Customer Reviews for

Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography

Average Rating 4
( 512 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Recommend but where are the pictures?

I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not...
I really enjoyed reading Rob's book! What a wonderful adventure he led us through. However, I purchased the book on Nook and the pictures that are in the hardback version are not in the Nook version. Why? If I had known this before I bought the book I would have not purchased it on Nook.

posted by 4588651 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

No pics

Did not get any pictures in my color nook from this book. :(

posted by KeepingTabz on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    a fun look behind the scenes in Hollywood

    A quick read and a fun look behind the scenes in Hollywood and into a star's world. Lowe fills the book with fun anecdotes about various film shoots and people he's met and worked with in his life. It's an entertaining read, but it does feel as if he's just skimming the surface. When it comes to candid accounts about his struggle with substance abuse or turning his life around from hard-partying playboy to a mature and well-rounded artist, he really just seems to give you the bare outlines of what must have been very difficult times in his life to date. That said, the stories are a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Excellent

    A must read, I learned a lot more about Rob Lowe then I knew before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Worth your time!

    This was my first autobiography I've ever read, and I loved it! I wasn't all too familiar with Mr. Lowe due to my age, but recognized the face. I loved how honest and refreshing this book was. There was no "I'm a celebrity" fluff nonsense. This book made me see him as a man who has been through the many ups and downs of life. I was excited to connect his many friends, acquaintances, etc to names and faces. This book also helped me discover classic actors, and movies that I had never heard of. It was like being given a guided tour into the industry where you see the good, bad and the ugly. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Well done Rob!!

    Well written, funny with excellent storytelling. I truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    I loved this book.

    Rob Lowe lets us inside his whirlwind life pepered with many famous people. I felt like the proverbial "fly-on-the-wall". An easy read. But very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved him best as Sam Seaborn...

    But very much enjoyed following along as Rob recalls his life before and after fame. Wish him all the best! Thanks for sharing Rob!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Maturing in Hollywood

    The main thrust of this autobiography is that Rob Lowe enjoyed growth in his life. He's fairly honest about his faults, and how could he not admit he was pretty? Getting past both is what was needed, and he shares his stories with us in pretty good detail. Yes, he does gloss over some things, such as that night in Atlanta, and I still don't know why he was left out of the cast raises on the West Wing. If they were such an ensemble cast, why did they hide from him their own negotiations for more money? Finally, speaking of growth, I hope it won't be long before NOOK readers quit using the review process for their complaints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    I loved it! Loved reliving some of his memories of things from growing up as we are about the same age...but reading them from a famous person's perspective and someone that was actually there....so delicious! Loved his reminiscing of people he's known and met and places he's been with his thoughts added as a mature adult thats learned and had time to think about why he did this or that. So relatable even if he is crazy famous. Doesn't matter - he's human. And I also found from reading this book - I really LIKE him. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Could Hardly Put It Down!

    Rob Lowe has written a great book about what it was like to live as one of the infamous "Brat Pack" at the height of the 80's. True to Oprah's review, this book is a real page turner and is difficult, at best, to put down. Definitely worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Enjoyable book!

    What an amazing (and entertaining) autobiography! This was an enjoyable read and I love his honesty. You can tell that he is a genuine person....and a good writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Surprisingly a great read!

    Although I never cared much for Rob Lowe, I did a 180 after reading his book. The only reason I even decided to read this book is due to the fact that Mr. Lowe appeared on Oprah's show and credited his wife of 20 years for his being clean and sober. This piqued my interest.

    Mr. Lowe is a wonderful writer, using great recollections and a certain panache in his writing. His life was not the fairy tale existence that I had imagined, much to his credit.

    It has occurred to me as a result of reading this book that I readily prefer biographies and memoirs to fiction. I guess that's why I read these type of books. I'm pleased to say that "I like Rob Lowe now. He has the courage of his convictions." YAY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Getting to kow Rob Lowe

    I received book as a graduation book and I thoroughly eenjoyed it. It was very well written and had great surprises among those that he associated with. I wish him the best of luck in his future endeavors. This is a great book for anyone especially Rob Lowe fans. (Even if you were once a fan.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. It shows you how hard it is to get anywhere in Hollywood. Rob is such a great writer. I have to watch the Outsiders now. I was really amazed how kind he was to his fellow actors. I am sure some of them wouldn,t be so kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Great book, must read

    I didn't know about Rob Lowe's life. I learned a lot. This book was a very good read, very entertaining and informative. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Well written

    Tells tales of Hollywood before it became what it is today. Kids running around making home videos. More innocence. Had to rewatch The Outsiders after reading it. Well worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    If you grew up in the 80's.....

    You'll love this book. Rob Lowe was part of the culture and his movies will remain part of any teen girl of that era. What I most enjoyed was learning that he's just not a pretty face, but intelligent, with ambition and love for his art. Learning the backstage tidbits of some of my favorite movies, makes me love them (and the actors) even more. What a great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Pretty interesting book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Entertaining Read

    I've always been a fan of Rob Lowe. His writing style is conversational and easy to follow. Don't expect the usual biography/chronological style, but don't let that stop ya. It's entertaining, light and the perfect summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    Extremely well written! Must read!

    Mr. Lowe tells his story with truthfulness and humor. I enjoyed learning of his often happenstance meetings and introductions to other celebrities who would later come into their own or affect Rob's career later in his life. He tells us of not only the sky high "ups" in his life, but the not so great "downs", as well. I flew through this book and you will too. It's a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Well written, recommended

    I am not a Rob Lowe fan, but saw him on a talk show, and picked up the book. First, it is well written and reads well. It actually seems like someone with a brain had a role in writing it, and that is high praise these days in the time of disposable "memoirs." Second - it seems like the whole story is not here, for example, the sex tape issue is kind of mentioned, but no real insights here and if you weren't born yet when that happened, you won't have a clue what he's talking about, in other words, assumptions were made that we were following his every move for his lifetime, not so. Third - yep, he seems to have had a really interesting life and met lots of famous people from Cary Grant to Frank Sinatra to Bill Clinton. But the most interesting parts are the his perceptions or "take" on what his life choices meant and how he finally wised up and got a real life for himself - those are the parts where we really learn something, outside of the namedropping. I hope that he writes again, something like a guide for young actors or for the media-observing public would be wonderful, because he has a perspective on the mass media and a good brain that would make this really valuable to read. Well done Mr Lowe, for what you did write. Now go back and add the bits you left out, and think about what kind of media guide you want to be, and then, please write that too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9