BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Beautiful

    The illustrations are very beautiful and compliment the story very nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Lovely book for young children

    Robert Frost's poetry coupled with the beautiful winter pictures makes this a win-win for introducing children to poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    An Amazing Picturebook!

    When I was in high school, my English teacher made my class memorize random poems. I don¿t remember why we had to do this, but I do remember analyzing and memorizing ¿Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening,¿ which soon became one of my favorite poems of all time. It stayed with me long after high school, and in my graduate program for education, I made an iMovie of the poem depicting the scenery while also depicting the chain rhyme on screen. I still have that iMovie and I occasionally show it in classes when I go to teach poetry, so imagine my surprise when I came across this hardcover, illustrated book of my favorite poem! I stood in the bookstore and read it; absolutely amazed with the illustrations and the interpretation of the poem, which is a bit different from my own interpretation, but alas, I decided not to buy the book, not then anyway. Of course, I thought about it often and kept thinking of going back to get it, but never did. Then Christmas came, and my wonderful friend bought it for me! I was, and am, extremely excited because it¿s such a beautiful book! And, I plan to use it in the classroom as well, making poetry more fun for my students as I read it to them and show them the pictures¿ and then the real analysis will begin. I think this is one of the best picture books I¿ve ever seen, and I highly recommend it, for both the young and the old. It¿s a fabulous book to add to your library. Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    Awe Inspiring

    I got this book because this is my favorite Frost piece. Now that I have this book, I get to read it not just for myself but for my grandson. He asks me to read it to him for his bedtime story. It has become a catalyst for sharing poetry with my 5 year old grandson. Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    A Deep Meaning

    I think that 'Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening' is about his life and how he thought of death. But, he decides that he still has a long way to go before he dies ('and miles to go before I sleep'). Anyways, this is great!! I recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    introduction to poetry and art

    this is a wonderful book that introduces kids to two fine arts that may prove valuable in life. i love reading books like this to my grandchildren. its always one of the first books they grab off the shelf and run to my lap with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    Superb!

    This is one of the finest books for all ages that I know of. The beauty of Frost's wonderful poem is only enhanced by the magical, excellent illustrations. I am delighted to learn it is still available. I gave a copy to my brother and his wife several years ago and it has become one of their favorite books of any kind. We all enjoy it together at Christmastime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    For All Ages

    I bought this book for my 14 month old,and it has quickly become her favorite. As we read it, she enjoys finding the horse and other animals on each page. As soon as we finish reading, she demands me to 'rrread!' it again! I've taken the book to school where I shared it with a group of first graders. I read the poem first to familiarize them with it, then read and showed the illustrations. They loved finding all the hidden animals and interpreting the man's work. Later, a group of high schoolers found the book on my desk and pored over it. This is truly a book for all ages to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1