Customer Reviews for

Stone Fox

Average Rating 4.5
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Stone fox

I FELT TOUCHED IT WAS AMAIZING I WILL READ IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN TILL I DIE

posted by Anonymous on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Hunter

I am hunter

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stone by the fox

    Stone Fox is about a ten year old boy Willy. Willy needs to win the big race so he can give the money to his grandfather to save the farm.
    The main point is he trying to help his grandfather because he's really sick so he uses all of his college savings money to enter the race. If he wins he gets the money to save the farm. I thought that he would do anything to help his grandpa. I felt nervous when he was going to risk all of his college savings.
    The biggest problem for Willy is he has to go against Stone Fox. Stone Fox is a professional dog sledder. Stone Fox has won all the races he had entered his whole life.
    You should read it because it can be a true story to some people who have to deal with tough times.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review by 9-yr old son

    This book was actually bought for my son and was on the summer reading book list, recommended by his school, as well as on the battle of the books list for elementary school (3d - 4th grades).

    My son thinks the book was very interesting. While there were some funny parts to the story, overall, the storyline was not meant to be funny but instead heroic, albeit having a sad ending. He thinks that other kids his age would enjoy the book.

    I've included a book that he recommended for reading as well.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Stone Fox is So Exciting!

    I think Stone Fox is sad and exciting. I think it was exciting because everyone wanted to know what happened next in the book. Willy a 10 year old boy has to get $500. With his grandfather ill and only his dog Searchlight, Willy has to save the farm. Will they have the power to save the farm? I enjoyed this boos a lot. I think everyone will be surprised by the ending in the book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    if you find this book you should read it

    Stone Fox In this story it is about a young boy entering a snow dog race to win a large amount of money for medicine for his grandfather, who is desperately sick. After entering the race the boy goes through some troubles with his dogs and of course, Stone Fox, who is an Indian and very tall. Now the boy does win the snow dog race with the help of the tall Indian, Stone Fox. Although he does feel good about winning, something very tragic happens.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Stone Fox

    My favorite character in this book was Little Willie , because he was determined to save the farm. I liked the part of the book when Stone Fox let Little Willie win the race

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    An okay read

    Little Willy tries to save Grandfather's farm by winning the dog sled race. The Indian, Stone Fox, wants to win the sled race too so he can get his land back. I won't give away the ending so you can read this book and be surprised, but overall I enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Stone Fox

    The book Stone Fox is about a boy and his dog that is living with his grandfather and has to get a job to take care of his grandfather. Then he found out that his grandfather hasn¿t paid the bills from a wiled back. So now they are in debt, but wait Willie thought to him self there is a dog sledding compotation coming up and they are giving just the write amount to pay of the debt. So now Willie and his dog are going to have to get ready to encounter anything like blizzards and bears. They will need to have the write gear because they are having the computation in Antarctica. He will have to face the man that has on it five years in a row something like that. This is a great book it is suspenseful, sad, action pact, and it has kindness, read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Sad ending? SAD ending but good book!

    Some people just love their dogs!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Stone fox

    Read it in school

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    To: SAD

    My sister caried in the book and i was mean and laughed at her :-(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    U

    This book is AWESOME!!! You are probably saying "Gee, that book has a bad title and a bad cover." But, gee, it is a great book. It is about a 10 year old boy named Little Willy and his Grandfather, their dog, Searchlight, and their potato farm. I wont give it all away. I actually read it in class, not on my nook, but what does that matter?

    PS, I am 9 years old. In case you are wondering. ;D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Finn

    Ok & poopy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Sad

    Sad, but good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    I my opinion, Stone Fox by John Reynolds Gardiner would be great

    I my opinion, Stone Fox by John Reynolds Gardiner would be great for kids in lower grade levels that love dogs. This book has a lot of content that kids would like. Such as, it is mostly about dogs racing. It takes place at a farm in Wyoming when it is very snowy; this is where Little Willy and grandpa live. They have a lot of fun.
    My favorite part of Stone Fox was when the Indian, Stone Fox threatened to shoot anyone who crossed a line that he drew in the snow. Then he told Little Willy to go. This was near the end of the book. This was also my favorite part of the book simply because I love dogs. This book was entertaining to me for that reason also.
    Stone Fox has some parts that I can actually relate to. The parts in the book were Searchlight dies reminds me of the time that I lost my dog. Also, the way Little Willy likes dogs matches the way I like dogs. Even when Little Willy was clueless about why grandpa was sick, I also was clueless. These parts were what I could relate to.
    This book is fiction. It has parts that would never happen in real life. Like one dog pulling a sled and beating teams of dogs. That would most likely not happen in real life. This book was very good to read. I liked it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Sad

    Sooooooooo sad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Stone Fox

    My favorite character is Stone Fox because Stone Fox is funny. I liked the time my character made a line in the snow and said if anyone passes this line I¿ll shoot. Also I liked the time when Stone Fox helped Little Willy when Searchlight died.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    Journey of Life

    The main character, Little Willy, is a ten-year-old boy living in Wyoming on a potato farm. He lives with his grandfather, but his grandfather goes into a depression and Little Willy will do anything not to lose him. Little Willy enters a race with his dog, but when Stone Fox, the most famous racer is there, Willy thinks he will lose the race because Stone Fox has never lost a race. Will Willy win? Read this book to find out. This book would be good for older kids. This book shows that you need a lot of determination to get through life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    SAD :'(

    This book was really good, it is also sad though. its cool.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    A Wonderful Encouraging Book

    I think "Stone Fox" is a good book because it teaches you to never give up even if things go wrong. Willy never gave up trying to raise enough money to buy his Grandpa medicine.Willy tries to pick a whole potato feild with only the help of his dog, though he only gets paid very little. He even enters he and his dog in a sled race that will cost him all of his colledge money, when his Grandfather tells him not to.Everyday before the race he and his dog go over the trail. To find out more about this wonderful selection go to your nearest bookstore or library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    family

    What i think of the story of the book it a good story it talk adout a boy that came to vacation to see his grandfather, grandmother. and in the stroy he have to help his grandfaher pay the tax up to 500 dallor. For him so he race for his grandfather to save. The farm for him and in the end he save his grandfather farm for him

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2