Customer Reviews for

sTORI Telling

Average Rating 4.5
( 320 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

YES, A CUTE FASCINATING READ

Tori absolutely out did herself in this book....I loved the book. What a great story and she was so open and honest.....I always liked Tori Spelling and enjoyed any show she was in but now I can honestly say I am a fan! I highly recommend this book to 90210 fans. I sure...
Tori absolutely out did herself in this book....I loved the book. What a great story and she was so open and honest.....I always liked Tori Spelling and enjoyed any show she was in but now I can honestly say I am a fan! I highly recommend this book to 90210 fans. I sure hope Oxygen has another season of her and Dean...now that I have read the book I will know more about some of the people in her life...friends etc.

posted by 148253 on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why was this book so huge?

So after I heard this book was on the NY Times Best Seller List for while, I thought there must be something incredible written within its pages. I picked it up, even though I'm not a Tori Spelling fan. After reading it, I can say there is nothing at all revealing or, q...
So after I heard this book was on the NY Times Best Seller List for while, I thought there must be something incredible written within its pages. I picked it up, even though I'm not a Tori Spelling fan. After reading it, I can say there is nothing at all revealing or, quite frankly, all that exciting, that goes on in this book. Tori Spelling doesn't reveal any dark family secrets. In fact, she goes out of her way to drive the point across to the reader that, despite being the daughter of Aaron Spelling and growing up incredibly wealthy, she would have rather been "normal". She admits to platic surgey. She talks briefly aboout some bad ex-boyfriends, one of whom she spent her 90210 salary on. She writes about her feud with her mother. She discusses the affair that ended her (and her current husband's) previous marriage, but anyone who reads tabloid magazines knew that. Really, there isn't much to this story that isn't covered by US Weekly. Tori Spelling does have a raunchy but funny sense of humor, and there are times in the book where this adds some spice to the story. Otherwise, I don't know what all the hype was about!

posted by Lil_Lamb on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I never knew!

    Tori is very honest about her "home wrecking" in this book. Makes for an interesting read if you're in to that sort of thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    Suprising

    I definitely did not expect this from Tori Spelling! It was funny, insightful, and a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't Judge a Book by its Cover. By:Megan Erwin

    This book is about Victoria "Tori" Spelling and about her life growing up as Aaron Spelling, Multi- Millionaire's daughter. Through out this book you will read about all the feuds with her mother, her friends, and of course her 90210 days. I loved how you get to read about her point of view on the events that happened. She covers it all, the good, the bad, and the ugly. I didn't like how the book was hard to read because of the way she would word it. For instance I would read a paragraph and then have to reread it again to understand what she was saying. The major theme through out this book, is that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. When you think about Tori Spelling you think she is a spoiled brat and gets everything she wants. Well apart of that is true but, in the end you will be left felling sorry for her. I would recommend this book for people who want to know the real story about Tori Spelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    sTORI Telling, a book about Tori Spelling

    This book is about the untold Tori Spelling. Not only do you get to see her in a new and interesting light, you see things from her point of view, like all her arguments with her mother and how she thinks everyone thinks of her. This book shows you, that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover because you never know what it might be like on the inside, like how Tori is just a person like us not some fake actress who gets everything she wants. I liked how she wrote what she wanted people to hear, not what people wanted to hear. I also liked how she showed you what things are like from her end of the stick. But I didn't like how sometimes you got lost in the book and in what she was saying, because of the wording because then it got really confusing and you had to reread to figure out what was going on. You should read this because its amazing to see how far off people where when they were talking about Tori and if you think you know the real Tori Spelling because you'll be in for a big surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting...

    I admit that I bought this book after watching Tori's Inn Love series b/c I was interested to see how a girl who was born into wealth was now a woman stuggling to live a normal life. I don't know what I was expecting, but let me tell you that I actually could not put this book down. I was really surprised, I truly felt sorry for her. All I could think was "but she is your mother?" and "how can you just do nothing?". I have to give Tori credit in really being very classy on how she expressed her feelings about certiain people, especially about her mother. I liked reading this book, it made me appreciate my life and family. This book really lets you see Tori Spelling as a "normal human being" who has been going through inner battles with herself and her world as the "spoiled rich girl".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone has those dysfunctional moments with family and Tori Sp

    Everyone has those dysfunctional moments with family and Tori Spelling isn’t any different.  True she had daddy’s money to fall back on for many of those moments but there comes a time that even she had to budget her money for her new family. 




    When I was a teenager someone told me that I looked like Tori Spelling.  This was during 90210 and  I have to say at the time I was very upset with that person because I didn’t agree.   Now that time has past and I have grown along with Tori.   I have grown to like Tori and her new family with husband Dean.   Her past is interesting and sometimes infuriating.  Especially her on and off relationship with her mother.




    There were times that I could not relate to Tori and her group of friends.  Most of all when she would tell all of her friends about her new love Dean without telling her husband at the time Charlie.  




    Overall I enjoyed learning about Tori’s life.  It has been a fun up and down ride to read about. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Jasmine ko

    My mom loves you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Better than expected

    Surprised to hear the story told without hurtfull disclosures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good Book

    Love her and loved her book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Great Book!

    So good I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Super Fun Book - Really Interesting!

    I highly recommend this book if you want a fast, easy read with some good gossip and down to earth story telling. It feels like your favorite girlfriend is confessing her life to you and in the end you are happy to be her friend. Her honesty is refreshing and trul interesting. If you did not like her before reading it, you will now. So fun and truly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Real...just in a different caliber!

    I enjoyed reading sTORItelling by Tori Spelling because I'm a fan of her Oxygen reality shows. This book depicted more background information from 90210 and other life events prior to Tori & Dean: Inn Love premiered. Tori is just as real as the rest of us...just in a different caliber of standard of living!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great!

    such an easy read. Cute, heart felt stories make it easy to love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Tori's Story

    I really enjoyed reading about Tori and all the many up's and down's she encountered in her life. It's just goes to show that even though someone is a celebrity, they still deal with everyday problems like everyone else. I look forward to reading this again. I recommend this to any Tori Spelling fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Good sTori Telling

    I was never really a fan of Tori Spelling's from her 90210 days, but I was intrigued to read her story. And I must say, after reading her book I have developed a profound respect for her in-spite of people calling her a "home wrecker". She showed me that she is truly a genuine, beautiful and shockingly funny person underneath all the celebrity. Her book is truly a breath of fresh air and I recommend it anyone who is interested in reading some clean dirt on Hollywood for a change. If you are looking for a celebrity biography about drugs, alcohol, rehab or sex abuse this is not the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Funny

    She writes with a sense of humor and is not afraid to poke fun at herself.
    Can make people aware that growing up with money does not guarantee receiving what is really important to a child (ie-a sense of belonging, unconditional love and acceptance of who they are).

    A funny, senstive lady - and this coming from one who never liked, or watched 90210 - I like many others, thought this was a rich kid, who got everything she ever wanted - including fame - just due to her last name.
    When I'm wrong, I'm wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I am into the Celeb. family thing right now. I feel this book was the first step into learning more about Tori Spelling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    I couldnt put the book down....

    I read the entire book in one day and Im not one who likes to read. I bought her book because Im a 90210 fan and I love to watch her reality show. It kept me entertained, it made me cry and it made me laugh, I just could not put the book down. I totally recommend it! Im ready to read her other book Mommywood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Nicely Put

    I think Tori Spelling did a great job writing this book. I thought it was a class act considering all the bad press she has received in the past. She gave her side of the story but didn't try to place blame on everyone else. I think she did a great job!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    This is not a book you keep-you pass it on to friends so they can enjoy Tori's humor too!

    I wish we would have learned more about Tori's 90210 days. There were not too many secrets revealed here. I love how Tori writes like she is talking to you-it makes it such a fast read. I didn't want it to end. I love her reality show with her family. I've learned that so much of Tori's life is like my own. We both have two babies very close in age, love the man in our life, and both made mistakes in the past. It's truly like a mirror, I just don't have a TV show or book. I love Tori's humor and I'm so glad she told her story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5