Customer Reviews for

The Stonekeeper (Amulet Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

When their father dies, Emily and Navin must move with their mot

When their father dies, Emily and Navin must move with their mother to a run-down house in the middle of nowhere - an inheritance from a great uncle they've never met. On their first night in the disturbing old house, their mother is  kidnapped by a gigantic squid-thing...
When their father dies, Emily and Navin must move with their mother to a run-down house in the middle of nowhere - an inheritance from a great uncle they've never met. On their first night in the disturbing old house, their mother is  kidnapped by a gigantic squid-thing and the kids must rescue her with the help of a talking amulet that they've found in a dusty room. 




I read this because my nephew really loved it, and he's a very reluctant reader. I can see why he liked it - there's lots of pretty pictures and very few words. It's a book appropriate for middle-graders both in vocabulary and in plot. It was a cute, fast read, and I'm sure I'll read the rest in the series. However, it's not a book that would appeal to me for any other reason than bonding with my nephew. The premise and plot are simply too unsophisticated to be of much interest to most older kids or adults. On the other hand, the book seems to be VERY popular with the younger crowd, and I highly recommend The Stonekeeper for reluctant readers. 

posted by Patito_de_Hule on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Lopsided storytelling: Amazing artwork, not so interesting story

I have to say that the artwork in The Stonekeeper is absolutely breathtaking.

However, from a storytelling perspective, the timing and pace feels weird (from car crash to weird house invested with monsters within pages of each other) and themes that make the series ...
I have to say that the artwork in The Stonekeeper is absolutely breathtaking.

However, from a storytelling perspective, the timing and pace feels weird (from car crash to weird house invested with monsters within pages of each other) and themes that make the series feel like a weird mish-mash of Lord of the Rings (complete with Gollum, exact likeness but with another name) and Hayao Miyazaki animation films.

Unfortunately, it doesn't seem like the author gives the reader a chance to get an idea of what each character's unique personality's are like before they are abruptly thrown into a series of problems, some just plain weird. Again, from a narrative perspective, I lost interest really fast and I found myself not really caring at all about the characters or what was going to happen to them.

However, that said, I DID find myself turning the next page just to admire the artistry and breathtaking illustration. There were a few times where I stopped and stared in awe of some of the scenery, which does a fabulous job of setting the mood. Adding in sound effects would have made the world more believable, but still the coloring and painting do a good job on its own.

I think if The Stonekeeper had fixed some of the narrative problems and added more detail in areas like character development and timing, I would have been completely enthralled.

posted by NiciGrigg on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great fun, feels familiar

    I am a pre-service Middle School teacher (still in college) and have used this graphic novel to great success with middle school students. I wanted to get students more interested in reading and this was the best piece to do the job; Not to mention, I myself loved it. I've read through the first four and pre-ordered the 5th. I'm hooked! :)

    My only complaint: It feels like a copy-cat of The Spiderwick Chronicles. But, Spiderwick is great and kids love it.

    The experience, once you get past the Spiderwick-ness, is unique and one of the best available graphic novels for kids. See my "personal favorites" for other kids' graphic novels I've read and loved.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Loved it

    This was a gift for my Grand daughter and she was very excited to get it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    You have to read this incredibly amazing book !

    My name is nicholas and I'm 10 years old . This book showed true feeling . It is incredible how that one stone has so much power within . Also the power it has allows it to mess with the keepers mind to take full control of it's vessel so it can cause total chaos . I could not help it but keep reading . I would recommend this book to every one I know .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Awesome book!!

    My 9yr old son and I both love this series! Very good story, awesome pics!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    AMULET: FROM A KID'S POINT

    This series is the best yet.I just wish that there were more books because I am on book number three almost to book number four!I read all of them one after another.These books are sort of a mystery and I like mysteries.I also like it because the Amulet can talk to Emily and how she is trying to master it's powers.I recommend this whole series if you want to buy your child something that they would like especially if they like mysteries. I also recommend this series to parents (to read) who like mysteries and fantasies and very little violence. (This review was written by my 9 yr old granddaughter, KND.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    A gateway to manga

    This well american manga is a perfect book for newcomers to manga, full of beautiful colors and details opening the reader to an emotional story full of adventure into a mysterious world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Amulet

    Great comic for kids. It is so interesting because of all the fantasy and the suspense of what might happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Any Age Read

    Good old fashion adventure to another world with family along. Simple and detailed artwork this has a nice speed story line with PLOT! It starts out on a sad note and works its way into your mind ('cause as soon as I started reading I couldn't put the book down...and it's not just the artwork that I found myself staring at but the smooth and easy to read story really kept my attention the whole time).

    Granted, some people may not care for the book because of it's circles around a preteen girl and family, but hey! How do you know that you won't like the book until you pick it up and I seriously mean it when I say "any age"...I can still see myself reading this series way into my old age and I'm only 21!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Check out this Book, you will not be able to put it down.

    This book is great for children and adults, it has adventure and trills that keeps you on the edge of your seat. I read the first book and could not wait to get to read the second book. Children will like this book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    best book so far

    when i was reading bone by jeff smith i looked in the back and i saw a cover of amulet.i borrowed it from the library and started to read.i waited eagerly for the second book.when the second book came out i bought it from barnes and nobles.the second book is much more exciting and more thrilling.now im waiting for the third book to come out.i recommend this to everyone.not just kids but to adults too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    8 Year Old loves this book!

    This book is good because it is fun and easy to read. It is very interesting. I really liked the battle at the end. I can't wait to read the next book! By Shane, 8 Years old, Illinois

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Amulet

    This book will look stupid at first... .But as you read it will will love it but i will recommend it for atleast 5-12 grades because you will find BLOOD yes BLOOD. I did not know that this kind of book has blood. Any way it is like a comic so if you mostly like no pictures books i do not think you will like this book


    5 Stars
    very cool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Aesome

    This is a good book for all ages This is not a very educational but it is a very thrilling and exciting book for young readers especially

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story!

    I finished this book in one day. the story is wonderful. it makes you want to cry but the action is fantastic. i highly recommend it to anyone who like fantasy and adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Michaela Pallante aka "Mickey" for TeensReadToo.com

    After the tragic death of their father, Emily and her brother, Navin, move with their mother to a new town to start a brand new life. Their new house is very old and has been in their family for years. Emily is very interested by this old house, particularly one room upstairs in which she finds a beautiful necklace with a very pretty stone in it. <BR/><BR/>Emily's cool find is soon overshadowed by a very strange first night in the house. After hearing noises in the basement, their mother is kidnapped by a strange creature. <BR/><BR/>Emily and Navin, with the help of Emily's stone necklace, now have to find their mother and figure out what is going on in this strange new town. <BR/><BR/>THE STONEKEEPER, the first in the AMULET series, is a quick yet enjoyable read, set up in graphic novel form. The main characters are easy to relate to, and the supporting characters are serious but amusing at the same time. The storyline is interesting and leaves you wanting to know more. <BR/><BR/>Kids will love seeing people their own age as strong and independent main characters. Emily and Navin are definitely role model material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    -amazing-

    i absolutely loved this book! it was such a great story i couldnt put it down...i finished it in 1 day. im still craving for # 2, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    I love Manga!

    I normally read manga, but this book moved just as fast! It has lots of action and a good storyline. I hope they publish the next one soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    One of my most favorite books ever!

    This book is so cool.Im still waiting for book 2.I totally recomend this book to young readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    AMAZING!!!!!!!

    I love this book!!! I just could not put it down till i was finished! The end of the book was surprizing. I've been searching for the second one but i cant seem to find it...im starting to think their is no second book?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    AWSOME and BEST

    This book is cool im typing this because im looking for book 2.I didnt exspect watt happened to happen.its a mystery and advanter the 2 main thing i like to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2