Customer Reviews for

sTORI Telling

Average Rating 4.5
( 320 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

YES, A CUTE FASCINATING READ

Tori absolutely out did herself in this book....I loved the book. What a great story and she was so open and honest.....I always liked Tori Spelling and enjoyed any show she was in but now I can honestly say I am a fan! I highly recommend this book to 90210 fans. I sure...
Tori absolutely out did herself in this book....I loved the book. What a great story and she was so open and honest.....I always liked Tori Spelling and enjoyed any show she was in but now I can honestly say I am a fan! I highly recommend this book to 90210 fans. I sure hope Oxygen has another season of her and Dean...now that I have read the book I will know more about some of the people in her life...friends etc.

posted by 148253 on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why was this book so huge?

So after I heard this book was on the NY Times Best Seller List for while, I thought there must be something incredible written within its pages. I picked it up, even though I'm not a Tori Spelling fan. After reading it, I can say there is nothing at all revealing or, q...
So after I heard this book was on the NY Times Best Seller List for while, I thought there must be something incredible written within its pages. I picked it up, even though I'm not a Tori Spelling fan. After reading it, I can say there is nothing at all revealing or, quite frankly, all that exciting, that goes on in this book. Tori Spelling doesn't reveal any dark family secrets. In fact, she goes out of her way to drive the point across to the reader that, despite being the daughter of Aaron Spelling and growing up incredibly wealthy, she would have rather been "normal". She admits to platic surgey. She talks briefly aboout some bad ex-boyfriends, one of whom she spent her 90210 salary on. She writes about her feud with her mother. She discusses the affair that ended her (and her current husband's) previous marriage, but anyone who reads tabloid magazines knew that. Really, there isn't much to this story that isn't covered by US Weekly. Tori Spelling does have a raunchy but funny sense of humor, and there are times in the book where this adds some spice to the story. Otherwise, I don't know what all the hype was about!

posted by Lil_Lamb on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 322 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    YES, A CUTE FASCINATING READ

    Tori absolutely out did herself in this book....I loved the book. What a great story and she was so open and honest.....I always liked Tori Spelling and enjoyed any show she was in but now I can honestly say I am a fan! I highly recommend this book to 90210 fans. I sure hope Oxygen has another season of her and Dean...now that I have read the book I will know more about some of the people in her life...friends etc.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Why was this book so huge?

    So after I heard this book was on the NY Times Best Seller List for while, I thought there must be something incredible written within its pages. I picked it up, even though I'm not a Tori Spelling fan. After reading it, I can say there is nothing at all revealing or, quite frankly, all that exciting, that goes on in this book. Tori Spelling doesn't reveal any dark family secrets. In fact, she goes out of her way to drive the point across to the reader that, despite being the daughter of Aaron Spelling and growing up incredibly wealthy, she would have rather been "normal". She admits to platic surgey. She talks briefly aboout some bad ex-boyfriends, one of whom she spent her 90210 salary on. She writes about her feud with her mother. She discusses the affair that ended her (and her current husband's) previous marriage, but anyone who reads tabloid magazines knew that. Really, there isn't much to this story that isn't covered by US Weekly. Tori Spelling does have a raunchy but funny sense of humor, and there are times in the book where this adds some spice to the story. Otherwise, I don't know what all the hype was about!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Good Book But...

    But it confirmed what I already thought of Tori Spelling, she is a selfish brat. The part about how she and Dean met, how they both cheated on their respective spouses for 6 months before telling them is awful. Why would anyone do such an awful thing to other people, let along brag about it in a book? Bad role model for young women everywhere. Won't waste money on the 2nd book. I can, however, understand her childish, selfish behavior a little more after reading about the interactions between her and Candy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I love Tori!

    I grew up watching 90210. Tori Spelling was not necessarily my favorite actress. After reading her books I find her just amazing. She is so funny and best of all real. I LOVE YOU TORI! YOU ARE AMAZING!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I never knew!

    Tori is very honest about her "home wrecking" in this book. Makes for an interesting read if you're in to that sort of thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    Suprising

    I definitely did not expect this from Tori Spelling! It was funny, insightful, and a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD

    THIS BOOK WAS BETTER THEN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. I CAN ONLY SAY THIS THERE IS MORE TO TORI SPELLING THEN MOST PEOPLE THINK AND GIVE HER CREDIT FOR.**********MUST READ**********

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed

    Although I never watched 90210 and I knew very little about Tori Spelling other than her famous father, I found this book to be an enjoyable easy read. I felt her writing was open, honest, and from the heart. I enjoyed it so much I bought her second book Mommywood. I also enjoyed the pictures she shared with her readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This a a great book to read, Tori is a great writer and is a good role model.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't Judge a Book by its Cover. By:Megan Erwin

    This book is about Victoria "Tori" Spelling and about her life growing up as Aaron Spelling, Multi- Millionaire's daughter. Through out this book you will read about all the feuds with her mother, her friends, and of course her 90210 days. I loved how you get to read about her point of view on the events that happened. She covers it all, the good, the bad, and the ugly. I didn't like how the book was hard to read because of the way she would word it. For instance I would read a paragraph and then have to reread it again to understand what she was saying. The major theme through out this book, is that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. When you think about Tori Spelling you think she is a spoiled brat and gets everything she wants. Well apart of that is true but, in the end you will be left felling sorry for her. I would recommend this book for people who want to know the real story about Tori Spelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    sTORI Telling, a book about Tori Spelling

    This book is about the untold Tori Spelling. Not only do you get to see her in a new and interesting light, you see things from her point of view, like all her arguments with her mother and how she thinks everyone thinks of her. This book shows you, that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover because you never know what it might be like on the inside, like how Tori is just a person like us not some fake actress who gets everything she wants. I liked how she wrote what she wanted people to hear, not what people wanted to hear. I also liked how she showed you what things are like from her end of the stick. But I didn't like how sometimes you got lost in the book and in what she was saying, because of the wording because then it got really confusing and you had to reread to figure out what was going on. You should read this because its amazing to see how far off people where when they were talking about Tori and if you think you know the real Tori Spelling because you'll be in for a big surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting...

    I admit that I bought this book after watching Tori's Inn Love series b/c I was interested to see how a girl who was born into wealth was now a woman stuggling to live a normal life. I don't know what I was expecting, but let me tell you that I actually could not put this book down. I was really surprised, I truly felt sorry for her. All I could think was "but she is your mother?" and "how can you just do nothing?". I have to give Tori credit in really being very classy on how she expressed her feelings about certiain people, especially about her mother. I liked reading this book, it made me appreciate my life and family. This book really lets you see Tori Spelling as a "normal human being" who has been going through inner battles with herself and her world as the "spoiled rich girl".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    juicy gossip about her family? yes. juicy gossip about behind th

    juicy gossip about her family? yes. juicy gossip about behind the scenes 90210? yes. well written.... no. I found this is bit taxing to read. I didn't like her writing style at all. I admit I became a fan of her has herself on her early reality tv shows. her writing voice does mimic her on screen true persona, but I found it lacking. worth the read for the gossip and insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone has those dysfunctional moments with family and Tori Sp

    Everyone has those dysfunctional moments with family and Tori Spelling isn’t any different.  True she had daddy’s money to fall back on for many of those moments but there comes a time that even she had to budget her money for her new family. 




    When I was a teenager someone told me that I looked like Tori Spelling.  This was during 90210 and  I have to say at the time I was very upset with that person because I didn’t agree.   Now that time has past and I have grown along with Tori.   I have grown to like Tori and her new family with husband Dean.   Her past is interesting and sometimes infuriating.  Especially her on and off relationship with her mother.




    There were times that I could not relate to Tori and her group of friends.  Most of all when she would tell all of her friends about her new love Dean without telling her husband at the time Charlie.  




    Overall I enjoyed learning about Tori’s life.  It has been a fun up and down ride to read about. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Jasmine ko

    My mom loves you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Bre

    I got locked out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Tyla

    :D i guess u guys r back together now i had to take a shower so i mizzed it :P

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Tori

    Loos like i said fwking good bye.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was great!! Hearing her talking about 90210 makes me w

    This book was great!! Hearing her talking about 90210 makes me want to watch it again from the beginning. She was always my fav in the series. It's great to know she grew up normal but it sucks that she wasn't taught about money and how to save. I love how honest she is about her relationships and how she met Dean. Thanks Tori! Can't wait to read Mommywood!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    Really enjoyed reading about Tori's life. Loved reading about the behind the scenes of 90210 too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 322 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17