BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Storekeeper's Daughter (Daughters of Lancaster County Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    A wonderful story

    this is a must read story i am on the third series it keeps you interested, hard to put my nook down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Brunstetter creates characters that are likeable.

    I enjoyed this series of novels. The characters and story lines held my interest. I felt great sympathy for the Storekeeper's Daughter, the poor girl was stuck between a rock and a hard place. The theme woven through the series was very enticing. I don't want to reveal the plot but it was a nice twist, usually not seen in Amish Fiction. The books were easy to read and the religious connotations and lessons were not heavy handed, but they were warm and comforting like a good cut of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    A good read

    I love reading Wanda's books and this is no exception. Wonderful how she brings it all together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    What a wonderful book. I could not put it down. I plan to read her other books as well. This book would be great for any age group to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Loved it.

    I hated to put it down. I read it in under three days. Cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Simple Life

    We don't know much about the Amish, we being "english", but you learn quickly in Wanda E. Brunstetter's book. Naomi's mother has passed on, and it has become her responsibility to take care of the "kinder". When her baby brother is kidnapped when she is attempting to help a stanger, Naomi becomes irresponsible in her Father's eyes. As the story unfold, Naomi must come to terme=s with what has happened, and try to reconcile herself so that she may find her love and marry. A book to be read by anyone who wants to see the good in all people. Once you start reading, this book will be hard to put down. You will want to read the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Grabs you in

    The book is written very well. The book makes you want to keep reading because of all of the situations and events that happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    wonderful

    Over the years I have read quite a few Amish books and I loved them all! This series about the Fisher family is heartwrenching and heartwarming at the same time. I would recommend this series to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Amazing

    When I first started reading it, I thought it was going to be a boring book.. I thought a book about the experiences of an Amish girl would be boring. Boy was i ever wrong. I did not want to put it down and i cannot wait to pick up the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    Excellent Reading

    This was the first book I started reading of several of Wanda's books. I could not put it down I really enjoyed reading it and could not wait to get the rest of that series. Also will be getting any of the other books she has out and what she will be coming out with in the future. Thanks Wanda excellent reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    It left me wanting to know more about the characters

    This book really keep me in suspence over what happened to the baby and how the characters lives were changed by the event. I just loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Amish life

    Wonderful first book in a series that will make you want to read the whole series and other books by Wanda Brunstetter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    great book

    This is the first book I have read by this author, I have now read the whole series it is the best, it keeps you reading and you don't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    GREAT READING

    Wanda's books are wonderful!! They are a hit in my office. The Storekeeper's Daughter is the first of the Daughters of Lancaster County series. Once you read the first book of three you are addicted!! Wanda introduces several Amish women and their families and friends. You will read this series and move on to another series ~ you just can't stop reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Awesome Book

    I am not Amish or even religious for that matter but I really, really enjoyed this book. Very well written, keeps you reading far into the night because you just have to find out what happens hext. Missy Theriault Berlin, NH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    A+ Amish tale

    The Amish is a people that, arguably, may be one of the most misunderstood groups in the world. They are often portrayed in a less than favorable way, even among authors that have dwelt among the Plain People for a time. The many rules and restrictions that the Amish follow cause much confusion among us 'Englischers'. How refreshing it is,then, to discover an author that leads us gently through the lives of this amazing people, without judging their ways, or expecting us to understand many Amish terms and traditions from the outset. In this first book of Ms. Brunstetter's new series, 'Daughters of Lancaster County', we meet a young Amishwoman by the name of Naomi. Shortly into the book, Naomi's mother tragically dies, leaving Naomi to run the household, assist her father at their store, and raise 7 children, including a new baby boy. While Naomi had dreamed of a life with Caleb, a fine local Amish man, suddenly she finds herself thrust into the role of surrogate mother, and as she made her mother a deathbed promise that she would care for the children, she makes the sacrifice of love and a life and family of her own, to care for her father and siblings. The family also runs a small root beer stand in their yard. Naomi's father makes root beer that is renowned throughout their community. One day, a man shows up to purchase some root beer, and while Naomi has her back turned, the man kidnaps her baby brother. After that, Naomi undergoes many trials, from searching for her brother, to trying to reconcile with her father, who blames Naomi solely for the baby's disappearance. Where is he? And why was he stolen? And will Naomi find love amidst her trials? Ms. Brunstetter demonstrates her love for the 'Plain People' with this lovely book. It has no heavy, hard to understand use of German, nor does it attempt to place a bad light on the Amish. While other books may seem to make the Amish seem an eccentric, simple-minded people, this book is respectful of their beliefs, and truly makes the reader feel as if they have a personal relationship with the characters, and makes the reader feel a bit sad when closing the book, but does make one highly anticipate the next book in the saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Must Read

    I would really recommend this book. Keep in mind it's a series and you will want to read all of them. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    I found a new author

    I had never read any of Wanda Brunstetter's books but came upon this one day. I could hardly put the book down and am looking forward to reading the rest of the books from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    A Sweet Book!

    'The StoreKeeper's Daughter', is a sweet yet adventurous book. Ms. Brunstetter takes us through the eyes of the Amish in a sweet setting. Her plot and characters are excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2005

    A Great Book!

    Being an Amish author has lots of perks. One is having knowledge of new books before they hit the store shelves. 'The Storekeeper's Daughter', is the first in a 3-book series. As usual. Ms. Brunstetter created lively Amish characters. She shows the tenderness and love in a sweet, smooth way. I recommend this new book to all fans of historical romance! Sicily Yoder aka Teresa Phillips Author of, 'Leaving Lancaster County', and, 'The Conversion of Sicily Yoder.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2