Customer Reviews for

Stop Dragon My Heart Around

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    WHY? (1) the characters: heroine, Tee, is Native American, which

    WHY?
    (1) the characters: heroine, Tee, is Native American, which is rare to find in a modern romance novel, not to mention paranormal romances. Ms. Scott does an outstanding job preserving the cultural and ethnic spirit of tribal identity. Tee is smart, brave, earthy, and electric.
    Hero Leo is Tee's boss. His passion for Tee surprises him and is problematic in more ways than one. Tee is in for big surprises, too, when Leo, rather than her beloved and trusted family members, saves her life.

    (2) The plot: Tee’s loyalty to her people and love for Leo tears her apart, yet Leo’s fierce passion is force that continually knits them together despite ensuing disaster and family divides.
    In all, the novel packs a solid punch of action and drama but, as Tee's mystical roots wrap around Leo's uncontrollable dragon heart, it is the smoke and lightening -- the sheer poetry -- of the love story that will stick with you.

    A rich and thrilling read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book in the series and it doesn't disappoint.

    This is the second book in the series and it doesn't disappoint. If you like romance, dragons or off the chart chemistry this book is for you. That Leo would give up everything for her shows how much he loved her. The way Susannah describes things it makes them so easy to see, hear and smell. I loved everything about this book! I can't wait to read more in this series. Read this series you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lucky Leprechaun underwear ironed? Check. Gold plated hearin

    Lucky Leprechaun underwear ironed? Check.




    Gold plated hearing aids? Check.




    Pink doggy booties, times four? Check.




    Tee is Vegas's favorite casino hostess, ready to grant her high rollers their every quirky wish. But when her own wish to financially help her Paiute Tribe finally comes true, she decides to double-down with lady luck and go for a hot hook-up with her sexy boss, Leo. Unfortunately, Tees about to find out why their romance is such a long shot—Leo is a shape-shifting dragon.




    Leo needs a proper dragon mate to save his waning dragon form, and despite their magnetic sexual attraction, he knows Tee is anything but proper—or a dragon. But when threats arise from Tee's tribe, Leos protective instincts kick in. Can he give up his dragon form for the woman he loves—even if it means shortening his life? Or has Tee finally had enough of having her heart dragged around?




    Review:




    Poor Tee, everyone is keeping secrets from her.  




    In this second book about the  dragons who own the Crown Jewel Casino.  In this installment we get to view the romance between Tee and Leo.  Now, this is the second book, but they are stand alone books, though we do get to read about those we meet in the first book and we get to see Lucy and Alec again near the end of this story.




    Tee has been in major lust for Leo since she meet him and has decided to wage Operation Leo, to get Leo on the same program once and for all.  Leo is being super stubborn about his feelings and wants to find a dragon mate to carry on his line and because Tee does not have the mate mark on her hand he has a big decision to make.   Once Leo decides to give into his feelings and finds out some happy news.




    Meanwhile, Tee's father is the chief of the Paiute tribe and there are big internal struggles going on there, which because of her father's secret puts Tee right in the middle of the conflict.




    I love the premise of these stories and really enjoy Ms. Scott's writing style.  The story is both entertaining and engaging.  Tee is great, not only is she Native American (which you do not see often enough) but she is real.  Like, when she finds out Leo and others are dragons, she is scared, mad and hurt, which are all things most of us would feel in a similar situation.  Leo is a big ol' hunky Australian dragon, with a sexy accent, but he is also conflicted over family duties and following his heart.  For those who want more than romance there is is plenty of action and conflict in this story too.




    Another great story!  I cannot wait to see what happens with the Dragons!




    4.5 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    In this second installment in Susannah Scott's Dragon Shifters s

    In this second installment in Susannah Scott's Dragon Shifters series, readers are once again whisked away to Las Vegas and the Crown Jewel Casino. This time, we follow Tee, a Native American casino hostess, as she lusts after her boss, Leo.




    The conflict is established right away: Tee wants Leo, and Leo wants Tee, but he needs to find his dragon mate to save his waning dragon form. He can't waste time with a human, no matter how sexy she is or how much he wants her. 




    I was rooting for this seemingly-doomed relationship from the start. I loved watching Leo try to resist Tee and lose. LOL. The sub-plot was interesting and well-woven, and the romance was steamy and enticing. 4.5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    I fell in love with Ms. Scott's Las Vegas Dragon tales in Luck o

    I fell in love with Ms. Scott's Las Vegas Dragon tales in Luck of the Dragon, so I was looking forward to the next read. And let me tell you Scott didn't disappoint. The sexual tension between Leo and Tee was off the charts. I enjoyed how she was able to work the character's backstory into a thoroughly exciting romantic read. Stop Dragon My Heart Around is a fast, fun, thrilling, and oh so sexy read. This is definitely a series YOU DO NOT want to miss out on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This takes place in the same world as Luck of the Dragon but can

    This takes place in the same world as Luck of the Dragon but can be read stand alone.  What happens in Vegas… doesn’t hold true if you live and work there.  Leo loves Tee and she loves him but he is her boss and unbeknownst to her a dragon shifter.  He is torn between wanting Tee and waiting to find his dragon mate.  So they have this push me pull you relationship until Tee’s world is turned upside down and Leo introduces her to his dragon.  Action, adventure, mystery and a whole lot of Vegas silliness.  There is a great supporting cast and I hope to read their stories soon.
    I received a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A top-notch story Stop Dragon My Heart Around is the perfect bl

    A top-notch story

    Stop Dragon My Heart Around is the perfect blend of sizzling romance, yummy dragon shifters, danger and intrigue. This is Susannah Scott’s second book featuring a group of dragon shifters who own and operate the opulent Crown Jewel Hotel and Casino on the ritzy Las Vegas strip.

    The characters will find their way into your heart. Our hero, dragon lieutenant Leonidas “Leo” Ryan, is every woman’s dream. He’s Australian and often mistaken for Chris Hemsworth’s Thor character. Leo utterly stole my heart. I want him! Leo fights his attraction to Tee because if he followed his heart and chose to be with Tee without his mate’s mark, Leo’s dragon would not survive. I loved watching Leo try to resist Tee.

    Our heroine, Tallulah “Tee” Alameda, is a Native American from the Paiute Tribe. Tee works as a high-roller host for the Crown Jewel. As a host, Tee caters to her gambler clients and competes with other hosts for bonuses. The competition is brutal. Tee lives off the reservation but devotes most of her earnings towards increasing the educational opportunities on the reservation where her father is the Chief. Tee dreams of being with Leo but he sends her mixed signals. One minute he’s passionately kissing her, cupping her buttocks or fondling her leg under her skirt and the next, he’s nowhere to be found. I laughed out loud when Tee fancied asking him: “Are ya glad to see me, or is that a roll of poker chips in your pants?” When Tee said she “has a plan” to break through Leo’s defenses, memories of the A-Team came to my mind. Hannibal used to refer to their plan at the conclusion of many an A-Team TV show when he would say: “I love it when a plan comes together.” My premonition said that Leo was in deep trouble.

    One of my favorite scenes involved Tee’s reaction when she found out that dragons were in charge of the casino: “The dragons live in the casino? Tee’s eyes widened and alarm coursed through her. My God, it’s like the Rocky Horror Picture Show.”

    It was obvious that the author diligently researched the Las Vegas environs and brought that realism to her book. The heroine’s Native American heritage figured prominently in the story as the plot delved into tribal traditions, what constitutes a tribe, the socioeconomic difficulties faced by the tribes, and the dichotomy between tribal traditions and progress.

    Before I read this book, I thought that a whale was a large marine mammal. Now I know that a whale is also another term for a high roller in the casino industry. These whales receive lavish “comps” from the casinos to lure them onto the gambling floors. Salaries of employees often contain incentive arrangements to bring in high rollers. Hosts compete for and steal clients from other hosts and strive to lure whales away from other casinos enticing them with “comps.” Wow!

    Stop Dragon My Heart Around can be read as a standalone but I suggest reading the 1st book first. Luck of the Dragon was the author’s debut novel and a very enjoyable read. Many of the characters make appearances in both books. Reading them in order would enhance your enjoyment of both books.

    Bottomline: The author’s writing is top-notch. The word building and character development are first rate. The love scenes are super sexy but tasteful. If you are looking for a fun romance with smokin’ hot chemistry and a happy ever after that will leave your face sore from smiling, then look no further than Stop Dragon My Heart Around.

    -Reviewed by Linda Townsend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    I received a gift copy of this book in exchange for an honest re

    I received a gift copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. What is a girl to do when she knows deep down that she has met the love of her life but he keeps pulling away for reasons unknown? What’s a dragon to do when he knows soul  deep that he has found his fated mate but the signs are just not there? These are just a few of the things Tee and Leo have to face in their relationship. Tee has loved Leo forever and Leo wants nothing more than to be with Tee but doesn't want to let down his family. He knows he has to tell Tee about himself but is afraid she will reject him. He is willing o give up everything for her but will she still love him once she finds out the truth? Tee faces problems of her own as well. Will they find a way to be together or will they forever live their lives knowing they let the ONE get away? Gotta read the book to find out it is AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    Leo is part owner of a casino. He's hot, sexy and a dragon.

    Leo is part owner of a casino. He's hot, sexy and a dragon. Tee is the casion's best hostess who plans "over the top events" for the high rollers. She's had a major crush on Leo since he stole her away from a rival casino. Tee is Native American and even though her father is the chief, she never felt like she fit in with the tribe...she donates some of her pay to try and help better educate the children of the reservation.
    Leo also desires Tee but he needs to find his dragon mate or he will start to lose his dragon form. He fights his attraction to Tee because he doesn't see the "dragon" mark on her hand where he expects to see it. Both Leo and Tee fight their attraction but when they do give in to each other they are very hot...and Leo discovers Tee is his mate.
    Leo and Tee are combustible together. They have some problems to overcome and Tee finds out no one is who she thought they were...she's kidnapped and comes to realize what is really important to her.
    This is a stand alone book....although its part of a series...and now I need to read the first one and will have to impatiently wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    This riveting dragon read keeps readers on the edge of their sea

    This riveting dragon read keeps readers on the edge of their seats and tingling in anticipation. I love the wonderful dragonshifter world that the author created, Dragons in Las Vegas, in a casino, who would think to look for them there.  Certainly arouses my curiosity, I might have to take a trip to Vegas soon. The author paints such a vibrant picture of these dragons and their world that I was totally captivated by them and I can’t wait to read the next one.

    See my full review at: The Romance Reviews .com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Almost a year ago Susannah brought us her first dragon-shifter i

    Almost a year ago Susannah brought us her first dragon-shifter in Luck of the Dragon and I was impress with the story. We finally get Stop Dragon My Heart Around which is book two in her series. I thought I like dragon-shifters before, but I think I'm in love with them. Actually, I think I'm  in love with Leo. There were a few things that made me love Leo, but when he tells Tee

    "My dragon is a part of me. If I lost my dragon form, it would be like a part of me died." Leo scooted to the exit of the tent and then looked back at her. "I had already decided I give up my form for you, before I knew you were my mate. If that's the only way we can be together, I'll do it."

    I seriously melted for Leo. I wanted to cry, because that's the sweetest thing a guy to say to a girl.

    Anyway, Stop Dragon My Heart Around actually had more going on than the book blurb mention. Yes, most of the story has Leo trying to figure out if he wants to find his mate or going after Tee and giving up the dragon. We also have Tee needing to come to terms to some secrets that are reveal about her family and how she will handle them. Plus, there's conflict within the tribe that could effect her status in the tribe.

    Honestly, Leo won me over, by his willingness to do anything for Tee. Seriously, love that guy. I mean he has to shoulder a lot of responsibility with keeping the peace all around him. Tee, I have to say handled her situation well and I was glad she was willing accept the things that can't be change. Yes, I did love Stop Dragon My Heart Around and I believe it's better than the first book. I can't wait to see what happens with the next set of dragons. I did like the fact that Susannah gave hint on who the next couple will be at the end. So, if you are looking for a dragon-shifter, you might consider Stop Dragon My Heart Around. By the way, the story can be read as a stand alone, because the story focuses more on Leo, Tee and the Paiute Tribe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    Title: Stop Dragon My Heart Around Author: Susannah Scott Publis

    Title: Stop Dragon My Heart Around
    Author: Susannah Scott
    Publisher: Entangled Covet
    Published: 4-28-2014
    ISBN: 9781622665600
    E-Book ASIN: B00JI12A3W
    Pages: 174
    Genre: Romance
    Tags: Paranormal, Contemporary, Shifters, Dragons
    Sensual Level:
    Overall Rating: Excellent
    Reviewed For: NetGalley, Entangled
    Reviewer: DelAnne


    Leonidas "Leo" Ryan and Tallulah "Tee" Alameda have been avoiding their attraction for one anther since the day they met. Leo as a lieutenant in the dragon den that owns and operates the Crown Jewel Casino. No matter how much he wants is Tee he must continue his search for his true mate and since Tee does not carry his mark it is not her. Tee, casino hostess and daughter of the Chief of the local Paiute Tribe, has decided to it is time to go after Leo full throttle. So she sets up a time and opportunity to get him alone and seduce him. Secrets are being kept from Tee by everyone. Secrets that can destroy her trust and love in those close to her. When secrets are revealed can Tee forgive them?


    This is the second in Susannah Scott's series and is easily read as a stand alone. It is fast paced and filled with humor and lively dialog. Throw in a great romance story and characters that are jumping off the pages with personality and vitality and you have a book that is destined to be one of your all time favorites. I love shifter romances and "Stop Dragon My Heart Around" only re-enforced that love.


    I have yet to read book 1, "Luck Of The Dragon", but that is an omission I hope to rectify soon. You will find Ms. Scott's books a delight to read. Pick up a copy for yourself soon to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    Stop Dragon My Heart Around is the second book in this wonderful

    Stop Dragon My Heart Around is the second book in this wonderful series but can be read as a standalone. Tee is a casino hostess for the high rollers making sure they get whatever they want no matter how weird or crazy and yes they are that. Tee finally succeeds in helping her Tribe, the Paiute and now wants her other wish to come true, being with her hot and sexy boss. Unfortunately, Leo is being difficult. Leo know that Tee is his mate but is doing his best to stay away from her even if that means losing his dragon. So much fun and lots of action. Looking forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Tee is the most successful casino hostess in Las Vegas, but that

    Tee is the most successful casino hostess in Las Vegas, but that hasn't given her the happiness she wants. She feels frustrated. She is in love with her boss, Leonidas Ryan. Does he feel the same? Why is he sending her mixed signals. Leo wants Tee forever. Can he tell her that he is a dragon shifter? Susannah Scott has created amazing characters in Tee and Leo. Their heated sexual tension sets the stage for this smartly written story. It's a great combination of romance and mystery. Leo is a perfect hero with his potent mix of passion and tenderness. Tee is a strong, caring woman who won't give up on love. What we have is an entertaining battle of wills that kept me riveted. The bright lights of Las Vegas and the sandstone cliffs of the desert are a perfect backdrop for their passionate romance. The dialogue is great and the action is non-stop with some surprising twists and turns. Stop Dragon My Heart Around is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Susannah Scott has given us another fantastic story in this seco

    Susannah Scott has given us another fantastic story in this second book in the Las Vegas Dragons series. This is a very enjoyable read about dragons running casinos in Vegas right under the noses of humans without being detected. I highly recommend this series if you like a good paranormal romance. This book can be read as a standalone, but I recommend reading the series so you can meet all of the characters in this series. 

    Tee is the favorite hostess in the Crown Jewel Casino. She takes care of every request from her high rollers personally, and most of them will only go to her when then are visiting the casino. She has work hard to secretly support her Paiute Tribe with the money for their school, and soon her dreams will come true when she gives them the biggest donation she ever has. She has also decided to finally go after Leo, the one man she has loved for years but never been with. 

    Leo needs to find his mate as soon as possible to keep his dragon form. He has strong feelings for Tee, but he knows she is not his true mate. He does not want to hurt her, but she does not have his mark that will prove she is his mate. When Tee’s life is threatened while visiting her tribe, Leo does whatever is necessary to protect her. The sexual tension builds while he is keeping her safe, but is it enough to make him give up his dragon to spend his life loving her? 

    I received a copy of this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1