BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stonehenge

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

THE MYSTERY OF STONEHENGE EVERMORE!

'Stonehenge' is really quite interesting! From the human drama played out between brothers to the building techniques of the Sky Temple, Bernard Cornwell does an excellent job of writing about one of man's compelling architectural mysteries. I have always wondered how...
'Stonehenge' is really quite interesting! From the human drama played out between brothers to the building techniques of the Sky Temple, Bernard Cornwell does an excellent job of writing about one of man's compelling architectural mysteries. I have always wondered how the erectors of Stonehenge got those trilithons up; and although no one may ever know the answer for sure, Cornwell does write a plausible scenario. But what makes this book worth reading is not another theory on how Stonehenge was built, but the story and characters Cornwell offers up. It's a suspenseful and intriguing story filled with loyalty and betrayal, emotions of love and hatred, adventure, sorcery, and human achievement. I recommend this book for everyone, especially those who ever wondered about Stonehenge. It may be fictitious, but as far as I'm concerned, this account is what really happened some 4000 years ago. EnJOY!

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Valient Stab at a Dim Past

A very good read, if a bit long. Mr. Cornwell takes on the very difficult task of creating a complete and complex culture and religion from a time when we have pitifully little hard evidence to go on. Incorporating most of what recent archeologists and anthropologists ...
A very good read, if a bit long. Mr. Cornwell takes on the very difficult task of creating a complete and complex culture and religion from a time when we have pitifully little hard evidence to go on. Incorporating most of what recent archeologists and anthropologists have theorized he gives us a very entertaining read. If there is a disappointing area it is in his reach for technology with what is probably a far too sophisticated use of bronze and a highly unlikely use of oxen. His religious motiffs seem to borrow heavily from the much later Celts and what is probably a misplaced focus of blood sacrifice to a sun god in the late paleolithic. Overall, well worth the effort.

posted by Anonymous on April 9, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    THE MYSTERY OF STONEHENGE EVERMORE!

    'Stonehenge' is really quite interesting! From the human drama played out between brothers to the building techniques of the Sky Temple, Bernard Cornwell does an excellent job of writing about one of man's compelling architectural mysteries. I have always wondered how the erectors of Stonehenge got those trilithons up; and although no one may ever know the answer for sure, Cornwell does write a plausible scenario. But what makes this book worth reading is not another theory on how Stonehenge was built, but the story and characters Cornwell offers up. It's a suspenseful and intriguing story filled with loyalty and betrayal, emotions of love and hatred, adventure, sorcery, and human achievement. I recommend this book for everyone, especially those who ever wondered about Stonehenge. It may be fictitious, but as far as I'm concerned, this account is what really happened some 4000 years ago. EnJOY!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    A Valient Stab at a Dim Past

    A very good read, if a bit long. Mr. Cornwell takes on the very difficult task of creating a complete and complex culture and religion from a time when we have pitifully little hard evidence to go on. Incorporating most of what recent archeologists and anthropologists have theorized he gives us a very entertaining read. If there is a disappointing area it is in his reach for technology with what is probably a far too sophisticated use of bronze and a highly unlikely use of oxen. His religious motiffs seem to borrow heavily from the much later Celts and what is probably a misplaced focus of blood sacrifice to a sun god in the late paleolithic. Overall, well worth the effort.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    Oh, to live in 2000 BC . . . . . .

    If you liked the 'Clan of the Cave Bear' series, you'll probably like this book.It is a similar type of book. The characters were fairly well developed and the story moves along quickly. It has got its fair share of blood and gore, human sacrafice, etc. Having recently been to several archeological sites in Scotland, the physical descriptions rang true. Reading this makes you feel glad to live in 2000 AD rather than 2000 BC!!!!!! Don't skip the author's afterword - it is extremely interesting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    The book 'Stonehenge' is a good read.

    A good book, but Bernard Cornwell failed to mention the first stones brought to Stonehenge in the Late Neolithic Period from the South Wales Coalfield area. Stonehenge's first hauled stones, of course, are the white Early Carboniferous (Mississippian) Period, Arundian Age, High Tor (Birnbeck) Limestone Formation calcium carbonates of its original counterscarp bank (3/4's later moved to Heelstone ditch and Stonehenge's nearest barrow 100 metres east-southeast of Heelstone). These first transported stones overlay Stonehenge's geologic outcrop of white Late Cretaceous Period, Santonian Age, Seaford Chalk Formation calcium carbonates. Other than Bernard Cornwell not mentioning these Stonehenge Whitestones, as they are commonly referred to by BGS (British Geological Survey) geologists, the book 'Stonehenge' is a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    People of Stone

    If you like a story thats 'Just the facts' then you may like this tale of ancient religion and 3 brothers at odds. The plot is compelling and there is lots of it - but the major flaw is the lack of character for each person. The book spends pages describing the hut or stone or boat of someone - then spends 2 paragraphs on the death of a major character. People, like stone, serve as devices for the plot but never have a life or depth of their own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    A good story!

    This book was hard to put down. The story of three very different brothers involved in the building of Stonehenge moves right along. The possibility of how the stones might have been moved and the temple constructed is plausible. The three men are fairly stock characters - the ruthless leader, the fanatical religious, and the peace-loving good guy - and would probably be right at home dressed in expensive suits in a contemporary novel, but the tale is so well-told it doesn't really matter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    Wonderful

    Just finished this--a fabulous account of building the great circle of stones, an incredible human achievement, told here w/ great drama, using the rivalry betw. 3 brothers to advance the story. Forewarned is fore-armed: no Druids or UFOs here!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Strange scents...

    Lead you to fire and snow result three..

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It wasn't the page turner most of Mr. Cornwell's books are for me but ok

    @

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Hii

    This is great and amazing i wan thissoooooobbadt bbbbvthanks

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Cornwell makes the reader feel as if they are there! Stonehenge is another example of Cornwell's mastery of his craft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Worth a read.

    Pretty interesting. Hving seen the henges mentioned in this book, I can only say that much has to be speculated, but it makes for a decent novel. His characters come to life, as usual. Parts were a bit slow and somewhat predictable, any facts notwithstanding.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I was hoping for

    I've come to love the writings of Bernard Cornwell with the warlord series those books made me feel like I was right there and I have read the saxon tales and the archers tale books also I was so looking forward to reading stonehenge. I wanted to find out more about how where and when about that site but I came to find out that this book was dry and hard to keep me excided about the book. I found it was a hard read due to the dryness of the book. I couldn't connect with the lead characters. It was almost like hoping they would all die off just to get the book over and done with. Where it takes me about 6 days to read one of his books this one took me about a month. I can not in good mind recommend this book sorry. I am still a fan of Bernard Cornwell just did not like this book at all and I wanted so much to read it. Glad I did but also sorry I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    The Past comes to life...

    Cornwell has a wondeful ability to take the past and bring it to life. We all know there is a great mystery for the stone circles and in partciular, Stonehenge, and about the people that lived during that time. But Cornwell has taken a time period and given it a good shot at what it might have been like. Excellent read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I have enjoyed all of Cornwell's books, but by far this is honestly my favorite book. Cornwell's use of the theories from archaeology and anthropology to shape the events in his book; i.e. the methods of transporting the materials to build Stonehenge and also the purpose or meaning of Stonehenge, is absolutely amazing. However, the true beauty of this book is the way Cornwell creates a complex, believable culture and religion. The characterization was a bit dull, but the plot is suspenseful. Between the three brothers there is plenty of love/hate, loyalty/betrayal, human-potential and achievement. I could not put this book down and I HIGHLY recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another great one

    Bernard Cornwell strikes again. This is another in a long line of great historical novels. And Mr. Cornwell brings life to the history of this time. I've gotten to the point where I don't wonder whether a Bernard Cornwell book will be worth reading or not. I just pick it up and start reading. I've yet to be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    A trip back in time

    It's not necessary to have visited Stonehenge to enjoy Cornwell's projection of what life was like during the days of the monument's construction. The characters were interesting and the plot suspenseful. Most intriguing was Cornwell's inclusion in the plot of the latest anthropological and archaeological theories as to the purpose and design of Stonehenge as well as the method of transport of the huge megaliths and construction. I find Cornwell's books a reliable read and this was no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Another Great Book

    Great book! But what else can you expect from Bernard Cornwell!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Boring

    This book was a bore! I love Bernard Cornwell's other works. I've read about half the Sharpe books (still working on these) and Gallows Thief. These are great, but Stonehenge is Cornwell at his worst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    Stonehenge, 4,000 years in the writing

    I was foolish enough to tell my husband he could read this first, since I had other books and could wait. Instead, I found it very difficult to concentrate on my books when he kept saying 'You're Going To Love This Book!' He Was Right! I've read lots of books about Stonehenge, from historical, descriptive and analytical to fiction and fantasy. This was the first one that actually went to the trouble of investigating all the different circles that culminated with the Stonehenge we see today. To then create a nearly completely plausible story and character set around that research is a daunting task, which Bernard Cornwell has surmounted brilliantly. There are some 'stock' characters, blood and gore, and I don't agree completely with all the actions of the characters, especially near the end, but they are tiny annoyances compared to the vast enjoyment I got from this book. It is a fine addition to the world of Neolithic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3