Customer Reviews for

Stone Soup

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Life Influencing

Though this was one of the very first books I read (or perhaps it was first read to me) it has been a solid influence on my personal and professional life. The tale is not one of trickery but rather one of persuasion, not one of selfishness but of sharing. It simply s...
Though this was one of the very first books I read (or perhaps it was first read to me) it has been a solid influence on my personal and professional life. The tale is not one of trickery but rather one of persuasion, not one of selfishness but of sharing. It simply says that if all contribute whatever little or great they have, the end result is much better than the sum of parts. While some may say this book then would influence children toward some type of political left, I suggest the influence is more toward contribution to their respecive community and thus an enhansement of their respective lives.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stone

I had stone soup at my daycare, gross.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Life Influencing

    Though this was one of the very first books I read (or perhaps it was first read to me) it has been a solid influence on my personal and professional life. The tale is not one of trickery but rather one of persuasion, not one of selfishness but of sharing. It simply says that if all contribute whatever little or great they have, the end result is much better than the sum of parts. While some may say this book then would influence children toward some type of political left, I suggest the influence is more toward contribution to their respecive community and thus an enhansement of their respective lives.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    A classic tale to share with generations.

    I remember reading this book as a child and wanted to make sure that my son had the same experience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Like gum

    Think of it this way-the message is like gum, sticky but good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Awesome

    I dont like this book my little sister says this book is garbage and shes only 8

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Stone

    I had stone soup at my daycare, gross.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Stone stone soup

    I remember i read this story in 2 grade. I liked it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have used the story of Stone Soup with my Cub Scouts as well a

    I have used the story of Stone Soup with my Cub Scouts as well as children's activity groups and in a couple of weeks I plan to use it as a Children's Sermon during church service as our church prepares to kick off a campaign fund-raising for building expansion. This will be a lesson in cooperation and sharing not only for the children but for the entire congregation!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    I introduced this to my son's preschool class 30 years ago, and

    I introduced this to my son's preschool class 30 years ago, and they still carry on the "Stone Soup" tradition. Every year, students are asked to bring in a fresh vegetable from home for the pot of soup. The teacher takes a stone (and scrubs it of course!). She starts the pot of soup with the stone. The soup is made, and the entire class enjoys hearty vegetable "stone" soup for lunch. I can't wait to introduce my granddaughter to this tradition.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    A Must Read for all Children

    This book was read to me as a senior in high school, I was 17 at the time, and it sends a good message to the targeted audience (4-8) that being greedy isn't how to act. It also teaches children the importance of sharing. The author bases her story on an old French tale about three hungry soldiers who arrive at a village full of selfish, greedy people. By the end of the story the soldiers outwit the villagers into making them a feast. When I first heard this story, I was reminded the importance of sharing with others and the effects being greedy can have. I am now 19 and still love this book and even read it to the children at the daycare I work at and implement a lesson plan when I get the opportunity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Look at the price

    Why is it sooooo expensive

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Everything old is new again!

    I first became aware of Stone Soup when I saw it illustrated and narrated while watching Captain Kangaroo on TV as a child in the 1950s. To say that I was enchanted by it is an understatement. Even then, I knew that something in my young life had been changed forever by the experience. The story is unforgettable, as are the lessons it teaches children about themselves and others: The spiritual confinement of selfish behavior, the power of optimism to make for positive change, and the joy of sharing with those less fortunate than ourselves, to name a few. This year I sent a copy to my young grand-niece and another to my grand-nephew. I wanted each of them to have their own copy, as I expect that they will turn to it again and again in years to come. The original 1947 illustrations are lively and perfect for the story being told. Stone Soup is a fun, entertaining, and provocative exercise in the complexity of human behavior and the consequences of personal choices. Stone Soup can be (and was for me) transformative for a growing child. I encourage you to share the story with your own children, or with any children in your life. If they are very young, read it to them as a bedtime story. If they are a bit older, ask them to read it to you (if they don't ask you first!) Stone Soup's lessons are gentle, profound, and transcend generations. When I opened the new copies, I was reminded of the beauty, humor and wisdom of the tale once again. Thank you, Captain Kangaroo--and thank you, Marcia Brown!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Give What You Can

    a very simple story with a very profound message. Standing the test of time, this book is truly a timeless classic. If you want to teach life lessons, this book is just a wonderful way to do it, when is comes to sharing what you have. Stone Soup is great to read early and often to your toddlers. After awhile, the message will sink in and stick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    My son loves this book

    My son reads this book with his mom and is always talking about Stone Soup and if I would eat that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Wonderful example of true community!

    I am helping to build a new model for health care in West Michigan and am using this book as a roadmap!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    Sharing and Working Together to Accomplish a Goal

    I remember the first time Captain Kangaroo read this story to me. It has remained a favorite of my own, my children's and now my grandchildren. It is a must for teaching the lessons of compassionate giving, and for using resourcefulness to accomplish a group effort. I highly recommend this beloved tale for anyone teaching children and as a unique motivational lesson for adults who must provide training for others (it is a fun, inspiring way to gain the attention of a room full of stuffy businessmen or women!) Making the soup as part of the activity also adds a special treat, especially for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1