Customer Reviews for

Stories from Candyland: Confections from One of Hollywood's Most Famous Wives and Mothers

Average Rating 2
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A very fun and interesting read!

I really enjoyed reading about the life of Candy Spelling. This is a story that is often grand and over the top, but look who wrote it! The author definitely has a sense of humor and this is one of my favorite celebrity autobiographies. I totally recommend it.

posted by SageCar on June 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Save Your Money.

There is nothing substantive nor enlightening about this book. It is completely boring, amateurish, and self-indulgent. I don't regret buying many books, and I especially enjoy reading biographies, but this book is a waste of paper. In my opinion, it is basically an a...
There is nothing substantive nor enlightening about this book. It is completely boring, amateurish, and self-indulgent. I don't regret buying many books, and I especially enjoy reading biographies, but this book is a waste of paper. In my opinion, it is basically an attempt to take shots at her daughter to dispute relational issues Tori wrote of in her book.

posted by 1197417 on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Save Your Money.

    There is nothing substantive nor enlightening about this book. It is completely boring, amateurish, and self-indulgent. I don't regret buying many books, and I especially enjoy reading biographies, but this book is a waste of paper. In my opinion, it is basically an attempt to take shots at her daughter to dispute relational issues Tori wrote of in her book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    SAVE YOUR MONEY-this is more of a comment than a review.

    There is nothing enlightening about this book. It is boring & uninspiring book and truly a waste of my money. After reading Tori's book i was curious as to what her mother's response would be. I will just say that Candy is a NARCISTS, unappreciative, selfish person and I can go on. She thrives on watching her daughter struggle. Candy fails to realize that she can't control everything and everybody with her millions.Get over it Candy. You will never gain back Tori's love and respect if you dont admit to all the mistakes you've made in the past. Aaron showed much more love to his daughter and admit that you were very jealous of Tori. Instead of embracing the fact that you had a wonderful husband who provided for his family and loved his children very much, you have been nothing but a wicked witch. Also, appreciate that you had a wonderful Nanny who did your job and raised 2 great children. Candy you will be alone for the rest of your life. Money may buy you what you want but love is not one of them. Swallow your pride and realize that Tori has grown to be an honest, beautiful in and out and a smart woman, which is something that you had nothing to do with.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    A very fun and interesting read!

    I really enjoyed reading about the life of Candy Spelling. This is a story that is often grand and over the top, but look who wrote it! The author definitely has a sense of humor and this is one of my favorite celebrity autobiographies. I totally recommend it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth it!

    this book was so boring. i wanted to read it because i wanted to learn the "other" side of the story between her and tori. tori's books are WAY better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    All this Candy and all I got was a bellyache !

    Absolutly dreadful, aweful, horrible. I'd have rather read the back of my tube of toothpaste. I read Tori's book first and thought to be fair, I'd see if her mom Candy is really that wacky.I especially enjoyed the chapter dedicated to the Dick and Jane books from years of old. The answer is no. She is MUCH worse!
    A message for Mrs. Spelling- go into your mansion , find out just how many bathrooms you actually have, find the throne and go sit on it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book in 4 hours...need I say more!

    First I Must agree with the first reviewer just before me. Ditto! I will add this I do feel I understand Candy a little more and she definately Needs Therapy....

    She is a Narcissist and she is a Pack Rat! She has a Huge whole that she can Not fill. Thus all the Excess!!!! Two things stand out to me.

    1.) I really enjoyed the stuff she wrote about the shows and some of the actors...unfortunately that was really only a couple of pages!

    2.) No one would even begin to BUY this book if...Tori had not been out there slaving away to make a name for herself! So actually Candy should be thanking her daughter for any copies she sells!!!! Because no one remembers or cares about what she's writing about!

    I am a person who Loved Aaron Spellings shows!!!! There will Never be another like him. I do not dislike Candy and Love Tori! I bought this book because of the fact my daughter watches Tori on her shows...while I was waiting for my other daughter to buy AP books I came across this and bought it and read it in 4 hours...which means it is a VERY Easy read!!!

    Save yur money and wait till it's in the library!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    candyland was a joke

    i read both of tori's book, loved them except some of the strange parts where her child whatched her have sex and the jokes with her kids on her boobs, that was a bit strange and uncomfortable....but the rest of book loved...decided to give Mom and chance and see her side of the story
    she spends most of the book wanting you to know ho wonderful she is and how she had the money and had everything, not her husband...it was a strange book of bragging about herself, and not giving her family much credit

    she does have some interesting recipes in the book, i put the book with my recipe books

    i am sick of hearing about the fighting between the two of them, i love tori's show, but seriously, you two work things out in private, life is too short...tori, how sad you did not see your dad before he died and let your mom keep you from seeing him..it broke my heart to think of your dad dying wanting to see his little girl and you never came around

    we all have life experiences, i have been through cancer, divorce, and many other challenges, i am not famous, but i have learned you have to forgive and remember who is important in your life and in the end who will be standing next to you....your family

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Would not recommend this book

    This was a boring book. If you want to know more about Candy Spelling I would recommend her daughters book, Stori Telling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    There was not one complete thought!

    Don't waste your money and or precious time!! Book was boring and it seemed throughout the book that she could not have a complete thought and put it down on paper to make sense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring Book Save Your Money!!

    This book is boring to say the least. If you enjoy reading about a person going on and on about themselves on how rich they are or how much money they have then this is the book for you! Save your money and read the books by her daughter Tori Spelling instead! You will find them to be much more interesting and realistic. This mother needs a reality check, how can you write about grandchildren that you have never meet! She has never seen her granddaughter. As for her grandson you can count on your hand the amount of time she has spent trying to get to know him. Candy you need treatment get it soon. If it wasn't for Tori you would never had sold your book Candyland because no one really remembers or remembers you other then being Aaron Spellings wife.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    DON'T... Not a good buy

    I thought I would read this book to see it from her side (already reading Tori's two books)... She just is rude, and some of the things she mentions are just not needed.. I didn't enjoy her book, NOT ONE BIT! She is a Hollywood Mother, who has issues, and is greedy for money!

    Not impressed from her side!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A little bashing....

    Not a bad book. It tells her side of the story. I still like Tori's books better. Good recipes in it though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    If you already like her, this is a book for you.

    I am a HUGE fan of Aaron's work. I have read both of Tori's books. I felt, to be fair, I should read Candy's as well. I've never been a huge fan of her. I came away, from reading this, feeling the same way.

    A delightful written book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Forget this one

    Dont bother with this book. It is super boring and not worth the money. To find out how bad it is find 10 friends and split the book and pass it around. Sure wish I did! Or didnt!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    BORING!!!!!!!!

    It almost put me to sleep! Candy makes herself look like Mother of the Year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    The worst biography I've ever read.

    Don't waste your money and or precious time!! Book was boring and it seemed throughout the book that she could not have a complete thought and put it down on paper to make sense. It was full of grammatical errors and was not focused.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not what it was cracked up to be...

    I was really expecting more from Candy Spellings book seeing as how she stirred up all this controversy with her daughter but it was a pretty blah book. I read it in about a day but just to read it. I think that she's very hypocritical about what she wants for her grandkids and kids. I wouldnt recommend anyone waste the money buying it... You can have my copy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WASTED MONEY..& TIME

    Wow... that's the first thing I thought when I finished Candyland. A friend gave it to me and needless to say, I wanted to give it right back the next day. Candy's rude and realy doesn't care about who she hurts in the process of trying to gain more attention than she deserves and a few extra bucks(which she doesn't need might I add) by selling a book. Leave the writing to the people who are passionate about it, not just to tell tall tales and get back at your daughter. At least Tori's book was interesting and kept me awake. There was variety in Mommywood; love, adventures, humor. Candyland had one theme: obnoxious.

    -S.B.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Actually a good read

    As a fan of Tori, I needed to read the "other side" of the Tori/Candy Saga and I was pleasantly surprised. Candy's book is a great, easy read (hint hint beach read) and gives you first hand account of being married to Aaron Spelling. I enjoyed Candy's stories and loved the recipes she included. The monkey bread is to die for. Will def read a sequel!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute Book!

    Good book, know that if you are buying this book its all about Candy Spelling ... if you want dirt and dish on Tori Spelling then go buy her book. This book is beautifully written, its very sweet! My favorite part of this whole book was towards the end, when Candy writes a letter to her two grand children, everything she says is so sweet! and SO true, for so many kids in this world. Gives your a great little insight in Candy's life.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3