweekers who hold him up and steal his wallet. The next is a team of computer hackers who come across mexican drug money going through a bank a couple of them work at. The last is a group of 3 mexican enforcers who torture and murder anyone they think was involved in stealing the drug cartel's money. The 3 investigations run side by side and intertwine beautifully. As usual, the book was fast paced. I read it in a couple days while on vacation

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    It is amazing to me that Sandford can keep cranking out books of

    It is amazing to me that Sandford can keep cranking out books of this caliber. Classic Lucas Davenport story line......a very good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    I love the John Sanford novels...both the the Lucas Davenport an

    I love the John Sanford novels...both the the Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers series. This is a great read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    I'm giving this latest John Sandford book 5 stars, not because I

    I'm giving this latest John Sandford book 5 stars, not because I think it is the best book that this author has ever written but mainly because it is another installment in his Prey series that is at least as riveting and well written as the other 21 Prey books I have read. I always look forward to Mr. Sandford's next book, expecially in the Prey series, as I know it will be worth my time and money. I have found that many of my favorite author's are writing books today that I can barely get through. I think the secret of the success of the Prey series is the character, Lucas Davenport, and how deftly Mr. Sandford has stayed true to his identity, flawed as he may be. My greedy self would like to see 2 of 3 of these books per year but I'll be content with 1 well written book and the other series Mr. Sandford writes with his character, Virgil Flowers, a spin-off from the Prey series, hopefully once a year.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Great Davenport novel.

    Great Davenport novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    OMG!!!

    What the f***! Everyone is like...dying. damn.

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    YOU CAN NEVER GO WRONG WITH A JOHN SANDFORD BOOK WITH LUCAS DAVE

    YOU CAN NEVER GO WRONG WITH A JOHN SANDFORD BOOK WITH LUCAS DAVENPORT IN IT!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Owlpaw

    Here

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Amy

    Gtg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Be back tomorrow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Great editing!

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    I love this series!

    I so love this series! It continues to reward my time w/well-written plots & an appealing cast of recurring characters including Lucas Davenport's growing family. This is yet another page-turner I could not put down & is high on my list of favorites in the series. Even if I know who the "bad guys" are from the start, I am driven to watch him bring them down. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    i Interesting crime story

    I have read all of the Prey novels and love 'em!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    The Best in the series

    Just love his style and characters, can't wait to read Silken Prey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Another Davenport winner

    One more fine entry into the ongoing Lucas Davenport saga with an enjoyable Virgil Flowers side-story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Love Lucas Davenport

    I enjoy all of John Sandford's books, can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    First - Five Star. Long a fan of the series and always looking f

    First - Five Star. Long a fan of the series and always looking forward to the next in the series. Sanford has created a Police family for Lucas that I like and enjoy and the Lucas family that never gets lost in the midst of the police work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Awesome as always!!!

    John Sandford never fails to keep me spellbound!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6