BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stop Teaching Our Kids to Kill: A Call to Action Against TV, Movie and Video Game Violence

Average Rating 2.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Right On

After reading this book I would make it required reading for every parent with small children. Working with many children and being in the law enforcement community I see the results of media violence firsthand. Dave Grossman is right on and backs up his statements wi...
After reading this book I would make it required reading for every parent with small children. Working with many children and being in the law enforcement community I see the results of media violence firsthand. Dave Grossman is right on and backs up his statements with hard cold facts. A must read book.

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Perfect example of victimization

This book completely ignores studies and statistics. Rather than blaming irresponsible parents or retailers, it blames the gaming and movie industries. This is like blaming Islam for fundumentalist and extremist Muslims. Rather than blaming those who are truly responsib...
This book completely ignores studies and statistics. Rather than blaming irresponsible parents or retailers, it blames the gaming and movie industries. This is like blaming Islam for fundumentalist and extremist Muslims. Rather than blaming those who are truly responsible for youth violence, this book blames creators of these games, movies and shows. They are rated by their content, and games rated M (most, if not all games mentioned in the book are) and movies rated R (again, mentioned in this book) should be sold only to those over the age of 17, and parents should monitor what their children do and do not play/watch. 'Stop Teaching Our Kids to Kill: A Call to Action against TV, Movie and Video Game Violence' is extremely hypocritical, uses these industries as a scapegoat, teaches its readers not to take responsibility for their actions, and gives parents an excuse for their poor parenting and, in some cases, total failures to parent their children.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    A Perfect example of victimization

    This book completely ignores studies and statistics. Rather than blaming irresponsible parents or retailers, it blames the gaming and movie industries. This is like blaming Islam for fundumentalist and extremist Muslims. Rather than blaming those who are truly responsible for youth violence, this book blames creators of these games, movies and shows. They are rated by their content, and games rated M (most, if not all games mentioned in the book are) and movies rated R (again, mentioned in this book) should be sold only to those over the age of 17, and parents should monitor what their children do and do not play/watch. 'Stop Teaching Our Kids to Kill: A Call to Action against TV, Movie and Video Game Violence' is extremely hypocritical, uses these industries as a scapegoat, teaches its readers not to take responsibility for their actions, and gives parents an excuse for their poor parenting and, in some cases, total failures to parent their children.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    Stop Teaching Our Kids to Kill: A Call to Action Against TV, Movie and Video Game Violence

    First, ask yourself this: 'What causes heart disease?' Well, many things cause heart disease: diet, obesity, stress and genetics just to name a few. Now, if you add tobacco to these other, existing factors, you will get an explosion of heart disease. So what causes violent crime? Many things cause violent crime: child abuse, availability of weapons, poverty, drugs and gangs to name just a few. Now, if you add TV, movie and video game violence to these other existing factors, you will get an explosion of violent crime. (According to the AMA, the APA, the Surgeon General, the American Academy of Pediatrics, the National Institute of Mental Health, and the United Nations. Read this book and see!) Now, imagine that we all worked together to bring down heart disease. Our whole nation spent billions of dollars and we dieted, reduced cholesterol, exercised, and reduced stress, and by doing this we brought down heart disease a little bit. Then imagine if, after all this effort, when we brought heart disease down, the tobacco industry said: 'See, heart disease is going down, so how can you say that tobacco causes heart disease?' That would be pretty sick, and pretty sad, wouldn't it? But that is exactly what the media is doing. We have all worked together to bring down violent crime. Our whole nation spent billions of dollars and: -Incarcerated violent criminals at a per capita rate five times greater than before. -Put cops and metal detectors in schools throughout America. -Cut per capita drug use in half. -Began to confronted child abuse after centuries of denial. -Began to lock guns up to keep them away from kids. And then, when we brought violent crime down, the violence industry said: 'See, violent crime is coming down, so how can you claim that TV, movie and video game violence causes violent crime?' THAT is pretty sick, and pretty sad, isn't it? If you ask the tobacco industry about the link between tobacco and cancer and heart disease, what will they say? They will deny it. In the face of the AMA and the Surgeon General, for decades, they brought out their tame researchers, their stooge scientists on a leash, and tried to claim that you could not prove tobacco causes cancer. Now, if you ask the TV, movie and video game industry about the link between their violent products and violent crime, what will they say? They will deny it. In the face of AMA, the APA, and the Surgeon general, they will bring out their tame researchers, their stooge scientists on a leash, and try to claim that you cannot prove media violence causes violent crime. Pretty sad, huh? But do we really think that the entertainment executives are any different from the tobacco executives? It is all about money. Read this book and see for yourself. Pay particular attention to the 'Chronology of Major Finding about Media Violence' on page 132. It will make you angry at the 'researchers' who try to refute the AMA and the Surgeon General warnings on media violence.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    Stop Teaching Our Kids to Kill: A Call to Action Against TV, Movie and Video Game Violence

    One of the authors of this book (Lt. Col. Grossman, a retired Army Ranger and West Point Psychology professor) testified before the U.S. House and Senate, was cited by President Clinton in a national address after the Littleton school shootings, and has written numerous peer reviewed encyclopedia entries on this topic. The other author (Gloria DeGaetano) is one of the nation's leading educators in the area of media literacy and education. Together they have put together such a powerful book that the reader cannot come away without having sincere concerns about the impact of violent TV, movies and video games on kids. The full title of this book is 'Stop Teaching Our Kids to Kill: A Call to Action Against TV, Movie and Video Game Violence.' Although video games are the last and least of the topics addressed, the video game industry has decided that this book is all about them and has launched a full scale attack. One online 'review' of this book failed to mention the full title, the co-author and implies that it is all about video games. Kind of like saying that the musical 'South Pacific,' by Rodgers and Hammerstein, is a play entitled 'South,' by Rodgers, about people from old Dixie. When the many errors of this review were pointed out to the website, the review was immediately retracted, but copies of the review and others like it continue to float around on the net. You can tell that the attackers of this book have not read or seen the book, and are basing their 'reviews' solely on the industry's attack campaign, when their reviews attack Col. Grossman and are not even aware of his co-author. When you read the book you will see that Col. Grossman was a consultant in the criminal trial for the 14 year-old mass murder at the Paducah, Kentucky high school. He is also an expert witness in the $130 million dollar federal lawsuit against the video game industry, because video games appear to have trained and inspired the Paducah school killer to commit his mass murder. In this book the authors present all the inside information on this case, and if there are no grounds for what they say, then why does this lawsuit persist? Ted Turner is on record as stating, 'Television violence is the single most significant factor contributing to violence in America.' (California House of Representatives Resolution on Media Violence, May, 1999.) And when the President of CBS was asked if he thought the media had anything to do with the Columbine High School shootings in Littleton, his answer was, 'Anyone who thinks the media has nothing to do with it is an idiot.' The TV industry admits their role in violent crime, but the video game industry consistently denies any and all impact of video games on kids. Col. Grossman is also the author of the book, 'On Killing,' which is a standard text used in West Point, and numerous other colleges, military academies, and police academies worldwide. 'On Killing' (nominated for a Pulitzer, translated into Japanese and Italian, and currently in its 9th and largest trade paper printing) is the standard text on this topic, and has established Col. Grossman as the preeminent scholar in this field. He has also written numerous peer reviewed encyclopedia entries and a peer reviewed entry in the Oxford Companion to American Military History on this subject. Based upon Col. Grossman's research, President Clinton stated in his national radio address after the Littleton shootings that: 'A former Lieutenant Colonel and psychologist, Professor David Grossman, has said that these games teach young people to kill with all the precision of a military training program, but none of the character training that goes along with it.' Maybe President Clinton, the AMA, the APA, the Surgeon General, the president of CBS and T

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    Right On

    After reading this book I would make it required reading for every parent with small children. Working with many children and being in the law enforcement community I see the results of media violence firsthand. Dave Grossman is right on and backs up his statements with hard cold facts. A must read book.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Quite the debate here - suggest you read for yourself.

    The reviewers here jump from 1 star to 5. With that spread I suggest you read the book. I did notice that one negative reviewer commented that the assertions in this book were not backed up by hard data. Anyone familiar with the subject knows better. You may not like what he has to say, but I assure you this extremely well-respected author knows what he's talking about, and presents his conclusions well. You will enjoy the book. You won't enjoy the knowledge you will gain. It may make you look at your entire culture in a new and strange light.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    propaganda for idiots

    This book is a complete waste of paper ! The whole premise is logically incorrect. It basically gives lousy parents a scape-goat when their children go insane. This book is also very poorly written, as if a 15 year old had written it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    This book is nothing but lies

    This book is nothing but lies. The video game and TV industries can't be blamed for irresponsible parents. There are ratings for video games and TV shows. People can't say that the makers of violent movies, shows, and games should be punished. If parents monitered what their kids watched and played, then there wouldn't be a problem. Parents need to be responsible, and blame themselves. If a certain retailer sells Mature rated games to kids, then blame that retailer. Don't blame the industry on the whole. Kids can't play violent games if parents take time to watch what their children are playing, and enforce their rules.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2001

    A travesty to all video gamers

    This book is absolute treash. If the parents of the children had taken responsibility on what their children play and watch, then such incidents could be avoided. Video games have a rating system, and most of the violent games this book mentions have a 'mature' rating, and should not be sold to children seventeen or younger. If the stores fail to honor this rating system, blame them and the parents, not the makers. Video games are intended for entertainment purposes, not as 'murder trainers'. This book has the wrong audience targeted for the responsibility. Take it out on parents and stores, not the entertainment industry. If I could give this book no stars whatsoever, I would do so.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    1 Star is being generous (actually it was the lowest allowed)

    A complete was of time and money. It would have been time better spent actually playing Doom, or some other 'killing simulator.' The book reads like a narrow politicians' 'feel goo legislation.' It reinforces beliefs of those who agree, but does nothing to convince the rest of us. Once again, like Heavy Metal music, and good old rock and roll before it, it attempts to find a convenient scapegoat in the game industry, for a problem that goes beyond a simple game, and avoids the root of problems, parenting and the state of society. But I guess it's easy to blame games. Can't miss the bandwagon

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Mee

    Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blag blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah sorry

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Lies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    .lies.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    You guys are morons.

    How does the 14 year old hit 5 headshots? Luck. Firing a gun and playing a game are completely different feelings and experiences.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Ffhtrfa#ttfsddeg

    Look at 3,4 and5

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Describes a Real Problem

    If watching something on an electronic screen doesn't influence behavior, then an awful lot of companies are foolish in spending money on advertising. And in addition to logic we have hard facts. Lt. Col. Grossman's case is well-documented.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Acknowledge possibility not Culpability

    I've had the pleasure of reading this book, on killing and meeting with Lt. Dave Grossman. After listening to his lectures and reading the materials, I began to develop the feeling that what we as a society need to do is listen to what's around us (violence everywhere) and how this violence is affecting our kids. While I don't believe that Lt. Grossman was attempting to pass the buck and take the blame away from parents he was trying to bring to light something that we AREN'T paying attention to. Media and it's affects. While I do believe that parents are ultimately responsible for what children watch and do, we cannot be everywhere and shield our children from the violence which is out there. I thank Lt. Grossman for at least making us acknowledge what we already know and what we've already seen. I believe the books point was to make us do so and at the same time acknowledge that we must be responsible with what we allow our children to see and be there to assist them in understanding the differences between right and wrong, good/bad, and fiction/non-fiction. For those of you that felt it was a waste, read it again, I beg you and then take a moment watch the local news, pass by an arcade, or even watch a simple PG movie. Then look at it through the eyes of a child. If you don't feel a sense of duty and responsibility to do something, you don't deserve to be a parent.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    So goes society so goes family

    LTC Dave Grossman is an honorable man who I have met firsthand. He stands for duty, honor, and country. He is not just a mouthpiece for the hardline right but a psychology professor at University of Arkansas, formerly of West Point. Take a close look at America- what is going on? We have spiraled down as a society at a tremendous rate that should alarm the most liberal skeptic. I have four boys that I raise and you had better believe that they pay attention to violence. We ask ourselves where does it come from? Turn off the primetime TV for one week and you will see. Continue the fight sir! LT Vest 4/278 ACR

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Lies

    First off... all games have a rating just like moves and mature and R rated movie should not be seen by people under the age of 17 unless u think your child is mature enough

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Nu uh this is so stupid and im not critic

    Um so first of viloent game dont make us kill lag does and that crap only hapens when you drop your kid on there head the give them black ops o street fighter this is a bunch of @&#%# bull s***

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Trash

    Trash compleat trash if you think video games make people go crazy you'er a f@#$%&* compleat idoit

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Having read this book and other books regarding the issue of sch

    Having read this book and other books regarding the issue of school aged children killing others, and all the reviews, I think one can pick out those who are die hard gamers or perhaps from the entertainment industry. I, myself, play first person shooter video games but did not start this activity until I was an adult long after my social mores and core values were well ingrained. And, I am a responsible firearm owner, a clinical scientist and an aunt to several young nieces and nephews. I have to disagree with the reviewers who feel this book is simply about removing culpability from bad parents. This book is about looking at one aspect of society that fosters the killing culture in the young. It's not saying that there aren't other factors out there - anyone with a modicum of intelligence would know that even if they haven't read the book. It would be like saying obesity is the sole cause of diabetes. People need to wake up to all the things that are going on in this society and not pretend that they don't exist or are just someone else's bull. As another reviewer commented - read and really think on the points the author is making. And yes, there is very credible research by very credible institutions that has been going on for decades that support a good number of points the author has brought up.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2