Customer Reviews for

Stone Kiss (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I love Faye Kellerman's writing!

    Each story is different. You don't feel as if you are reading the same book over and over. That's why I bought the entire series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    Loved it.

    I loved this book! It was my first kellerman novel and now i am hooked to buying the entire series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Awful

    I was unpleasantly surprised when I read this book. Normally I like the books by this author, but this one was quite bad. The plot was unrealistic and none of the characters behaved in a very realistic fashion. All in all, I think this is Faye Kellerman's worst book and readers should just pretend it never happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    Peter Evolves

    I enjoyed this book. I have been reading Faye Kellerman and her husband from the beginning. I was glad to see 'Peter' develop a more human skin in the novel. The earlier works left him as a saint with iron will, etc.... Hard to relate to. True, the story was a bit too 'fictional' but it really moved and kept my attention. Well worth the reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    Kiss this one Off

    I'm a fan of Ms. Kellerman's work, and have read all of her books, but her last few novels have failed to impress, including Stone Kiss. It's a shame that the quality of her writing has degraded so much that she's felt the need to use wrongheaded gimmicks in her books. Aside from the horribly unrealistic storyline, and terribly slow pacing, her switch to the use of first-person narrative in the middle of the book is both jarring and unnecessary. Not only doesn't this ploy add to the book, it distracts. Of course, a distraction isn't such a bad thing when you're faced with a plot is as muddled and unrealistic as the one in this book. Moreover, as a member of the community she's presumably turning a lens on, I have to say that her portrayal of the Jewish communities in New York struck just as many wrong notes as it did right ones. And too many of the characters in the book were one-note caricatures and hardly developed. Even Rina and Peter were involved in such contrived scenes that one had to wonder if Ms. Kellerman had taken leave of her senses when she wrote them. Save your money for one of Ms. Kellerman's earlier and far superior titles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Disappointed Reviewer

    I've read and enjoyed other books by Ms Kellerman but not this one. The book started out rather promising but something went wrong along the way. The middle dragged to the point I walked away from it several times. Then picked it up again because I'd paid for it and maybe it would get better. It didn't. The character of Chris Donatti (resurrected from an earlier book) as a psychotic killer is just not credible. To have him keep popping up like a jack-in-the-box all over the place is simply annoying. Often his presence makes no sense. Why does he follow Rina? Because the plot needs him there at a particular point in the book. No character driven reason. Why haul in Terry (another resurrected character)from left field? She pops in. She pops out. Does she move the plot along? No. And the switch to first person for her is really disruptive. None of this makes for easy suspension of disbelief. I've now got real problems with Peter Decker as a police detective. Do actual police officers have tame psychos doing their dirty work for them? In the mean time Decker blunders around apparently mostly concerned with weather. It's contrived and unreasonable. Why make Decker's relatives so unpleasant? Are we to actually believe Decker would persist in helping people like that? Puhleeze. The illogical secrets between Decker and Rina would destroy a real life marriage and make my accepting their behavior very hard. Why would Rina have a secret meeting with a man she knows to be a dangerous killer? Why would she go alone with him? This sort of silliness spoils the story. The duex ex machina ending of the book is, as another reviewer noted, a total mess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    LATEST KELLERMAN NOVEL A BUST!

    Really was very disappointed with the subject matter. Also, her books are getting a bit too ethnic and it makes the reading difficult. I have always enjoyed her books, but this one was a bust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Faye is Fantastic, as usual

    I loved Stone Kiss, but then again, I love all of Faye's books. Her knowledge of Judaism is incredible, as is her knowledge of police work. She is in a genre of her own. Big praise for you, Faye. Keep it up! I love Peter and Rina and the rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    This book got me hooked and now I am buying the whole story line starting with the first book about these two ! if you like James patterson then try this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    The Best Yet!!!

    If you have been a Faye Kellerman follower you will definetly love this book. She is not only brilliant in making us see things through the eyes of Decker, but through all the characters. It is hard to tell who is the prime character in her books, they all play important roles. She even has a way of making you understand the bad guys. This book is the cream of the crop. Excellent Reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Not one of her best

    The end of the book is so disappointing that I was angry that I wasted so much time with it! Excuciating detail and slow pace during the first half of book dissolves into a mess by the last page. The relationship between Peter and Rina was further muddied by secrets kept by both of them. Won't say more, just won't recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    Very Disappointing!

    I did not like this book, and almost didn't finish it. I was offended by the overt, perverted sexual content. There was also a secondary story line that didn't make sense. This will be very disappointing to the readers who have enjoyed the sprinkling of Judaism that have marked the previous books in the series as this book has very little. I also thought this book was poorly edited, which is something I'm noticing in many books these days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    A CONVINCING, SUBTLY PACED READING

    Fans of Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus mysteries will welcome the return of this popular pair. All will welcome a convincing, subtly paced reading by stage, film and television actor Dennis Boutsikaris. Things were abnormally serene in the Decker/Lazarus household until LAPD Lt. Decker receives a cry for help. Rabbi Jonathan Levine, his half-brother phones with the horrible news that the Rabbi's brother-in-law has been murdered. The man's naked body was discovered in one of Manhattan's flea bag hotels. Perhaps worse the slain man's 15-year-old niece is missing. She may have a clue to the man's death; more importantly, she is a young girl who has evidently disappeared. Peter and Rina fly to New York, where he knows he will be seen as an interloper by the local police, but he did not expect the antipathy he received from the missing girl's relatives. Things get really hot when Peter is forced to search the dark streets of Manhattan alone. It is not long before he becomes a target. But, why? The plot and dialogue are typical Kellerman - for her fans that is more than enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting entry

    New York Conservative Rabbi Jonathan Levine calls his half-brother Los Angeles Police Lieutenant Peter Decker for help. Jon explains that someone executed his Orthodox brother-in-law Ephraim Leiber in a run down New York hotel room. However, the reason Jon wants Peter to come to the Big Apple is to find his teenage niece Shaynda a probable witness to the murder whom has vanished. <P>Though not eager to cross into someone else¿s jurisdiction, Peter comes to New York. Neither NYPD, nor Shaynda¿s parents, nor the townsfolk where the Leibers live welcome Peter on the scene. Still Peter makes in roads and finds Shaynda in the Manhattan apartment of a Mob-connected criminal. However, Peter¿s inquiries are not finished as Shaynda¿s story is just beginning and that tale will not end happily. <P>Peter¿s normal co-star in this wonderful series, his wife Rina Lazarus, hardly appears in STONE KISS. However, though Rina makes only a cameo appearance, the novel remains an exciting entry as one of the better ones in several years. The investigation is handled quite smoothly especially when Peter is struggling to overcome the objections of NYPD, a small town police chief, and an Orthodox congregation that borders on the Hasidic. Though similar in plot to previous books as family troubles start the latest tzuros for Rina and Peter, series fans will enjoy this look at the East Coast side of the extended brood. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2