Customer Reviews for

Stork

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A New Personal Favorite-- READ IMMEDIATELY!!!

    I started reading this and could NOT put it down. Katla is an original character and never loses her head. I love how strong she is and how she helps her friends come into their own as well. Magic is talked about throughout the story, but it is secondary to Kat's growing relationship with Jack. I sincerely hope that there's a sequel in the near future, I feel like Kat's story isn't over yet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book, more than I thought I would. I found

    I really enjoyed this book, more than I thought I would. I found the Nordic mythos used as the basis of this novel to be a refreshing change of pace from the usual vampire/werewolf supernatural stuff that everyone else is doing. I liked all of the characters, especially the main character, Kat, who had just the right mixture of humor, sarcasm and honest emotion. The pace of the book moved well, and it was well-written. Can't ask for much more than that. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Fun!

    Is that katla on the cover? Fun book to read. Age appropriate book. Nice family book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Loved this book! It was so original and different to anything that I have ever read. I recommend it to all it is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    To Starstork

    Can you please get more members for Silverclan? Its at silver first result. Please help!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good change of pace

    While I find the fantasy genre to always be a place a good book can be easy to find, originality is not always as easy to find. There are tons of unique spins on similar topics, but when I heard about Delsol's story I couldn't resist. Throw in the gorgeous cover they worked with and I was itching to get my hands on a copy of my own. I had no prior knowledge of the Norse lore associated with the story and referenced throughout, but that made it more of a page turner for me, more of the unknown and new to discover.

    Katla suffers from being uprooted as a high school student from California to Minnesota, and if that wasn't bad enough in her opinion she discovers she's a Stork. Without revealing too much, Katla's realized she's meant to be a member of an elite and very ancient secret order. Let's just say it was understandable that it took her some time to come to terms with the discovery and her new place in all that was revealed.

    Slowly but surely she begins to make head way in the friends department and can I just say... you'll have a lot of fun trying to figure her and Jack out. Secrets are revealed, hardships are weathered, and a lot of tough decisions need to be made, and Katla's caught in the middle of it all.

    If you're looking to step out of the normal fantasy material, this might be a good change of pace for you, but without completely turning you upside down. I'm looking forward to see where the rest of this series will go, with the second installment, Frost (Stork, #2) which hit shelves in October 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great read

    I love reading and books like this is why. I loved this book I really related to the characters and felt for what they were going through. Very well writen I give it five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    My Daughter Loved the Book! Great YA read.

    My daughter, who usually doesn't enjoy reading, was turning pages faster than I have ever seen her turn pages with this book. Here is her opinion: "It is an amazing book! The story was great and I absolutely loved the twist at the end. I might even read it a second time because I enjoyed it so much. I would definitely love to get the next book, Frost. The main character had a very interesting background and several twists in the story made the book even more interesting. Wonderful read!" Great job Ms. Delsol on writing a book that my daughter would read and actually enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!

    I can not believe that I did not read this book sooner! It was sooo good that I read it under a few hours!!

    What I loved about this book is the uniqueness of it. I loved how Ms.Delsol is able to bring to life a classic tale that has been passed on through generations. Ms. Delsol story immediately grabs the reader and taking them on a ride of a life time. Ms. Delsol also presents some great back round history to the book that is does not drag it down. It gives way more to the story and brings the characters to life before the readers eyes.

    The love interest in this book just gave me a happy grin! I love watching the love unfold before my eyes. Whats more is that i Love how Ms. Delsol took another classic tale and weaved it in with the Stork tale. Well done Ms. Delsol. I would have never though this much out of the box, but the love interest really intrigued me and held me there.

    This story over all is great! I loved reading every moment of it but most of all I love the uniqueness of it. Such freshness to a story makes me want to read more! Her characters, plot, and attention grabbing details ensnares the reader to continue on till there is no more. I can't wait to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Don't miss this one!

    So did this book measure up to what I thought it was going to be?

    What I liked: 1) Katla. She was a great female heroine. Miz Delsol absolutely captured the kind of girl that I think makes a role model for other teens. Her spirit, and characteristics, the issues that she faces as a teen, even the way she talks were completely and 100% personable. 2) Norse legends. I love books that have their roots somewhere in cultural myths or legends. And this was a brand new one for me. It was obvious in reading that Miz Delsol did her research and knew how to morph this legend into a modern-day story. 3) The surprise ending. I'm always pleased when an author manages to surprise me, because let's face it, it doesn't happen very often. I think that when you read as much as I do, you start to recognize the patterns that books take (not in a bad way, but there are only so many outcomes books can have, right?) It's a little like the chaos theory, I think. Anyway, I was surprised at the decision that Katla ended up making as her first big Stork decision. So not what I expected, but I was very happy! 4) Hot farmer boys. I can see Jack now...wranglers, Stetson......*drools on keyboard* Wait...no, it's cold there! He's probably not wearing a Stetson. 5) The writing. I have to compliment Miz Delsol's style here. I read this book in the dead of summer, it's triple digit weather here in TX, but I was so completely immersed in the story that I had a blanket wrapped around me, and I swear I was surprised when I couldn't see little puffs of steam when I would breath. It was great.

    What I didn't like: 1) Well, the whole hat/scratch your head thing was kind gross. I wonder if that's part of the legend? 2) I won't say I didn't like it, but the big secret that you find out about Jack felt kind of out of left field. I had to do a doubletake, and I was thinking, whoa...what just happened? But I'm sure it's going to make the next book very interesting!

    Overall thoughts: Read this book! It was everything I wanted in a story and more. The plot was great, very interesting and was rooted in a Norse legend. The characters felt like real people, and the writing makes you feel as if you are living the story right alongside Katla and her friends! Make sure you get a chance to read Stork, and look for the sequel, Frost, coming out on October 11, 2011. That's one book I can't wait to get my hands on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Less than Great, But not Horrible

    I discovered Stork while filling my Amazon cart with books I'd had on my wish list for a while. When this popped up on the recommended list, the word "Stork" automatically caught my attention - I was, after all, newly pregnant and quite fascinated with everything baby. The synopsis drew me further in and though when I purchased the book there were not a lot of reviews out yet, I decided to go with it anyway. I mean.storks.babies.debut novel.you can't lose! Right?

    Unfortunately, wrong. The book did not live up to my expectations. While the premise was definitely unique (especially for the current YA scene), the execution of it was truly hit or miss. While the author's writing (and by writing I mean word usage/grammar/spelling/etc) was good enough to keep me reading, I definitely got tired of hearing about the protagonist's obsession with name-brand clothing. What got me, especially, was that Katla seemed like such a shallow, self-absorbed, selfish little chit of a thing.yet she was tasked with something that I, at least, believe is monumentally huge. Choosing which parents "deserve" a child? THAT sort of life-changing, awe-inspiring decision has been given to -that- girl? Ahh, NOW I understand why we have parents who abuse their children!

    That was probably harsh, and I suppose that I am biased. Having struggled with infertility and having seen and heard of truly horrible things happening to children who belong to people who just really don't deserve children.well, that appalled me. Katla even lied at one point about her visions to her mentors and "sister" storks, just to cover her own tush. Yeah, that's just not okay.

    I admit, the twist with Jack was interesting. The character development with Katla was there, and really, the -bones- of the story are very, very good. But, as I said, the execution was lacking. I'll read the sequel, but I'll be going into it with lower expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    omg awsome

    book is great read for all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by John Jacobson, aka "R.J. Jacobs" for TeensReadToo.com

    Katla is a city girl. Fashion, Starbucks, it's all a part of her life. Well, it was. After the discovery of her parents' planned divorced, Katla and her mother return to their roots - a small town called Norse Falls up in the mountains of Minnesota. Pretty much everyone in town is a descendant of the Vikings, or Norsefolk, including Katla and her mother. But Katla's only half - her father's roots are French. Katla comes to town with some less than exciting prospects - a jerkwad named Wade tries to get in her pants after a not-so-brief drinking session, the apple-delivery boy (and secret flannel fetishist) named Jack has some weird connection to her, and the store across from her grandfather's - owned by a woman named Hulda - is showing some strange signs. But that's only the beginning...

    Katla is actually a Stork. No, not the bird that parents use as a flimsy metaphor for sex, but a member of a local, ancient order of Nordic women who see the 'essences' of children. When a child comes to them in a dream, so does the child's possible vessel - usually three different women. Things are heating up in the chilly town of Norse Falls, and Katla's just beginning to uncover one of many Nordic secrets.

    Wendy Delsol takes every little bit of my mythology and fairy tale buff's dreams and melds them into a book that is enjoyable to its core. The plot, even without all of the references, is cool; a look at pregnancy in all of its forms (and vessels) and its effects on people, and a job that actually relies on thoughtful decision making. I love how the very basis of this novel is about Katla learning to make intelligent choices that affect the people in her daily life. The other part, involving Jack and his possible connection to Katla, is also swoon-worthy. The ending, though, was not like I expected it to be. It was kind of out of the blue and I would have liked more build-up to it, even though in retrospect I should have seen SOME of it coming.

    The characters in this novel are just as well done, in a lot of different ways. I love that Katla is a fashion-conscious girl who isn't entirely dumb, and how she's smart, but not extremely so. Aside from her talent for clothes (and that little Stork problem) she's normal, which was nice. Her assimilation to small town life was also refreshing - being a small town resident myself, that entire portion of the novel was comforting and fun to read. Jack was an even more refreshing male lead - I mean a guy who can wear all that flannel and John Deere apparel would normally get on my nerves, but it was cute on him. Hulda was a nice change of pace, as well - the wise woman figure done with some nice finesse. Everyone else was cute and small-towny, but not overly so. Like stepping into a Debbie Macomber book cover. Just pleasant and nice to be around...

    Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2