Customer Reviews for

Stoneheart (The Stoneheart Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book Review of the book Stoneheart

Review of the Book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher

Have you ever tried to fix something but something else prevented you from fixing it? Well, that happened to the main character in the book Stoneheart. His name was George Chapman and his life was normal in a big hous...
Review of the Book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher

Have you ever tried to fix something but something else prevented you from fixing it? Well, that happened to the main character in the book Stoneheart. His name was George Chapman and his life was normal in a big house at London. As soon as the rich boy broke a dragon gargoyle's head everything changed, his life, his friends, and most importantly, his sight. After he broke the head he saw gargoyles and other statues made out of rock, metal, gold, and many more. Soon he was running with a statue called the Gunner and the Gunner told George to find the Black Friar. Will he find it or not..
Stoneheart is an exciting and a book that you just can't put down! This story is very adventurous and is a great book for adventure lovers, curious people, and people who love thrilling books. This whole book is good for schools because you can make lots of predictions. I recommend this book to people because this fantasy book proves that even fantasy can be fantastic!

posted by SilentRanger on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

The book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher is a fast pace adventure. It is a book filled with action. The book is for someone who enjoys action, adventure and the unexpected. It is about a boy named George, who breaks a stone carving in anger. Then suddenly finds himsel...
The book Stoneheart by Charlie Fletcher is a fast pace adventure. It is a book filled with action. The book is for someone who enjoys action, adventure and the unexpected. It is about a boy named George, who breaks a stone carving in anger. Then suddenly finds himself in a world of bronze men walking around and gargoyles chasing after him. He is not the only one to see this other world. Edie and others who were cursed by the stone can also see this world. In order to escape he must make amends for his troubles.
The book has a unique style of writing. At first the story happens fast, one thing after another, then the action starts to slow and it becomes easier to read. The book has many conflicts that become exposed after the pace starts to slow. The characters in the book are mostly human. They are confused by all the information being thrown at them. The author does such a great job in his writing that it makes the book thrilling. The book continues to add more and more plot twists and information. The way he writes it makes it easy to read. This book will keep you wanting to read to the end to find out if George and the others make it back to their world.

posted by orangecrush on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Happy to have discovered this series!

    Browsing the store, I came across this first book in a series. The cover attracted me. I loved its great character description and the draw to keep on reading clear to the end. The tween world is a fascinating idea. I am anxious to gest a copy of the next book in the trilogy. I highly recommend this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stoneheart is Great Beginning of a Trilogy

    "On a school trip to the Natural History Museum in London, a 12-year-old loner named George is banished for something he didn't do. Angry, he lashes out and breaks off a dragon's head carved onto the wall of the museum. Next thing he knows, a pterodactyl carving comes to life and begins to chase him."

    And so begins George's adventures in "unLondon." He is soon chased by many fanciful creatures come alive from stone statues. He first encounters Gunner, a statue of a World War I soldier, who helps to save the boy from the pterodactyl. The pair soon meet up with Edie, a "glint" with the power to see the past.

    In order for George to go back to the London he knows, the London where stone statues don't come to life, he must return the broken dragon's head to the Stone Heart. Gunner and Edie, plus a cast of other characters, help George in achieving his objective.

    In the beginning of the book, George is feeling sorry for himself because his father is dead and his mother barely has time for him. Edie is portrayed as a cold-hearted survivor who has always looked after herself. But during the course of their adventures through the unusual streets of London, their characters start to evolve.

    Some of the other interesting characters from the book are the Sphinxes who only give answers in riddles, the Clocker who continually marks the time, the Black Friar who tells them where the Stone Heart is, the Walker who is pure evil incarnate and the Minotaur who is part bull, part human and all bad. We also get glimpses of dragons and gargoyles. Fletcher has turned a collection of the actual statues around London into an astonishing assortment of personalities and monsters.

    Although marketed to children and young adults, I don't think I would recommend this for younger children mainly because of some of the scary and dangerous situations George and Edie encounter, but I highly recommend it for older children and teenagers, as well as adults like me who love young adult books. This is the first book in the Stoneheart Trilogy and as soon as I put the last period on this post, I'm ready to start Ironhand, the next book in the series. The final book is entitled Silvertongue.

    Charlie Fletcher is a British author and screenwriter. Stoneheart was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award in 2007. There is a movie in development for release in 2010.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Highly recommended

    The fictional novel, Stoneheart, by Charlie Fletcher is an amazing story with excitement and adventure. It takes place in modern London. Stoneheart begins by introducing the main character, George Chapman, and with George starting a war between statues; he breaks the head off of a statue of a dragon. George then meets the Gunner who is a spit; a spit is a statue of a person, the Gunner helps George a lot in the story. Next the Gunner and George meet Edie who is a glint; a glint is a person who can see the past. Then the trio meets the Sphinxes; which are mythical creatures that speak in riddles and the Sphinxes tell the trio that they must find the stoneheart and that the heartstone shall be their relief, the Sphinxes also tell them to find the dark shavelling. The Gunner then directs them to his friend, Dictionary who tells them that shavelling means monk or friar. George and Edie find and meet the Black Friar, who tells them "He has to climb the winding stair..". The Black Friar also tells them that it will be extremely painful if they do not find the stoneheart in time. So George climbs the winding stair and finds Edie's sea glass, which Edie had been carrying around the whole time, the sea glass was flaming and for some reason he touches it and sees the location of the stoneheart, but when he returns to tell Edie, she had disappeared but the Gunner is there and there is only an hour or two before it is too late!
    In the novel Stoneheart there were several positives but only a few negatives. One positive that I noticed was that the author has great imagination throughout the whole book because the whole novel is based on a story of statues of people, dragons, gargoyles and some others, coming to life. A second positive is that the novel is extremely detailed. One example of this is, "George looked up. A statue of a man in eighteenth century dress looked down at him, a bird perched incongruously on the top of a wig that in real life would have been powdered but now was peppered with pigeon splat." A third positive is George's personality because in the beginning of the novel he is shy and unconfident, but as the story progresses he becomes self-confident, brave, and bold. One of the negatives of the novel is that it was boring in some parts, for the first ninety pages or so, nothing exciting happened at all. Another negative is that the novel was disjointed in some parts, such as one minute the setting would involve George then the next would be of the Walker, a minor character in the story, at a different setting. A third negative is that the author was a little unclear about what was happening in some parts, such as the story would be going along when George is at his house and then it would talk about the Walker at a different time frame without any introduction. So I think that the novel Stoneheart had many positives, some that I didn't list, some negatives that make the story confusing.
    Thought this book was challenging I would definitely recommend Stoneheart for young adults and teens, because the main character is 12. I would highly recommend this novel because it is written with great imagination and it has a great plot, storyline. The story also has lots of action, such as when George, Edie, and the Gunner fight a dragon. Similar novels to Stoneheart are the second and third books of the trilogy Ironhand and Silvertongue. I have not read these novels but I intend to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A series that draws in the reader

    I enjoyed this book as the first in a series about two young children and a bunch of good or evil statues. The author develops the characters very well in these books and I enjoy the merging of British history with the storyline. The plot moves along in a non-predictable way that keeps the reader engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Read, but may not Completely Win the Reader's Heart

    "Stoneheart," by Charlie Fletcher is the first installment in the "Stoneheart" trilogy, soon to me made into a movie. Containing a good amount of action and adventure, this book is a good read, but may not completely win the reader's heart and stick in their mind forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Enjoyable reading

    While considered a 'teen' book, I found this to be quite enjoyable and similar in structure The Golden Compass series. Nothing real heady here, just an enjoyable venture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1