BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Stone Maiden (Celtic Nights Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the BEST I have read!!

Susan King has done what many authors before her have attempted to do, yet failed. She has combined suspense, romance, history and action to bring forth a wonderful story that will stay in the readers thoughts long after the book has been finished. I am already orde...
Susan King has done what many authors before her have attempted to do, yet failed. She has combined suspense, romance, history and action to bring forth a wonderful story that will stay in the readers thoughts long after the book has been finished. I am already ordering Ms. Kings other works. I only hope that they can come close to the brilliance that is 'The Stone Maiden'. I love it!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Almost Gave Up..................................................

Almost Gave Up.................................................................................
The first hundred pages or so had our heroine whining and carrying on  about how she did not want to marry the hero.  She finally woke up and realized it was a good thing  He...
Almost Gave Up.................................................................................
The first hundred pages or so had our heroine whining and carrying on  about how she did not want to marry the hero.  She finally woke up and realized it was a good thing  He was handsome, brave, honorable and best of all King and family approved.  It finally dawned  on her this was her best offer.  After that it picked up and was a pretty good story.  You can add a star if  you love ancient Celtic  folk tales  and  poetry.  There is an abundance of both in the book.  I found myBut to each his own.self skimming some of that.   I
   

posted by kronan1 on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    One of the BEST I have read!!

    Susan King has done what many authors before her have attempted to do, yet failed. She has combined suspense, romance, history and action to bring forth a wonderful story that will stay in the readers thoughts long after the book has been finished. I am already ordering Ms. Kings other works. I only hope that they can come close to the brilliance that is 'The Stone Maiden'. I love it!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Such A Sweet Love Story

    This was a very slow-paced story but in a good way. Sebastien was one of the best heros, so handsome and smart and really concerned about Alainna's people. I was impressed with his attraction to Scotland even though he was an Englishman.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting Medieval romance

    In 1170 in the Highlands, Clan Laren is dying after generations of a feud and raids from Clan MacNechton. There are no young people left except for the clan leader, Alainna MacLaren. The legend of the nearby STONE MAIDEN is that after seven centuries of protecting the Laren clan, their safety will end unless Alainna marries a warrior willing to adopt her name by the spring. <P>Desperate for help, Alainna petitions King William for a heroic Scottish husband. William sends Breton Sebastien Le Bret, who has a beloved son living in Brittany, a good enough reason in his mind not to adopt Alainna's name. As Alainna and Sebastien fight with each other and war with their common enemy, they fall in love. However, the surname remains an issue as she believes in the legend and he loves his five-year-old son. <P>THE STONE MAIDEN is an exciting Medieval Highlander tale that centers on duty, honor, and love. The story line is filled with excitement that picturesquely provides the audience insight into clan life, survival and period politics. The lead couple is a warm pair even though Sebastien's patience with Alainna seems stretched. The support cast augments the tale with a feel for the twelfth century. Susan King shows why she is considered by fans and critics to be one of the monarchs of the sub-genre. <P>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Wonderful

    Wonderful read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Excellent tale!

    I really enjoyed this historical love story of Scotland. It had just enough romance mixed in with the history to make it interesting. Highly recommended if you enjoy historical fiction where the romance isn't the gaggy kind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    The Stone Maiden is a Must Read ! ! !

    <sigh> Susan King is a remarkable, uniquely-talented author. She shares her Scottish devotion and knowledge in the sweet, memorable story of Sebastien and Alainna in The Stone Maiden. From the first dreamy scene to the last, you will love every page-turning moment of this book. If you listen real close, you may even hear the bard's harp weep as the story of The Stone Maiden unfolds. I truly enjoyed this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2000

    Scottish Romance at it's best

    This book is a must for readers of historical romance especially if you love Scottish stories. My grandfather was a stonemason in Scotland and Susan King is a master at weaving facts and characters together. You feel as if you are living with the characters. I could not put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    wonderful story!

    I really loved The Stone Maiden. So far I like everything Susan King has written, and she's definitely one of my favorites, but this one is especially beautiful and powerful. The ending made me cry and laugh, and I absolutely loved this hero. The story is compelling and so well written, it stays with you afterward. A truly wonderful romance!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    loved loved loved this book

    I enjoyed this book the interaction, the pain and struggle between the main characters. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Happy reader

    Enjoyed .. so much I will be reading the rest of the series .. and then on to her other books .. I'm glad I stumbled upon Susan King

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Unforgettable

    Loved it. could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    lov

    Awesome read love a happy ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Shara

    ( two birdz is at his hideout res three)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Apprentice den

    StoneClan

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Andrea

    Brb srry

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Judith

    Looks at ally and smiles. She looks up at the sky and turns to lrave.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Clarice

    I do.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    A she

    Watches from thshadowse

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Willowflame

    Padded in. "Here?" She aked.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Cinderflight

    The smokey gray she cat pads in. May I be med? She asks

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2