Customer Reviews for

Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography

Average Rating 4
( 512 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Recommend but where are the pictures?

I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not...
I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not purchased it on Nook.

posted by 4588651 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

No pics

Did not get any pictures in my color nook from this book. :(

posted by KeepingTabz on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Recommend but where are the pictures?

    I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not purchased it on Nook.

    47 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Pictures not included.

    Book was good read. Was upset pictures was not included with down load on my nook. Had to go into store to look at book in order to see them. Like pictures to be included if they come with book you buy off shelf.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Interesting and enjoyable

    I'm an old hand at Hollywood Autobiographys - I started with David Niven and have read just about everything out there - the good - not nearly enough, the bad way too many to count and the ugly some of which were too awful to even finish.

    Rob Lowe has done a pretty decent job of walking the fine line of classy not trashy. I've admired his acting skill - never more so than as Sam Seaborn in The West Wing, but his comedy turns in Wayne's World and Austin Powers are so joyfully unexpected that they completely changed my concept of what kind of an actor he was. But to hear the back stories and to understand the journey that got him to those roles makes me appreciate him even more.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    I still love Rob Lowe, But...

    I am a huge Rob Lowe fan and I was very excited for his book to come out. I really enjoyed finding out about his childhood and reading all of the stories from his childhood that seem almost too good to be true (growing up with the Sheens and the Penns, meeting Sarah Jessica Parker, Darryl Hannah, Janet Jackson, etc before they were famous, being friendly with JFK Jr, and having an affair with Princess Stephanie to name a few).

    However, I am disappointed in his skipping over of certain things and I was left feeling as though this wasn't really an autobiography, but rather a re-telling of his life, only including the good parts. Melissa Gilbert, a huge part of his life, was addressed as his "on and off girlfriend". He barely mentions the sex tape scandal, other than a few lines. Had you not known about it, the few phrases thrown into the book would've been confusing.

    And my biggest disappointment was the way that he handled the West Wing story. As one of my favorite shows (and how I was introduced to Rob Lowe), I was very disappointed in the lack of material written about it AND the way that he addressed the cast and crew. You can see clearly that this is the show the restarted his career and that the production team said from the start that they did not want a star and he was willing to do whatever it took to get onto the cast, including taking a lot less than what he felt he was worth, monetarily. He complains that he wasn't included in anything with his cast, but even in his book he refuses to acknowledge them, never once naming members of the cast other then John Spencer and Martin Sheen. Alison Janey and Dule Hill each merit ONE mention. Not only that, but he gets many facts wrong. Now I will admit to being freakishly obsessed with the show, but even just a casual watcher will realize some of his mistakes. I mean, c'mon Rob, it was YOUR show and you didn't get the season correct for one of the biggest plot lines??
    (It should be worth mentioning that he got other facts wrong throughout the book, facts that are easily google-able before publication, like what color Sarah Jessica Parker's eyes are.)

    All in all, the book is fantastically entertaining and I read it in one day. I definitely recommend it. I still love Rob, but I'm disappointed in the way he handled some of the things that happened in his life.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    A really enjoyable read. He is entertaining and still sooo good

    A really enjoyable read. He is entertaining and still sooo good looking. For anyone who enjoyed his movies in the 80's, this will be an entertaining way to spend some time. I hope that he writes another.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    So Interesting...A Must Read

    I've loved his acting and now I love his writing. I loved the stories about the Behind the Scenes of the Outsiders movie. Stories from the Celebrity Bus Environmental protestors. Childhood stories of him and Chad and growing up with Sheens. It's well rounded and very interesting. It's a great story about his life. Not just celeb life, but life in general. I highly recommend it. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Fun

    I read this quickly as I couldnt put it down. Fun to read stories about him and the brat pack. He wasn't afraid to tell the truth. Although some of it was egocentric I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Fun book

    Interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    lklk,lu

    pllplppplpplplpppllpppppplpllawattttttqqnn.q

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Rob Lowe's autobiography was pretty amazing. The man has lived a

    Rob Lowe's autobiography was pretty amazing. The man has lived a charmed life from dating Cary Grant's daughter, to seeing the Star Wars characters fighting with broomsticks on set before anyone knew what Star Wars was, to dating Princess Stephanie and clubbing all over Paris, to being on the plane when the 9/11 terrorists did a dry run the week before. He's basically lived a life charmed by happenstance. I found it a fascinating read, but I will say it's basically a book of name-dropping, literally stories of his odd experiences, so if you don't like Hollywood or reading People magazine, I'm not sure this is the book for you. If you do however enjoy a celebrity, I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this book and have to say I also admire the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Excellent! Well written (I was pleasantly surprised) and very e

    Excellent! Well written (I was pleasantly surprised) and very
    entertaining!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great read!

    Interesting and easy to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Very interesting story!

    The Hollywood relationships in this story was amazing to me. Good read and Rob seems like a great guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Would recommend this book

    Well written and kept my interest. Good reading for those who grew up in the 70's and 80's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Good read for people of the eighties

    Interesting tidbits about other actors of the eighties.
    Good read for movie fans of the brat pack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Surprising

    This was an enjoyable book. I have always enjoyed his work. It was interesting and worthy of a recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    With all the ups and downs in his life, he turned out to be a gr

    With all the ups and downs in his life, he turned out to be a great man. Way to go Rob!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Loving it!

    I am still reading this book, but have to say...cannot put it down! It's funny and awakening and lively and grabs you in places and doesn't let you go...it's great to hear about all of Rob's Hollywood friends that I grew up with, too. I would recommend it and have two people in line waiting to read this book. It's a "light and airy" book. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9