Customer Reviews for

The Stone Monkey (Lincoln Rhyme Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good start, but Jeffery Deaver not at his best.

    Well known for his bone-chilling psychological thrillers, Jeffery Deaver brings the two cunning detectives back in the fourth entry in the notorious Lincoln Rhyme series. Although he makes a decent attempt to hook his readers into the story, he yet again fails to deliver. <BR/><BR/>Returning to thier familiar hometown of the Big Apple are on pursuit of the "Ghost", a ruthless Chinese immigrant smuggler. The book opens with Rhyme and Sachs pursuint the snakehead's (smuggler's) boat of illegal Chinese immigrants. When their attempt to catch him turns into a fiasco, the two begin to realize that it's only a matter of time before he decides to kill the surviving families. Over the next 48 hours, the two detectives, along with the help of a Chinese beat, hunt for the foreign smuggler. <BR/><BR/>I have to admit that THE STONE MONKEY is another letdown by Deaver, though not as quite as his previous Rhyme novel THE EMPTY CHAIR. What I liked most about this book was the beginning pursuit of the Ghost. But from thereon in, the plot began to fall apart. <BR/><BR/>Fans are normally use to how Deaver cleverly draws his characters into his novels. From chapter to chapter, it seemed to me that the author went bananas when writing this book, failing to deliver this strenth of his into the book. Another thing I noticed while reading was that Rhyme was barely present throughout the scenes in the book. I felt that I did not feel that cunning, forensic intuition that I use to in the earlier Rhyme novels. As I was reading page after page of the investigation, I kept asking myself "Where did Rhyme go?" <BR/><BR/>What disappointed me the most while reading THE STONE MONKEY was Deaver's failing attempt to know who the Ghost was. I was aware that he was a killer, indeed, but yet I didn't become aware of either his troubled past nor any of the losses that he has taken during then that have motivated him to commit the acts that he has. <BR/><BR/>Sad to say, Deaver has yet agian disappointed his fans by failing to deliver the strengths that make his novels enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Hi

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Riveting

    As usual Rhymes and Sachs rock and roll and keep you rivited to read every chance you get. This ones a nail biter. Very detailed with twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Highly recommended for more than one reading.

    Deaver could have been a Master Weaver. What seems like a “dropped switch” in the story line is “forensic evidence” that must be written in the mind of the reader. That which appeared to be dropped and of little to no importance to the story becomes the thread that enlightens the beauty of the case. Monkey dust…. The longing for freedom and the opportunity to achieve drives those who escape the sinking people freighter to will the laying down their own lives so the dream can continue in those who have the strength to gain freedom sought. The Stone Monkey is much more than the struggle of good and evil. It shows the reader that by observing the normally unnoticed aspects of life, good can gain its triumph. Failure to observe….

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Suspense fans! Jeffery Deaver is the man to read!!!

    Jeffery Deaver knows how to keep your interest. I've read almost all the Lincoln Rhyme Series plus other independent novels. I don't like to give away plots, I prefer to let the reader discover this man's amazing ability to keep you spell-bound from start to finish. Illegal Chinese immigrants are being smuggled into the US by a homicidal smuggler. When two families jump ship, he must find them and murder them because they're witness to his devious wrongdoings. He needs to find and eliminate them. Forensics expert Lincoln Rhyme must find the families before the "Ghost" can silence them. A real page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A gripping and engrossing tale featuring Deaver's hero/heroin team of Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs

    Jeffery Deaver has, once again, created a gripping and engrossing tale featuring his hero/heroin team of Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs. The Stone Monkey, the fourth in the series, finds the master criminalist/crime scene investigator duo diving head first into a seemingly impossible task; working with FBI and Immigration authorities to locate a Chinese freighter out on the ocean, with a cargo of undocumented immigrants, and the human trafficker who is bringing them across. The trafficker, or "Sneakhead", goes by the name Gui, Ghost, and has earned his reputation as both deadly and cunning.

    Finding a ship in the midst of a raging ocean with nothing but forensic evidence is difficult, but when the ship sinks before the Coast Guard can arrive, the priorities change from arrest and evidence collection to rescuing the victims while trying to preserve the crime scene; and then to keeping the Ghost from murdering any more of his charges.

    Woven into the fabric of the story is a reasonably deep look into the Chinese immigrant community, some cultural tradition, and the inevitable conflict of generational differences. These add a fresh color and intrigue to the telling, and all parties have to broaden their horizons to understand both the predator and the prey.

    Adding to the mix of usual characters are the personal demons that Amelia and Lincoln wrestle with. Rhyme is still planning to undergo an experimental surgery that he knows won't reverse his quadriplegic condition, but might give him just a little more feeling and movement; that is, if it doesn't take all he has left. Amelia is as supportive as she can be while worrying about losing her love in the attempt. And, she desperately wants for them to have a child.

    I very much enjoy the closeness, respect, and understanding that these two have developed over the course of the series. They operate with unstated anticipation of the other's next question or instruction, knowing just what the other is thinking. The relationships with the supporting characters are, likewise, growing and deepening. When outsiders enter the fine meshing machinery it takes a while for them to become part of the big picture, just as it would be in any team that's worked so closely for so long.

    I do wish that Deaver had done just a little more research into the operations and procedures used by US Immigrations, which he erroneously calls INS throughout the book. The publication date is 2003, right on the cusp of the reorganization of the various agencies, but by that date, the enforcement arm of INS had been renamed the Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement, ICE for short. He also stumbles over minor operational errors that few on the outside are aware of (I've worked for ICE as a Detention Officer since 2004), but that could have been discovered without too much trouble.
    Those small issues aside, The Stone Monkey is superbly written and the plot twists are familiar and welcome to any fan of Deaver's previous works. He kept my interest throughout the story and kept me guessing all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    "Colored Money"

    Another one of Deaver's Lincon Rhymes novels that maintains the suspense throughout the entire book. A good presentation of the intricacies of illegal immigration and the criminals who take advantage of those in need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    woaw mr deaver

    this boook is awesome!!!the story sucks you in and makes you a part of the scene. great boook i recccommmend to all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Wonderful!

    Jeffery Deaver keeps you on the edge of your seat during this book. I've read it twice, and both times I was in total suspense through the whole thing. It's a wonderful book by an author who knows how to keep you guessing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2004

    ANOTHER WINNER

    i REALLY GOT INTO THIS BOOK. i HAVE AN INTEREST IN CHINA AND THIS BOOK JUST SUCKED ME IN AND i COULD HARDLY PUT IT DOWN. I highly recommen this book and most of what I have read by Mr. Deaver

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    Things come too easily

    Read this book while flying to London and back from New York. Easily put it down. Book is better than the movie on the flight, but only because the movie wasn't in English. The book is OK, but outcomes were predicitable and the answers came to Lincoln too easily. Seems like he had access to every bit of information in the world. He did not have to work hard enough to get the answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Wow!

    Just when you think you have things figured out, there is another curve and you are literally hanging on until the final pages reveal...you find out! rich characters, in-depth storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Less compelling.

    In a few words, too busy. This author did a much better job with The Bone Collector by creating realism and genuine suspense. The story also missed a great opportunity to develop more culture insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Deaver's Best

    I really was able to get lost in STONE MONKEY. This is a must read, Deaver at his best! He will need to work extra hard to top this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    Deever Does it Again

    I read every Rhyme book I can get. Each one is better than the last, but he will really have to excel to top this one. The combination of forensics and culture clash is outstanding. It would be really great if he could back up and write some books about Sonny Li before he comes to America or develop a similar character who lives and maybe has his own series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    Deaver at his best.

    The weather in San Francisco was beautiful this weekend. I stayed in to finish this book. Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Just what I needed

    Another great book by Jeffery>>>>I have read nearly everyone of Jeffery's books>>>>he turned my life around with the Blue Nowhere>>>and the Stone Monkey is a must read, I am in the middle of reading it now, and it is wonderfully distracting....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    One of the Best Forensic Novels Ever

    This book had so many twists are turns and the forensic detail was awesome. The book leaves you holding on until the last page. If you haven't read any of Deaver's books yet you are missing out on a lot. This will blow you away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    A Revealing Departure!

    Despite the cover, this novel isn't all about Lincoln Rhyme, but rather -- and refreshingly -- we see his protegee, Amelia Sachs featured. Her past relationship with her father, her present mind set and her possible future with Rhyme are put forth in a whole new light. The reader discovers who Sachs is, what she wants and how her health may demand compromise. That said, inventing a believable super sleuth with Lincoln Rhymes' physical limitations was no small endeavor. Keeping him in the good graces of his fans given his fits of temper and at times grumpy nature is even harder. We do however forgive and understand Rhymes' psychological scarring and focus instead on his strengths; his mind and the considerable body of forensic knowledge stored there. For all of this Mr. Deaver has earned our respect as a skillful craftsman. Also notably developed in this offering is the character of Sonny Li, an engaging Chinese detective whose street smarts and dogged use of shoe leather trump technology on more than one occasion. He jumps from the page, real and likable, many times dominating a scene. Others have outlined the plot, so I'll offer this in closing: For those interested in exploring other cultures, Stone Monkey offers some interesting facts and insightful asides that run the gamut from downright tragic to most amusing. Mr. Deaver's story of 'the Ghost' is compelling, complex and well worth any mystery buff's time ¿ and admiration. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    Jeffery Deaver has done it again.

    This is one of his best. I just couldn't put it down. I felt as though I was right there with Sachs as she was walking the grid. It certainly holds you in suspense. I can't wait for his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4