BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography

Average Rating 4
( 515 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Recommend but where are the pictures?

I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not...
I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not purchased it on Nook.

posted by 4588651 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

No pics

Did not get any pictures in my color nook from this book. :(

posted by KeepingTabz on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 520 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Recommend it highly!

    Enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    A very interesting book to say the least

    Any fan of Rob Lowe"s work should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Fun book

    Interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    lklk,lu

    pllplppplpplplpppllpppppplpllawattttttqqnn.q

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    He tells wonderful tales of his life and is exceptionally well-s

    He tells wonderful tales of his life and is exceptionally well-spoken.  A very nice break from the "hey look at me" sort of memoir that one usually finds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Well written - Enjoyed it to the end

    This book is a good read, not only for Rob Lowe fans, but those interested in life lessons. Enjoyed the insights into the entertainment industry and a chance to see inside the lives of many I have enjoyed watching on the big screen. Gained a better understanding of what they have to give up for that fame, but also the sense of accomplishment gained. As I read the book, I enjoyed watching his first movie "The Outsiders" on YouTube, and also the parts they edited out that Rob played so poignantly. Discovered that Rob Lowe is just as articulate as Sam Seaborn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Cutiepie

    Already read this book a while back. This book introduced me to Rob Lowe. Hard working man!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Rob Lowe's autobiography was pretty amazing. The man has lived a

    Rob Lowe's autobiography was pretty amazing. The man has lived a charmed life from dating Cary Grant's daughter, to seeing the Star Wars characters fighting with broomsticks on set before anyone knew what Star Wars was, to dating Princess Stephanie and clubbing all over Paris, to being on the plane when the 9/11 terrorists did a dry run the week before. He's basically lived a life charmed by happenstance. I found it a fascinating read, but I will say it's basically a book of name-dropping, literally stories of his odd experiences, so if you don't like Hollywood or reading People magazine, I'm not sure this is the book for you. If you do however enjoy a celebrity, I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this book and have to say I also admire the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Excellent! Well written (I was pleasantly surprised) and very e

    Excellent! Well written (I was pleasantly surprised) and very
    entertaining!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Book

    Do shfhhdfdjdgdxevejwishzbdbdjcdddbdjffbfkdhchckvvvjcfcgggvvggvggugiggvggggkggihihhihihighiggototttogtoitiotokkgkkbkkgkkgkkgkkgkkgkkgkkgkkgkkkgkkgogolgoogiigiuvxbhdhfhdhfhhdhfhfhdudhjdjdhfhgkhyyghjjjjjjgffbcbnhjymvjfgfgdcbebcgffffkfkcx.xnxbbsbcncn mjkckkugudjuhcjfugggjhggggkggggggjghhhgdhhjgvhjvhyhhhhhhhhhhhhhgfhhffhfhghghhfhfhfhfbfhfhfhfhfhhfhfjfhhhfgffhfhjghhfffddjfhfhffhfhfjhgfjfjfhghfffjjfjfjfjfhfhvjcjchjcjfjfjfcjcjfcncnccnccjjc

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great read!

    Interesting and easy to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    enjoyed the book...a good summer read

    i should preface by saying that i wasn't really expecting some great piece of literature. the book provided exactly what i thought it would, which was a fun summer read about some interesting people.

    Rob Lowe gives some really great detail on his experiences filming the movie, The Outsiders, which I really enjoyed.

    I found it interesting that he doesn't really give too much mention or detail about his many year relationship with Melissa Gilbert. It was interesting to me because in her book she has multiple chapters are about it. They both write about each other favorably but, I found it interesting on how they each decided to feature such a large portion of their growing up years in their books.

    All in all, it's an enjoyable autobiography. If you are familiar with the "brat pack" and looking for a fun summer read for the beach or poolside, this would be a good choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Might like thisl

    Havent read it yet but might like to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Fun read!!

    I loved reading about all Rob Lowe's experiences while starting in show business. I loved his movie making stories & I found his personal life very interesting. This is a very easy, fun read & it made me want to watch "The Outsiders" for about the millionth time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Very interesting story!

    The Hollywood relationships in this story was amazing to me. Good read and Rob seems like a great guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Would recommend this book

    Well written and kept my interest. Good reading for those who grew up in the 70's and 80's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Good book

    Liked this book would of given this more stars if it would of had pictures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Good read for people of the eighties

    Interesting tidbits about other actors of the eighties.
    Good read for movie fans of the brat pack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 520 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26