Customer Reviews for

Stone of Tears (Sword of Truth Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(264)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Picks up where the first book left off

The King has done it again, and i'm not talking about Stephen, this sequel is stunning, shocking and suprisingly good for a sequel. just when you thought that the mastery of intellegent writing was gonna stop 'BANG' He hits you with another creatively writtin brand of m...
The King has done it again, and i'm not talking about Stephen, this sequel is stunning, shocking and suprisingly good for a sequel. just when you thought that the mastery of intellegent writing was gonna stop 'BANG' He hits you with another creatively writtin brand of magic,creatures with a sidestep of love. If he keeps writting i'll keep reading.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Please Fix the EPub Version

For any fans of the first a must read. I give the book 4 stars and the E Book version a 0. The formatting is horrid. Please fix this ASAP!

posted by Chad72 on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Please Fix the EPub Version

    For any fans of the first a must read. I give the book 4 stars and the E Book version a 0. The formatting is horrid. Please fix this ASAP!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story, couple of complaints...

    I really like Stone of Tears; the plot and situations facing Richard and Kahlan are very unique and creative. Let me go ahead and say right now, that I don't think this is a bad book, but a couple of things got under my skin:

    1) Too much recap. I know Goodkind (or his editor) was probably not thinking too much for his future readers. What he (or they) had in mind was making sure his fans would be reminded what happened in Wizard's First Rule and could therefore grab it hot off the presses on its release date. But for someone like me (who, 15 years later, bought the boxed set and could immediately jump to the next book) that much recap was useless and frustrating.

    2)Repetition of certain concepts. I don't know what the problem was but it seemed Goodkind felt his readers couldn't remember basic facts about Kahlan or Richard. I was reminded in almost every chapter focusing on Kahlan that she was THE Mother Confessor and it was HER responsibility to watch over the little people of the Midlands. I GET IT! I remembered that just fine from WFR. Thankfully, around halfway through the book, Goodkind must've felt it was hammered in well enough and moved on to telling the story. It also seems that Richard can't even touch the Sword of Truth without Goodkind throwing in that Richard "felt the word 'Truth' on the hilt digging into his palm". Cut the drama of useless detail and get on with it.

    3) Way too much sap. And this is bad coming from a chick. I know, I know, "but they discovered they could love each other and not hide their feelings" blah, blah. Instead of condensing this into one or two effective, touching and poignant scenes, this drags on with every chapter Rich and Kahlan are together until they're separated, which is when I took a sigh of relief. I needed them to have some time apart!

    4) Characters talking to each other as if they're stupid. This happened a handful of times between Zedd and Adie; Zedd is a wizard, Adie, a sorceress. There should be at least a base of common knowledge between the two. The best analogy I can make is to pretend that they both have Ph.Ds in physics, but one is telling the other how Newton formulated his theory of gravity, or explaining how sub-atomic particles work. That should not happen, ever! Goodkind should've thought of better ways to teach his readers this system of magic besides dialogue, especially between the two most skilled wizards of the story (so far) after Darken Rahl. It was forced, fake and boring.

    Again, this is NOT a bad story, it was bad editing. I recommend reading it, but be aware of the crap you're gonna have to skirt around to finish it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Like the book, hate the formatting

    Something is wrong with the formatting of the nook version of the book, as previous reviewers have said, I can't change the font or size at all. There are weird mid-page breaks, and the Chapters roll into each other. It's a bit of a disappointment after the first book in the series which is formatted very well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Beware the formatting

    It's too bad there isn't a categorised rating system here, because what I mean by 3 stars is actually 5 stars for such an excellent story and 1 star for what is possibly the worst formatting I've seen on an ebook. I give it 1 star just for releasing an e-version of the book at all. But seriously, the half-page indentations, the middle-of-the page chapter headings, and the odd line/paragraph spacing (or lack thereof) significantly diminsh the readability and enjoyment of this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Where was this guy's editor???

    I have to admit overall I enjoy this story at it's base. Even with the cheesy dialog and melodrama the story is still interesting. However, that being said, why did this book have to be so looooooooong? The author got bogged down in too much detail and recap and backstory. He slowly dragged us along for 800+ pages (paperback version)then in a headspinning reckless tumble tried to wrap up all his loose ends in the last 170-180 pages. This guy's editor needs to really be a little more critical with this author's work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    Very good books, but just a hair too slow. Love the story, but p

    Very good books, but just a hair too slow. Love the story, but prefer the tv show over the books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    beware

    This book got to be a little too much torture for me .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Ok.

    Really cliche story about the "true" one. But it kept me reading. Overall ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Long...

    I have never been so happy to finish a book!

    This book has some great detail in it but it just seems to go on and on and on and on again. Most of the time I kept wondering if there was a point to some of the chapters.

    It did keep me entertained but I will most likely not read the other books in this series. It just seems like it has so much detail that is not needed and continues to drag.

    If you like a long fantasy you might like it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Good Book

    In general I enjoyed the book, though there is a lot of reiteration, or repetition in the conversations with the characters. It seems that they keep repeating themselves in conversation to make filler space.
    There are a few holes in the plot but that's to be expected from such a large literary undertaking.

    Overall I like the book, it makes for good reading, and I enjoyed it because it has situations and character experiences that can't be found in everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1