Customer Reviews for

Stop The Thyroid Madness

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS A WONDERFUL BOOK!!

This book has been a very valuable resource for me.I have been suffering for an entire year, with symptoms that have affected all areas of my health. My Dr. would not listen to me, just kept saying all lab tests came back normal, which means you are fine. I had no choic...
This book has been a very valuable resource for me.I have been suffering for an entire year, with symptoms that have affected all areas of my health. My Dr. would not listen to me, just kept saying all lab tests came back normal, which means you are fine. I had no choice but to advocate for myself, and did exactly that with the information provided in this book. I have discovered that many of my symptoms were a result of a condition that I was never tested for. I was tested for everything but this. I have conducted several in home tests, on the advice of this book and have discovered that I have adrenal fatigue syndrome, which must be corrected before a thyroid problem can be properly treated, which is what I was being treated for, but not getting any better,in fact worse. I have experienced drastic improvements in my overall health, as a result of the information provided here, which I have applied to my everday living, and highly recommend this to anyone who is suffering from any type of symptoms that may be related to Thyroid or Adrenal conditions. This book has truly changed my life in a very short period of time,and I only expect it to get better every day. THANK YOU STTM author, Janie!!!!!!!!!!

posted by lifeis2good on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is an extremely dangerous book. T3/T4 combos are ok for the

This is an extremely dangerous book. T3/T4 combos are ok for the very few who have problems converting. Take it from me. Her protocol put me in the hospital three times until I wised up and listened to my doctor. I felt "better" because I was on speed basicall...
This is an extremely dangerous book. T3/T4 combos are ok for the very few who have problems converting. Take it from me. Her protocol put me in the hospital three times until I wised up and listened to my doctor. I felt "better" because I was on speed basically. Put me into serious cardiac arrythmia. I'm a medical professional and I'm embarrassed because I should have known better. Your doctor went to school for 7-14 years to learn this. I'd listen to him/her. There is  no conspiracy against treating your thyroid.

posted by 16896240 on August 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    THIS IS A WONDERFUL BOOK!!

    This book has been a very valuable resource for me.I have been suffering for an entire year, with symptoms that have affected all areas of my health. My Dr. would not listen to me, just kept saying all lab tests came back normal, which means you are fine. I had no choice but to advocate for myself, and did exactly that with the information provided in this book. I have discovered that many of my symptoms were a result of a condition that I was never tested for. I was tested for everything but this. I have conducted several in home tests, on the advice of this book and have discovered that I have adrenal fatigue syndrome, which must be corrected before a thyroid problem can be properly treated, which is what I was being treated for, but not getting any better,in fact worse. I have experienced drastic improvements in my overall health, as a result of the information provided here, which I have applied to my everday living, and highly recommend this to anyone who is suffering from any type of symptoms that may be related to Thyroid or Adrenal conditions. This book has truly changed my life in a very short period of time,and I only expect it to get better every day. THANK YOU STTM author, Janie!!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book ever written on thyroid and adrenal issues

    This book literally helped save my life. For 25 years, I took Synthroid (T4 only med) and still felt bad and every year my Endocrinologist told me I was fine. Well why did I suffer from violent headaches every week for 16 years and have such physical weakness that I couldn't even walk up a flight of stairs? This book helped me to find out why and I'm well on my way back to a normal life. This is a very comprehensive book, covering everything you need to know about thyroid and adrenal support. It has compelling patient stories and is thoroughly researched and supported, as well as easy to read. GET IT NOW! And spread the word to the rest of the world who are suffering from undiagnosed underactive thyroid glands!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    ONE OF THE BEST THYROID BOOKS YOU'LL READ, and I highly recommend it!!!

    Everything about this book is right on, and it's no wonder it's called the bible of successful thyroid treatment. Janie A. Bowthorpe has compiled detailed information and reports from patients all over the world about successful treatment. In other words, this is not someone's "opinion". It's about the real live experiences of patients, and that is powerful.

    It explains why so many of us have continued symptoms if we're on Synthroid or other T4 meds, or if we have been dosed by the lab test called the TSH. It explains why desiccated thyroid has changed lives, plus how we can fall into adrenal fatigue, low B12, low iron, high RT3, and a variety of vitamin and mineral deficiencies thanks to T4 meds and the TSH lab test.

    Two of the chapters give detailed patient information about adrenal fatigue (low cortisol) and what patients have done to treat it.

    One chapter is on Hashimotos disease in detail, plus another about supplements and foods.

    She addresses the problem patients have had with doctors for decades, and how to approach them. She gives ideas on how to find better doctors, and where to find good patient groups. She helps you understand how to read your lab results, and even which labs patients have found to be critically important.

    I honestly can't recommend a thyroid book more than this one if you want to feel really good again. It's THE book to get!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Outstanding book

    This was an easy read; very informative and inspirational. I've recommended it to many people who continue to suffer with hypo symptoms while being treated with T4-only meds.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    One Great Resource

    Stop the Thyroid Madness
    Author: Janie A. Bowthorpe
    Reviewed by Fran Lewis

    Misinformation is really hard to counteract when you don¿t realize what you are being told is incorrect. Doctors have always been considered the be all and end all when it comes to patient care. Many people never question their doctors, research their medications or find out the side effects of what was prescribed. The story you are about to hear and the information that I will relate when reviewing this book will definitely be a wake up call to everyone. As the author takes the reader on a journey back in time when she could barely stand for any period of time, work a full day without getting tired and giving up many careers due to a rapid heart rate and other physical problems you will learn what happens when someone is not properly treated for thyroid issues that can prove to be more than just weight loss or weight gain.
    Lab obsessed doctors, incorrect medications, medications used and given to camouflage the real symptoms and substandard treatment are just part of what happened to this author and members of her family and maybe you too. Retelling her own story and that of her mother wish paralleled hers you will learn just what happens to a person when he/she is misdiagnosed and given the wrong treatment. Imagine thinking that you are depressed and needing counseling when you really do not. Weight gain, constantly tired and napping all symptoms of thyroid disease but in her case not properly handled. If you want to learn more about the staggering amount of lingering symptoms while on T4 only medications read page 33 and you will definitely be alarmed what you will find out and much more. The author continues with the history of these medications and there is still much more to learn as author Janie A. Bowthorpe, M. Ed. takes the reader on a journey into the world of our Thyroid Gland, its malfunctions, treatments, history and host of other vital information needed to keep you the patient, consume properly informed.

    Having had both hyper and hypo thyroid issues I can attest to what happens when the wrong medications are given even at the age of ten when Synthroid was prescribed. Your life changes and so did my moods. I never ever became agitated, nasty and restless until I started taking this medication. My thyroid was underactive and I was gaining weight by the minute and always so tired I could barely move. My headaches increased and my attitude was poor. Life changes when you have a desiccated thyroid. After reading this book I wish that I had the knowledge back then to have switches to a Natural Desiccated thyroid medication. The author shares her life experiences with the reader and how she became the new and improved person she is today. Writing this book, which she dedicated to patients having this problem and undergoing T4 meds only, or TSH or any other treatment by doctors and choosing to keep patients devoid of the right care. Many just look inside their medical journals or dictionaries for the right medications to match the right illness without considering side effects, meds that contradict each other or make the situation worse. Taking medication for both forms of thyroidism I can attest to the fact that the side effects equaled the illness at times and made me wish I never heard of that gland.

    The book is clear, succinct and really interesting to read and provides in-depth information from someone who experienced it all. It is pati

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    I urge anyone who has been hypothyroid and not feeling "rig

    I urge anyone who has been hypothyroid and not feeling "right" to read this. It is like reading your own story-Read the author's website also, and do whatever she says. Then do not turn back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    The website connected with this book as well as the book itself,

    The website connected with this book as well as the book itself, has saved my life. I had been on synthetic 
    thyroid medication since a thyroidectomy at 13. Over thirty years later and not having felt good for over a 
    decade, I switched to an internist that finally agreed that natural thyroid was what I needed. I also took a list of
    blood work with me that was listed in the book and found deficient in vitamin d. That vitamin alone has lowered
     my blood pressure. The book is an easy read with other resources to check out. If you have a thyroid issue or know someone who does get this book now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    This book was reccomended reading by my daughter's specialist.  

    This book was reccomended reading by my daughter's specialist.  I will buy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Very highly recommended!

    This book is a must for anyone who has autoimmune problems! Lots of good questions to bring to your doctor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I've actually only read the first book (not the revised one), bu

    I've actually only read the first book (not the revised one), but it was most helpful in determining that I should be off Synthroid (or synthcrap) and onto Natural dessicated thyroid (which I was first given when I was diagnosed at 6 weeks of age). It also goes into detail about what your symptoms are, what not to take with your thyroid (ie citrus juices, iron) and what may help you reach your maximum potential (ie - most thyroid users are anemic and need iron).

    This book helps everyone, and I thoroughly recommend her website. Most doctors now do not "speak" thyroid, and hence, order the wrong tests, or tell you that it is all in your head (Thanks for following the Hippocratic Oath Docs). This book helps you realize it isn't in your head, and helps you figure out what you need.

    A MUST HAVE!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    I find it interesting that all of the "bad" reviews ar

    I find it interesting that all of the "bad" reviews are anonymous, especially the one claiming to be a medical professional hurt by the recommendations (and only fixed when they listened to their doctor). If conventional treatment had been working for you, then you would have never tried alternative options. So that review rings false for me. As for me, I have been following the blog for a few months and finally ordered the book. I cannot tell you how asking for (or ordering my own) lab work to pinpoint actual problems (that my doctor refused to look at), has helped me. Following the recommendations (all backed up by actual research and patient experience) has kept me sane & on the road to recovery. It is a long process due to the length of time conventional medicine left me "fine" according to the doctor. I wasn't "fine"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    This is an extremely dangerous book. T3/T4 combos are ok for the

    This is an extremely dangerous book. T3/T4 combos are ok for the very few who have problems converting. Take it from me. Her protocol put me in the hospital three times until I wised up and listened to my doctor. I felt "better" because I was on speed basically. Put me into serious cardiac arrythmia. I'm a medical professional and I'm embarrassed because I should have known better. Your doctor went to school for 7-14 years to learn this. I'd listen to him/her. There is  no conspiracy against treating your thyroid.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    Not recommended.

    With so many factual errors, noone should follow anything this person recommends. That's true regardless of whether you like your doctor or don't like your doctor. Her recommendations could result in a dangerous situation for someone. The same applies to following her website recommendations - which is what this book is comprised of.

    I'm actually surprised to see this book being sold by Barnes & Noble.

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1