Customer Reviews for

Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography

Average Rating 4
( 516 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Recommend but where are the pictures?

I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not...
I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not purchased it on Nook.

posted by 4588651 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

No pics

Did not get any pictures in my color nook from this book. :(

posted by KeepingTabz on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    enjoyed the book...a good summer read

    i should preface by saying that i wasn't really expecting some great piece of literature. the book provided exactly what i thought it would, which was a fun summer read about some interesting people.

    Rob Lowe gives some really great detail on his experiences filming the movie, The Outsiders, which I really enjoyed.

    I found it interesting that he doesn't really give too much mention or detail about his many year relationship with Melissa Gilbert. It was interesting to me because in her book she has multiple chapters are about it. They both write about each other favorably but, I found it interesting on how they each decided to feature such a large portion of their growing up years in their books.

    All in all, it's an enjoyable autobiography. If you are familiar with the "brat pack" and looking for a fun summer read for the beach or poolside, this would be a good choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Might like thisl

    Havent read it yet but might like to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Good book

    Liked this book would of given this more stars if it would of had pictures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Fun, Easy Read

    Rob Lowe tells entertaining stories. I think I enjoy them more because I was raised near his So. Cal. hometown, so a lot rings true and brings back fond memories. He comes across humble and likable. All-in-all well worth the time spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    A little slow but ----

    If you love Rob Lowe, you'll enjoy reading his story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Enjoyed it!!!

    It is just as the title says. Stories about his life path crossing all kinds of people we all know and love. What an extrodinary set of events he experienced in his pursuit to be an actor. It was a fun read.

    It is a reminder that everyone's life has its own set of challenges to over come no matter what your profession and he meets his, head on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Interesting but not my favorite

    His stories and coincidences are intetesting but he can come off pompas. I dont really recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Fun time

    It was guarded fun. Just when i really got into it...it was over. I'd read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Coincidence, I think not.

    Further proving my theory that famous people are in a certain era or area together long before they're famous. Being friends with the Sheens and 7th grade w/ Robert Downy Jr. is just not a coincidence I believe. something must have been in the water. reads a bit like a grocery list w/ any real emotion or thought process, but the stories Are pretty good. even if they are about as revealing as what you'd tell a stranger at a party.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Clearly Written and Enjoyable

    I liked the story about Liza Minnelli especially!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    L

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Engaging, revealing and relatable.

    So great to share the journy with Rob Lowe, I could relate to his early years of rejection and disappointment, when the adults in your life become the burden to bear instead of your support. But eventually you either get it or ya don't, that its your life and not someone else's problem. Life is what you make it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Sodapop you didn't disapoint

    Interesting read. I enjoyed the stories and can't believe what a life he's led.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Good read

    I was a pretty good book, but seems to have left alot out. Not alot of meat to the story. Still pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Review AFTER you read it not when you buy it

    I hate wasting time on reviews that say cant wait to read it. This book is interesting but nit a page turner. Name dropper

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4