Customer Reviews for

Stop Pretending: What Happened when My Big Sister Went Crazy

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Wow

    Again HAPPYBIRTHDAY to anyone whose birthday it is i rekamend this book lol omg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Zigg

    Zig zag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Good book

    This book was so great i had stayed up all night cause i couldnt sleep so i bought a bunch of books to keep my mind off things and read and finished it in like two hours and went to sleep after that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Stop Pretending

    In my Literature class we read the "Stop Pretending" by: Sonya Sones. I felt that this book was a very interesting book; the little girl 'Cookie' express how she felt when her sister first became sick and how her sister was acting while going through her bipolar disease. Her parents always argued; basically they were stressed because they had to take are of what their daughter was going through with her bipolar disease. She told how her friends turned against her when she told them. Then this boy came along that she liked named John, and it took her a long time to tell him that her sister was "crazy" and that she had to be put in the hospital. But she finally had the courage to tell and she took him to go meet her sister. Cookie thought that John wasn't going to like her but he accepted her sister for who she was; he knew she was sick but he didn't care. Cookie was in love with John!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Deep and Beautiful

    Once again, Sonya Sones has created a great story that moves along through poems. It ended too soon, though, and I feel like the end could have been stretched out or elaborated a little more. Other than that, I would recommend this book to girls who like to think. This book was about a girl dealing with her sister's mental condition and how her life is affected because of it. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    INsanE

    Stop pretending was a very good book! It starts out where this family is pretty much perfect the sisters got along great and so did the family! Then they take a complete turn around not for the good either! Sister becomes very ill and ends up in a psychiatric ward because she says she hears voices. The parents start paying more attention to the sick sister and the other one feels alone and doesnt understand whats going on! I cant say i wouldnt know how to deal with going from perfect family having friends to losing everything! Because I have it just takes sometime to heal things and everything heals with time! Just like this family! Of course they come together its a great book and I can say i can relate to it in a way!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Another Great book by Sonya Sones!!!

    I have once again read another great book by Sonya Sones. This one isn't as good as One of those Hideous Books Where The Mother Dies and What My Mother Doesn't Know but it was still good. It is a poem book (of course)and it is about a girl whose sister has a breakdown and has to go to a Mental Hospital. Things aren't the same between her parents and her and her with her sister. She goes to visit her sister often but they can't talk like they used to. The girl has to learn how to deal with her sister being crazy, freindsships and boyfriends along with her parents too. I reccommend this book to girls who have loved Sonya's others books and if you haven't read her books it a great book for girls who like to read about young girls and their problems.I hoped this helped for anyone who is planning to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    The feelings you don't have to wait to feel when you are already the crazy sister...

    I personally loved this book, not only because i love reading poems but because i'm a middle child. I can imagine my sefl losing one of my sisters. This book applied to me and help me find some kind of hope for my own situation. you don't have to be crazy or wait until someone loose their mind to find exactly the point where thigs can get better. Hope is something that this girl never loose, but if she were to leave her sister then she will be leaving her hope behind. There's always a lesson to learn and in this case is a pretty good one, so don't miss out!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Simply Insane

    I first heard of this book from a friend. We were going to do a small section of the book for Oral Language. But we decided in the end not to do that particular piece. After many, many months, I was digging thru some old junk and found the a part of the piece. It was only one page, but after reading it...I was addicted to it. Haha...then I finally decided to just buy the book. After I read the whole thing, I loved it. It makes one think. Two thumbs up for this novel-in-verse. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Stop Pretending: What Happened when My Big Sister Went Crazy

    Stop Pretending is a great book. It was based on a true story & I say it would be a very inspirational book for people who have a family issue. The book can be disturbing to a certain point depending on the reader. I think this boook could be read by 6th graderes & up, it is easy to read so I think 6th-9th & maybe 10th.Stop Pretending is a true story based on the experiences a girl had when her older sister went crazy. I would definetly recommend this book to everyone! I would give it 4 stars!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Stop Pretending: What Happened when My Big Sister Went Crazy

    Stop Pretending is a book directed towards a young teen audience. It was inspired by actual events that happened to the author's older sister. This book is about a 13-year-old girl whose 19-yr-old sister goes crazy, and how her family is trying to deal with her illness. This is a book about acceptance and understanding of a family and learning to love even through troubles. This book was written entirely with poetry. A form of writing that can be very difficult to write so that others can understand the meaning and what your're trying to express. I recommend this book to anyone hoping to understand manic depression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    This is my opinion

    I read this book for the first time in my reading class. At first there were some pretty confusing poems, but once I put thought into it they were realated to life pretty well. I know for sure that I will be reading this book to my younger sister or to my mom, because it relates very well to my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Stop Pretending: What Happened when My Big Sister Went Crazy

    ONE THING THAT IS GOOD ABOUT THIS BOOK IS THAT THERE IS A CRAZY GIRL. MOSTLY GIRLS SHOULD READ IT BUT I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Stop Pretending: What Happened when My Big Sister Went Crazy

    I love this book.I will charish this book forever.After the first poem I couldn't put the book down. The poems in the book are amazing and touch the soul. I recomend that everybody should read this book. great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    Worth Reading!

    Stop Pretending, by Sonya Sones was about a 12 year old girl, Cookie, and her 19 year old sister who was in a mental hospital. It¿s written in poem form and each poem is a different topic. The main character is Cookie and is about how she copes with her sister¿s problem. Her parents fight because of her sister who at times doesn¿t recognize anyone even herself. It kept me reading and I couldn¿t put the book down. The ending was the best part but you are going to have to read it to find out why. Even though it¿s short, it¿s worth reading. Angie B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    GREAT!

    This book is an emotional tornado of emotions--unique and individual. I loved the style it was written in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2