Customer Reviews for

Stoneheart (The Stoneheart Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book Review of the book Stoneheart

Review of the Book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher

Have you ever tried to fix something but something else prevented you from fixing it? Well, that happened to the main character in the book Stoneheart. His name was George Chapman and his life was normal in a big hous...
Review of the Book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher

Have you ever tried to fix something but something else prevented you from fixing it? Well, that happened to the main character in the book Stoneheart. His name was George Chapman and his life was normal in a big house at London. As soon as the rich boy broke a dragon gargoyle's head everything changed, his life, his friends, and most importantly, his sight. After he broke the head he saw gargoyles and other statues made out of rock, metal, gold, and many more. Soon he was running with a statue called the Gunner and the Gunner told George to find the Black Friar. Will he find it or not..
Stoneheart is an exciting and a book that you just can't put down! This story is very adventurous and is a great book for adventure lovers, curious people, and people who love thrilling books. This whole book is good for schools because you can make lots of predictions. I recommend this book to people because this fantasy book proves that even fantasy can be fantastic!

posted by SilentRanger on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

The book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher is a fast pace adventure. It is a book filled with action. The book is for someone who enjoys action, adventure and the unexpected. It is about a boy named George, who breaks a stone carving in anger. Then suddenly finds himsel...
The book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher is a fast pace adventure. It is a book filled with action. The book is for someone who enjoys action, adventure and the unexpected. It is about a boy named George, who breaks a stone carving in anger. Then suddenly finds himself in a world of bronze men walking around and gargoyles chasing after him. He is not the only one to see this other world. Edie and others who were cursed by the stone can also see this world. In order to escape he must make amends for his troubles.
The book has a unique style of writing. At first the story happens fast, one thing after another, then the action starts to slow and it becomes easier to read. The book has many conflicts that become exposed after the pace starts to slow. The characters in the book are mostly human. They are confused by all the information being thrown at them. The author does such a great job in his writing that it makes the book thrilling. The book continues to add more and more plot twists and information. The way he writes it makes it easy to read. This book will keep you wanting to read to the end to find out if George and the others make it back to their world.

posted by orangecrush on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Book Review of the book Stoneheart

    Review of the Book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher

    Have you ever tried to fix something but something else prevented you from fixing it? Well, that happened to the main character in the book Stoneheart. His name was George Chapman and his life was normal in a big house at London. As soon as the rich boy broke a dragon gargoyle's head everything changed, his life, his friends, and most importantly, his sight. After he broke the head he saw gargoyles and other statues made out of rock, metal, gold, and many more. Soon he was running with a statue called the Gunner and the Gunner told George to find the Black Friar. Will he find it or not..
    Stoneheart is an exciting and a book that you just can't put down! This story is very adventurous and is a great book for adventure lovers, curious people, and people who love thrilling books. This whole book is good for schools because you can make lots of predictions. I recommend this book to people because this fantasy book proves that even fantasy can be fantastic!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Good Read

    The book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher is a fast pace adventure. It is a book filled with action. The book is for someone who enjoys action, adventure and the unexpected. It is about a boy named George, who breaks a stone carving in anger. Then suddenly finds himself in a world of bronze men walking around and gargoyles chasing after him. He is not the only one to see this other world. Edie and others who were cursed by the stone can also see this world. In order to escape he must make amends for his troubles.
    The book has a unique style of writing. At first the story happens fast, one thing after another, then the action starts to slow and it becomes easier to read. The book has many conflicts that become exposed after the pace starts to slow. The characters in the book are mostly human. They are confused by all the information being thrown at them. The author does such a great job in his writing that it makes the book thrilling. The book continues to add more and more plot twists and information. The way he writes it makes it easy to read. This book will keep you wanting to read to the end to find out if George and the others make it back to their world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Happy to have discovered this series!

    Browsing the store, I came across this first book in a series. The cover attracted me. I loved its great character description and the draw to keep on reading clear to the end. The tween world is a fascinating idea. I am anxious to gest a copy of the next book in the trilogy. I highly recommend this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stoneheart is Great Beginning of a Trilogy

    "On a school trip to the Natural History Museum in London, a 12-year-old loner named George is banished for something he didn't do. Angry, he lashes out and breaks off a dragon's head carved onto the wall of the museum. Next thing he knows, a pterodactyl carving comes to life and begins to chase him."

    And so begins George's adventures in "unLondon." He is soon chased by many fanciful creatures come alive from stone statues. He first encounters Gunner, a statue of a World War I soldier, who helps to save the boy from the pterodactyl. The pair soon meet up with Edie, a "glint" with the power to see the past.

    In order for George to go back to the London he knows, the London where stone statues don't come to life, he must return the broken dragon's head to the Stone Heart. Gunner and Edie, plus a cast of other characters, help George in achieving his objective.

    In the beginning of the book, George is feeling sorry for himself because his father is dead and his mother barely has time for him. Edie is portrayed as a cold-hearted survivor who has always looked after herself. But during the course of their adventures through the unusual streets of London, their characters start to evolve.

    Some of the other interesting characters from the book are the Sphinxes who only give answers in riddles, the Clocker who continually marks the time, the Black Friar who tells them where the Stone Heart is, the Walker who is pure evil incarnate and the Minotaur who is part bull, part human and all bad. We also get glimpses of dragons and gargoyles. Fletcher has turned a collection of the actual statues around London into an astonishing assortment of personalities and monsters.

    Although marketed to children and young adults, I don't think I would recommend this for younger children mainly because of some of the scary and dangerous situations George and Edie encounter, but I highly recommend it for older children and teenagers, as well as adults like me who love young adult books. This is the first book in the Stoneheart Trilogy and as soon as I put the last period on this post, I'm ready to start Ironhand, the next book in the series. The final book is entitled Silvertongue.

    Charlie Fletcher is a British author and screenwriter. Stoneheart was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award in 2007. There is a movie in development for release in 2010.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Wt is this, I don't even

    I literally had no idea what was going on the entire time. Very poorly described settings and forgetful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    This story would make a fantastical film. Sadly, it is written i

    This story would make a fantastical film. Sadly, it is written in that manner, making it really hard to follow the story in book format.  The imagination of the author is fantastical, and this book is definitely refreshing and out of the box thinking. George finds himself swept up into another London, where all the rules he thought existed are turned upside down, and statues come to life. But not all statues are good, there are the spits who are human like and overall good, but then there are also taints that are gargoyles who are collectively seeking to destroy George. The story is filled with a lot of action, and unexpected twists that keeps the reader always wondering what is going to happen next. Or at least... what kind of trouble is George going to get into now.  The big criticism that I have about this first book is the Point of View (POV) problem that many first time authors face.  Throughout the book, the author is constantly jumping between characters. The reader gets snapshots of what are happening in the minds of all the characters at the same time. Which if this was a movie, it would work to constantly focus on different people, but in written format make it utterly confusing. However, this has not deterred me from reading the rest of the series, and the author does a much better job at keeping this to a minimum and eliminating this problem, in subsequent series of this book.  If you can splodge through this first one, the second one is much better. As for family friendliness, it rates a 5 out of 5, because this is a book about kids for kids to learn about the choices we make and the consequences that come from those choices whether good or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Hmmm

    I wnted to like this book but found it haed to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Awsome book

    This book is totally EPIC!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great book

    This book is by far one of the best i've ever read and i dontnlikenreading that much. I thinkvthis is angreat book for anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    H

    AWesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Love it!

    I personally love this book I just started and I love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Best book yet!

    I personally think that this book is te best you can get. I just started today and I already have this book on my Nook!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good but boring

    I randomly picked this book up and after having it for a while I finally picked it up to read. Its hard for me to not like a book,I can normally pick up any kind of book and love it, but this one didn't really catch me. Its kinda boring. I enjoy the storyline and I like the idea of statues coming to life.
    Overall this book had it ups and downs and plenty of confusing parts.
    I probably will not read the rest of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A great book read by one of the best

    "Stoneheart" is one of the best books I've read and listened to this year. Charlie Fletcher has written an inventive page-turner and Jim Dale, one of the finest audio book readers, adds his usual flair to his reading. Even though this is considered a book for middle-grade readers, I have recommended this book to a number of adults who have enjoyed it as much as I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Ddxx

    Bdhsneksqsjdes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Jdjxj

    Awesome read before u rate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Dnt waste ur time

    Horrible! I tried reading this book 3 times and i never even got through half off it, its lack of action and slow plot completely ruin the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Great book!

    It was one of my favorite books! It's fast paced and leaves you wondering whats going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    SWEET

    This book was very good. but my favorite one had to be silvertounge. this book is about two kids in an upside down world of london.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4