Customer Reviews for

Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography

Average Rating 4
( 512 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Recommend but where are the pictures?

I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not...
I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not purchased it on Nook.

posted by 4588651 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

No pics

Did not get any pictures in my color nook from this book. :(

posted by KeepingTabz on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 517 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Recommend but where are the pictures?

    I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not purchased it on Nook.

    46 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No pics

    Did not get any pictures in my color nook from this book. :(

    28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Pictures not included.

    Book was good read. Was upset pictures was not included with down load on my nook. Had to go into store to look at book in order to see them. Like pictures to be included if they come with book you buy off shelf.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable, Insightful Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Being a child of the 80s and a fan of Lowe's for years, I couldn't wait to pick it up. I was not disappointed. His stories are very telling, funny, and sometimes heartbreaking. His opening chapter referencing JFK Jr immediately sets the tone of this book. Lowe has clearly poured his heart into this book without holding anything back. Yes, there are lots of name dropping, but what would be the point of sharing the stories if they didn't have that "ah ha moment" or "wow effect". I now have a whole new outlook of the person, not just the actor, that Lowe has become. I also highly recommend this to anyone looking for a real glimpse into the Hollywood process and how a once teen heartthrob was able to jump the gauntlet to serious adult actor.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Interesting and enjoyable

    I'm an old hand at Hollywood Autobiographys - I started with David Niven and have read just about everything out there - the good - not nearly enough, the bad way too many to count and the ugly some of which were too awful to even finish.

    Rob Lowe has done a pretty decent job of walking the fine line of classy not trashy. I've admired his acting skill - never more so than as Sam Seaborn in The West Wing, but his comedy turns in Wayne's World and Austin Powers are so joyfully unexpected that they completely changed my concept of what kind of an actor he was. But to hear the back stories and to understand the journey that got him to those roles makes me appreciate him even more.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    He has a story for everything!!

    I enjoyed this book thoroughly. He is a surprisingly good writer. He has stories about some big names and big places. I highly recommend.
    But better buy the hardcover for the pics. No pics on the Nook??!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    liked it and knew i would

    i enjoyed getting a glimpse of the real rob lowe. there's so much more to him than a pretty face and he told his story well. this book is filled with a lot of little surprises that make you appreciate the authentic actor, activist and family man he is.

    read this book even if you're not a r-lowe fan. his movie and tv making stories will remind you of the value of friendship, family and being true to yourself...and make you thankful for your "regular" job at the office.

    good job lowe and crew.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Great Book!

    I have been a fan for years but wasn't really interested in reading his autobiography til I saw the interview with Oprah. So glad I caught that. Rob Lowe is an excellent writer. Great book - I highly recommend reading it!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    A page turner - great read.

    Great book - impressive writer - his life story is fascinating!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    I still love Rob Lowe, But...

    I am a huge Rob Lowe fan and I was very excited for his book to come out. I really enjoyed finding out about his childhood and reading all of the stories from his childhood that seem almost too good to be true (growing up with the Sheens and the Penns, meeting Sarah Jessica Parker, Darryl Hannah, Janet Jackson, etc before they were famous, being friendly with JFK Jr, and having an affair with Princess Stephanie to name a few).

    However, I am disappointed in his skipping over of certain things and I was left feeling as though this wasn't really an autobiography, but rather a re-telling of his life, only including the good parts. Melissa Gilbert, a huge part of his life, was addressed as his "on and off girlfriend". He barely mentions the sex tape scandal, other than a few lines. Had you not known about it, the few phrases thrown into the book would've been confusing.

    And my biggest disappointment was the way that he handled the West Wing story. As one of my favorite shows (and how I was introduced to Rob Lowe), I was very disappointed in the lack of material written about it AND the way that he addressed the cast and crew. You can see clearly that this is the show the restarted his career and that the production team said from the start that they did not want a star and he was willing to do whatever it took to get onto the cast, including taking a lot less than what he felt he was worth, monetarily. He complains that he wasn't included in anything with his cast, but even in his book he refuses to acknowledge them, never once naming members of the cast other then John Spencer and Martin Sheen. Alison Janey and Dule Hill each merit ONE mention. Not only that, but he gets many facts wrong. Now I will admit to being freakishly obsessed with the show, but even just a casual watcher will realize some of his mistakes. I mean, c'mon Rob, it was YOUR show and you didn't get the season correct for one of the biggest plot lines??
    (It should be worth mentioning that he got other facts wrong throughout the book, facts that are easily google-able before publication, like what color Sarah Jessica Parker's eyes are.)

    All in all, the book is fantastically entertaining and I read it in one day. I definitely recommend it. I still love Rob, but I'm disappointed in the way he handled some of the things that happened in his life.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Great book!

    I have been a Rob Lowe fan for years, since his Outsiders days. It was a great read and interesting to know how he got his start and turned his life around. I couldn't put my nook down!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    A really enjoyable read. He is entertaining and still sooo good

    A really enjoyable read. He is entertaining and still sooo good looking. For anyone who enjoyed his movies in the 80's, this will be an entertaining way to spend some time. I hope that he writes another.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Loved reading Rob's life story up to this point

    Interesting, entertaining, amusing,being a gentlemen in NOT describing the "close encounters" with the women he romanced, but honest about his prowness.
    I read this in 2 afternoon's on my Nook, enjoyed it greatly and wish books weren't so expensive on the Nook, I would buy one every week if not more.
    Thank Rob for you honesty and not sugar coating your upbringing, your struggles and I, for one, am soooo happy you have such great sons and a good marriage.
    Dorothy

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    So Interesting...A Must Read

    I've loved his acting and now I love his writing. I loved the stories about the Behind the Scenes of the Outsiders movie. Stories from the Celebrity Bus Environmental protestors. Childhood stories of him and Chad and growing up with Sheens. It's well rounded and very interesting. It's a great story about his life. Not just celeb life, but life in general. I highly recommend it. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    entertaining

    "Stories I only tell my friends" is Rob Lowe's memoir chronicling his years to stardom, his time with the brat pack (fellow young Hollywood stars like Charlie Sheen, Emilio Estevez, Sean Penn, etc.), behind-the-scenes look at his participation in hit movies like "The Outsiders" (starring young Patrick Swayze, Tom Cruise, Matt Dillon, etc. and directed by Francis Ford Coppola), as well as hit shows like "The West Wing" (starring Charlie Sheen's father as the president of the United States).

    The memoir begins with his time growing up In Ohio, the separation of his parents, and the move with his mother and brother to California. Lowe showed a love for theater since young age, and had shorts stints on commercials and an unsuccessful TV show. He considers quitting showbiz altogether, until his successful casting in "The Outsiders" comes along. As he launches his acting career, Lowe meets fellow wannabe's who are about to become stars themselves, people he refers to as Janet (Jackson), Sarah (Jessica Parker), and Demi (Moore), among many others. Also notable is his acquaintance with John Kennedy Jr., who wonders at Lowe's ability to settle down with his wife, and later puts Lowe on the cover of "George" magazine despite many naysayers (most prominently the "invisible forces" on Lowe's then-show "The West Wing" who lead Lowe to ultimately quit the show).

    As his acting career goes through success to troubles to somewhere in between, Lowe copes with a lack of a father figure, his mother's mental problems, and his various relationships which range from "Little house on the prairie" actress Melissa Gilbert, to Princess Stephanie of Monaco (Grace Kelly's daughter), and ultimately his wife, make-up artist Sheryl (with various flings and scandals in between). I found this book pretty entertaining and a suitable beach read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Rob Lowe is Forrest Gump......

    You may be asking yourself why I say that, well by page 55 I decided Rob is my generations Forrest Gump.

    I may be a little bias I'm from Beavercreek, Ohio so I give him props for his Midwestern "ways", but the kid had "it" from the get go he decided on what he wanted and went for it.

    The Forrest Gump part well you decide for yourself, get as far as page 55 and see if you don't say " My God Rob Lowe is Forrest Gump" :-) this can't be REAL.. but it is all of it .. I will say no more except that I found the book to be very honest, Rob may be extremely handsome but he is also a thinker, and has no problems admitting where he himself has made some mistakes ( as we all have at times in life), overall a very good read .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Funny and interesting!

    This book was a fun read. It mixes humor and real life, as well as some interesting tidbits about acting and the good and bad that go along with it. I'm looking forward to reading his new book - the sequel to this - to see how things changes as he settled down and became a dad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Recommend it highly!

    Enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Neko

    "Aw. Next result."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 517 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26