Customer Reviews for

sTORI Telling

Average Rating 4.5
( 319 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

YES, A CUTE FASCINATING READ

Tori absolutely out did herself in this book....I loved the book. What a great story and she was so open and honest.....I always liked Tori Spelling and enjoyed any show she was in but now I can honestly say I am a fan! I highly recommend this book to 90210 fans. I sure...
Tori absolutely out did herself in this book....I loved the book. What a great story and she was so open and honest.....I always liked Tori Spelling and enjoyed any show she was in but now I can honestly say I am a fan! I highly recommend this book to 90210 fans. I sure hope Oxygen has another season of her and Dean...now that I have read the book I will know more about some of the people in her life...friends etc.

posted by 148253 on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why was this book so huge?

So after I heard this book was on the NY Times Best Seller List for while, I thought there must be something incredible written within its pages. I picked it up, even though I'm not a Tori Spelling fan. After reading it, I can say there is nothing at all revealing or, q...
So after I heard this book was on the NY Times Best Seller List for while, I thought there must be something incredible written within its pages. I picked it up, even though I'm not a Tori Spelling fan. After reading it, I can say there is nothing at all revealing or, quite frankly, all that exciting, that goes on in this book. Tori Spelling doesn't reveal any dark family secrets. In fact, she goes out of her way to drive the point across to the reader that, despite being the daughter of Aaron Spelling and growing up incredibly wealthy, she would have rather been "normal". She admits to platic surgey. She talks briefly aboout some bad ex-boyfriends, one of whom she spent her 90210 salary on. She writes about her feud with her mother. She discusses the affair that ended her (and her current husband's) previous marriage, but anyone who reads tabloid magazines knew that. Really, there isn't much to this story that isn't covered by US Weekly. Tori Spelling does have a raunchy but funny sense of humor, and there are times in the book where this adds some spice to the story. Otherwise, I don't know what all the hype was about!

posted by Lil_Lamb on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Good Book But...

    But it confirmed what I already thought of Tori Spelling, she is a selfish brat. The part about how she and Dean met, how they both cheated on their respective spouses for 6 months before telling them is awful. Why would anyone do such an awful thing to other people, let along brag about it in a book? Bad role model for young women everywhere. Won't waste money on the 2nd book. I can, however, understand her childish, selfish behavior a little more after reading about the interactions between her and Candy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Better than I was expex Better than expected

    She is ruthless in her storytrlling, even when it doesn't make her look good. Got a little tired of the "don't you feel bad for me?" Stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Great to hear about how she grew up. She seems very down to earth and I love her TV show. She did come off a tad bit snobby in some parts and I hate the fact that she cheated on her ex husband. But im very happy that she found Dean and they have a beautiful family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Interesting Read

    I have come to love watching "Tori & Dean: Home Sweet Hollywood" on Oxygen, so was interested in reading Tori's books. All in all, the book kept me interested, although I must admit, like a number of celebrity autobiographies, it provided some information that I guess I didn't want to know/took a little shine off the star, so to speak. (Case in point: In my opinion, Tori & Dean make a great couple, and they have a beautiful family. It was tough, however, learning that the very night they met--when both were married--they slept together, then left their spouses shortly thereafter.) I give Tori credit for being honest and sharing this information, however--and for making no excuses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    somewhat interesting

    it took me a while to read this book, but i got thru it. some parts were enjoyable and others were pretty boring. i like her tv show, but i doubt i would read her new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Fun Read

    This is a fun read, but not much more. Not that I expected it to a award winning, I just thought it would have a little more substance. I like Torri Spelling a lot though so I enjoyed it. Funny in parts, but not that well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    Not worth the hype...

    I have to agree with the few people who said that everything in this book is stuff you have read in US Weekly. I didn't learn much new information about Tori, her family, her divorce, or her remarriage. I also think that the writing of the book was generally poor. It made me wonder several times if she even had an editor to look at this before it was published. Some parts of the book were difficult to understand because she jumped from story to story, and I'd have to reread it. <BR/><BR/>Overall, not completely awful. I would not recommend this to anyone though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Not that special

    I thought the book would be better. In the biginning it was alright, even interesting. But to the end, the stories seemed very boring for me. i respected Tori before i read the book but now, I saw her 'real' life and think she is not a special person as she thinks she is!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Just Okay

    I have been enjoying Tori Spelling lately and do think she's funny. The book, though, is not well written and not all that juicy. Although I understand she and her husband love each other, I feel it was heartless of them to get involved, on the first night of meeting no less, when both were married. Particularly when Dean had two children at home, one being three weeks old. She's funny but I think both are totally self centered to do such a thing when kids were involved. This book illustrates how out of touch with reality she is. Frankly, after reading the book, I feel sorry for Dean's 'other kids' and Tori's mom. No telling what the real story is with mom since she glosses over Dean's past and the three week old baby he left behind along with his 8 year old son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2