Customer Reviews for

Stolen Promise

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    STOLEN PROMISES Stole My Heart!

    I picked up STOLEN PROMISES yesterday morning and finished it by Midnight. I thoroughly enjoyed the H/h, Evan and Jade. There was humor with good banter between Evan and Jade. There is also a secondary romance but it did not take away from the main story. It just added to it.

    There were times when Evan's brother Colin had me laughing so hard.

    If you are looking for a sweet, sensual read with some humor and drama, be sure to pick up STOLEN PROMISES!

    Lisa, keep writing the great historical romances!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Great read!!!

    I got this book last night and was hooked from page one. I've never read a book about gypsies and i loved this book. It was a great read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Some Stolen Promises are Ones To Hold Onto.

    Stolen Promise by Lisa Marie Wilkinson is one romance book that will hold its promise of everything we have come to expect from a historical romance novel. I really don't think I've read a book about Gypsies before but I must say that this is a must have read. Absolutely scrumptious!

    Jade is not only a Gypsy, but like most of her people she is astoundingly beautiful. Green eyes that draw you into their depths with raven hair that has a halo of blueish to it to make it shine like spun silk. She wears very colorful clothing that only accentuates her lithe frame. She is spirited and head strong which is frowned upon amongst her people and her father believes what she needs is a husband with a strong hand to hold her in place.

    Evan is a half breed and doesn't exactly fit in on either side of his families nationalities. Not finding out about his heritage until he is a grown man, he goes in search of a people that very well might not accept him because of who he is.

    Dimitri is a very handsome Gypsy male but with a personality that brings out brutal abuse and a jealousy that does not end, it takes him to places he never thought he would have to go to get the one woman who was promised to him as a child to be his bride. He's one of those people you just absolutely have to hate, no ands, ifs or buts.

    Our author has given us a action packed, emotional powerhouse that will keep you turning pages as quickly as possible from beginning to end. A story of greed, hate, deception, love, trust and misunderstandings that will show us that making up is hard to do but the benefits are so worth it in the end. I totally adored this book and I do hope you do also.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Good story

    Only problem is lots of run togther words that take a while to separate correctly

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Very Good Story

    I hadn't heard of this writer, Ms Wilkenson sowas surprised at how good the writing and story were. Read this book in one day and enjoyed myself. Can't go wrong with this great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A First Gypsy Story

    I have never read a historical romance with gypsies and never new much of their culture. This is a wonderful story. The flow is superb and keeps you waiting for the next event. I hope the story of Patrick and Liberina will be written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great read!

    Loved it from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    Very good book love it

    Very good book love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an intriguing historical

    In 1806 England, Jade flees from the Lowara gypsy camp as she rejects a forced commonly bartered marriage to abusive Dimitri. She does not get very far away when she meets half-breed American gypsy Evan Dark. He rejects her pleas to either take her to safety or ignore her; instead Evan takes her back to the Lowara encampment.

    However, her family forces the two to marry Roma style as he should not have been with her without a chaperon. Evan proclaims their nuptials as bogus. He returns to the States planning to marry his American fiancée Gloriana Clayton, but brings Jade and her battered (by Dimitri) sister Liberina with him as indentured servants. On his South Carolina plantation Rosefield, Gloriana realizes Evan is falling in love with Jade so she plans to insure he goes through with his marriage to her; doing whatever it takes to get rid of the gypsy.

    This is an intriguing historical due to the refreshing concept of a Roma romance crossing the ocean to South Carolina where Evan is local aristocracy in spite of his grandfather's blood. The story line is driven by the romantic triangle, but that is no contest as Jade is a moral individual trying to do right by her sister while Glory is an avaricious unethical person willing to do anything to further her position in society their respective. Although having Glory with no redeeming quality is a detractor, Lisa Marie Wilkinson provides readers with an entertaining early nineteenth century romance.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great read!

    First read by this author. Loved the book and references to the gypsy culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Have enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    easy to read

    enjoyed the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Recommend

    This book has humor, romance and adventure. Not my usual choice in reading, but enjoyable and surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed this book, it had a very different and great story line which kept my interest going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great story

    I really enjoyed this book! I will definately read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Gypsy adventure that spans two continents....

    Riveting, I absolutely loved every minute and could not put it down. Set in a 1806 England Gypsy camp, and then proceeding to Charleston, SC the story transitioned smoothly. I haven't read a romance in a long time other than Christian-inspired, so it was a bit "saucy", but done very nicely to the storyline.

    All the characters were painted vividly and the settings were vibrant and and extremely realistic. I will definetly be seeking more works by Ms. Wilkinson in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Predictable love story

    I am not a fan of love stories and this one is predictable as many are so I was not too impressed, but for the little I paid for it, it was worth it. If you like love stories it will probably be right up your alley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I got this book for free. I love to take advantage of all the g

    I got this book for free. I love to take advantage of all the great deals on my Nook and I have found some really good reads! This book was no different. I loved the characters. I felt the Gypsy culture could have been explored a little more, but other than that, it had all the elements of a good romance. People coming from very different and diverse worlds trying to find a way to make a relationship work despite all that's working against them. Some action. The characters were well thought out, but I thought that there could have been a little more delving into the main characters personalities. And there of course was some humor. And I always love reading a book set in a past time period. I've learned some interesting facts this way!! All in all a good read and I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Better than average romance

    I enjoyed this more than I expected to. Interesting story, some plot twists are a bit contrived for my taste, but overall i was hooked. A quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3