Customer Reviews for

Storm (Brigid Kemmerer's Elemental Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

First of all, one clarification should be made: a couple reviews

First of all, one clarification should be made: a couple reviews on B&N of this book mention that it is a novella and too short- but that is incorrect as STORM is a full-length book, while there is a prequel novella to it that book is called ELEMENTAL. So don't be f...
First of all, one clarification should be made: a couple reviews on B&N of this book mention that it is a novella and too short- but that is incorrect as STORM is a full-length book, while there is a prequel novella to it that book is called ELEMENTAL. So don't be fooled by that.

So many of my lovely blogger friends were just raving about Storm, and they all told me that it's an excellent paranormal romance that I was sure to love! It sounded interesting enough on its own, but the fact that I had so many people singing its praises made me pick it up and read it as soon as I had the chance!

And Storm fully delivered on every promise made- it's an excellent YA paranormal, that doesn't neatly fit in to the stereotypes or ruts that most other paranormals fall in to. It actually seemed to me as if it was able to incorporate elements commonly found in contemporary YA which I thought was brilliantly done and a welcome inclusion!

Reasons to read:

1.Contemporary YA elements:

I'm staring off with this reason because I think it's the most interesting and it was my favourite thing about Storm. Even though this is definitely a paranormal book, I loved that the characters actually acted like teenagers with real-life problems. They just happened to me regular teenagers with some special powers. They still go to school and have jobs; Becca has a bit more freedom from her parents, but they are somewhat involved and play a role in her life. There are highschool issues of gossip and reputations, sex, drinking and all sorts of other topics brought up that ask some really good questions. Becca deals with so many other heavy issues, and there are times when these things take center stage. And I LOVED that Brigid was willing to bring these questions up, because they aren't dealt with very often in YA and they are very rarely included in YA paranormal books at all. And because of this...

2.The characters are so easy to relate to:

I like characters that I can connect with, and I like having something (no matter how small) in common with them. Giving them real life problems is a perfect way to do this, because I can remember my friends and I going through some simlar experiences. But I also appreciated that Storm featured strong characters, who were determined to fight through it and find a way to deal with these issues rather than run away from them.

3.Paranormal at some of its best:

I love a good paranormal read, because it's so exciting to try and figure out all the secrets and mysteries going on in the background. And everything's more exciting when people have super, magical powers. It just makes highschool THAT much more fun to read about. But I like it even more when it isn't an overused idea, and something that's kind of creative. We aren't seeing a whole lot to do with the elements in paranormal right now, so I liked that Brigid centered her series around this concept. Plus, Brigid does romance SO well, which just always seems to fit in so well with paranormal YA books. She's VERY good at building the romance and sexual tension between characters, but without making it the main focus of the book.

4.Four completely different brothers:

The Elementals series focuses on a number of different characters, but the four Merrick brothers really take center stage. I loved reading more about them, and getting to see them interact with each other and those around them because you get an idea of how different and independent they are, yet how complementary. It was a really neat way for Brigid to show this by using four brothers. And really, between the four of them (and mysterious boy #5) there's something for everyone.

Storm is an incredible debut, and definitely a series to watch. I think it's a great book for fans of paranormal YA looking for something a little different yet still comfortable and reliable, yet also a really great read for fans of contemporary YA who really want to branch out and try something new. And everyone in between is just going to really enjoy it, because it has so much going for it.

ARC received from publisher for review.

posted by EverAfterEsther on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

I liked the story line and enjoyed the read, but sadly I was dis

I liked the story line and enjoyed the read, but sadly I was disappointed on one end. As a person who reads a little of everything, I get that for a story to be realistic a certain amount of cursing is necessary (at least that's the general rule it seems)....But DANG! W...
I liked the story line and enjoyed the read, but sadly I was disappointed on one end. As a person who reads a little of everything, I get that for a story to be realistic a certain amount of cursing is necessary (at least that's the general rule it seems)....But DANG! When an author takes the name of someone's god and uses it as a curse word A LOT, than it just brings down the quality for me. So please, consider that for some of your readers it is highly offensive to say : God and Jesus Christ as a curse word. I'd rather you drop an F bomb than that! But who knows, maybe you do it on purpose to relay your personal beliefs - or lack thereof. Just hoping Ms. Kemmerer will think on it next time, though I doubt it. For this reason, I won't be buying anymore of her books.

posted by Small_1 on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I liked the story line and enjoyed the read, but sadly I was dis

    I liked the story line and enjoyed the read, but sadly I was disappointed on one end. As a person who reads a little of everything, I get that for a story to be realistic a certain amount of cursing is necessary (at least that's the general rule it seems)....But DANG! When an author takes the name of someone's god and uses it as a curse word A LOT, than it just brings down the quality for me. So please, consider that for some of your readers it is highly offensive to say : God and Jesus Christ as a curse word. I'd rather you drop an F bomb than that! But who knows, maybe you do it on purpose to relay your personal beliefs - or lack thereof. Just hoping Ms. Kemmerer will think on it next time, though I doubt it. For this reason, I won't be buying anymore of her books.

    49 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    First of all, one clarification should be made: a couple reviews

    First of all, one clarification should be made: a couple reviews on B&N of this book mention that it is a novella and too short- but that is incorrect as STORM is a full-length book, while there is a prequel novella to it that book is called ELEMENTAL. So don't be fooled by that.

    So many of my lovely blogger friends were just raving about Storm, and they all told me that it's an excellent paranormal romance that I was sure to love! It sounded interesting enough on its own, but the fact that I had so many people singing its praises made me pick it up and read it as soon as I had the chance!

    And Storm fully delivered on every promise made- it's an excellent YA paranormal, that doesn't neatly fit in to the stereotypes or ruts that most other paranormals fall in to. It actually seemed to me as if it was able to incorporate elements commonly found in contemporary YA which I thought was brilliantly done and a welcome inclusion!

    Reasons to read:

    1.Contemporary YA elements:

    I'm staring off with this reason because I think it's the most interesting and it was my favourite thing about Storm. Even though this is definitely a paranormal book, I loved that the characters actually acted like teenagers with real-life problems. They just happened to me regular teenagers with some special powers. They still go to school and have jobs; Becca has a bit more freedom from her parents, but they are somewhat involved and play a role in her life. There are highschool issues of gossip and reputations, sex, drinking and all sorts of other topics brought up that ask some really good questions. Becca deals with so many other heavy issues, and there are times when these things take center stage. And I LOVED that Brigid was willing to bring these questions up, because they aren't dealt with very often in YA and they are very rarely included in YA paranormal books at all. And because of this...

    2.The characters are so easy to relate to:

    I like characters that I can connect with, and I like having something (no matter how small) in common with them. Giving them real life problems is a perfect way to do this, because I can remember my friends and I going through some simlar experiences. But I also appreciated that Storm featured strong characters, who were determined to fight through it and find a way to deal with these issues rather than run away from them.

    3.Paranormal at some of its best:

    I love a good paranormal read, because it's so exciting to try and figure out all the secrets and mysteries going on in the background. And everything's more exciting when people have super, magical powers. It just makes highschool THAT much more fun to read about. But I like it even more when it isn't an overused idea, and something that's kind of creative. We aren't seeing a whole lot to do with the elements in paranormal right now, so I liked that Brigid centered her series around this concept. Plus, Brigid does romance SO well, which just always seems to fit in so well with paranormal YA books. She's VERY good at building the romance and sexual tension between characters, but without making it the main focus of the book.

    4.Four completely different brothers:

    The Elementals series focuses on a number of different characters, but the four Merrick brothers really take center stage. I loved reading more about them, and getting to see them interact with each other and those around them because you get an idea of how different and independent they are, yet how complementary. It was a really neat way for Brigid to show this by using four brothers. And really, between the four of them (and mysterious boy #5) there's something for everyone.

    Storm is an incredible debut, and definitely a series to watch. I think it's a great book for fans of paranormal YA looking for something a little different yet still comfortable and reliable, yet also a really great read for fans of contemporary YA who really want to branch out and try something new. And everyone in between is just going to really enjoy it, because it has so much going for it.

    ARC received from publisher for review.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved this story. Supernatural, but so different than what you would normally find. The writing is very fast-paced, the characters are written well. I'm looking forward to the next book :)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Loved it!

    I hate all these long reviews on B&N. Readers don't want a recap; this is not a journal!
    The Elemental books are a quick, entertaining read. I can't wait for the next one!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    BEEP! BEEP! This is a warning from the National Weather System,

    BEEP! BEEP! This is a warning from the National Weather System, be advised that a large storm is forming...We ask that you seek shelter immediately....

    Yeah, this book is totally sweet! Let me tell you that once you read the first page you are their control and there is no way out. The plot line of this book rocked. Four brothers all elemental, smokin' hot with I don't give a crap alpha attitude and you fall in love. I like that each brother is unique in their voice and their characters.Their attributes to who they are just fall off the pages!

    I love that even though this book focuses mainly on Chris, the reader can learn more about the other brothers without giving too much away. It's like she leaves the reader a clue as to what brother to expect in the next book. The reader is left will just enough of what brother is like to fall in love with him and eagerly await for their book.

    The love interest certainly takes a whole new spin. I like that this girl is made to fit Chris. She is like his polar opposite. I really adored how fate really worked in Becca life. They always managed to meet at the same time, same place,etc. They were meant to be.

    Storm is an fantastic start to a new series. With a whole new fresh spin on paranormal and love, Kemmerer will take you like a Storm. Sweeping the reader fast and furious, hold on tight. This Storm is a strong one!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Effortless and entertaining

    I cant even begin to describe...
    Ive been looking for a fresh new book and this was it.
    I LOVED the writing.. everything about it.
    I RECOMMEND.
    You have my blessing..

    P.s. beware of swearing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Surprise Hit!

    (If you purchase Storm on Nook, it gives you the first book, Elemental (#0.5) which is a novella, for free.) OMGoodness! I couldn't put these books down! They both were a surprise hit for me! This story is full of action, adventure, suspense, and let's not forget about the guys. Yeah, they're hot but they're good too and hilariously funny at times. There's also a swoon-worthy romance to balance out all of that "maleness". I enjoyed the alternating POV's which were easy to keep track of and flowed nicely from one chapter to the next and on a personal note, the author nailed the setting. How do I know? Because it's where I grew up! Old Mill High School was a rival of ours, and I've driven on Ritchie Highway a bazillion times and Annapolis Mall was thee place to shop. (It still is.) The characters were relateable and in fact, Becca and Quinn are strong females who also are a great example of true friendship. And when I think about those Merrick brothers, I feel like this: I loved Gabriel, LOVED.HIM. I totally wanna hang out with him, exchange snarky jabs and blow stuff up. He is the one I would be BFF's with, I would've crushed on Nick, dated Chris and punched Michael in the face (or at least fantasized about it). Basically, I want them to adopt me. Then there's New Kid aka Hunter. *sighs* He's completely swoon worthy with just the right amount of danger mixed in.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Storms are coming.

    Dear readers,
    If I had to tell you in one word what this book is like, I would say either unbelievable or predictable. It was always obvious what was going to happen next in the book. I definatly couldn't put the book down until the end of the day when I finished the book. This is a great science fiction book, but I only recommend it to mature readers because of the language and some pg-13 sections of the book. This book could've used less swearing. 4 stars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2012

    Entertaining

    I've read all the books in this series, and they're entertaining easy reads, but fairly surface in detail and scope.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    interesting...

    but it really is for young readers, grown us may want to pass on it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Actually, not bad at all.

    I got this title just as a quick time waster hoping for some mindless enjoyment and I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Of course there will be some comparison of this title to Twilight, but this one was better written. A great little time waster for the young adult crowd.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    To !

    They do it so intelligent people can use the details provided to make an informed decision. It's called "reading" and it's what most of us on this site came to do. Go back to the sandbox if you can't handle too many words.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Storm picks up about 5 years after where Elemental leaves off.

    Storm picks up about 5 years after where Elemental leaves off. Four totally hot brothers, Michael, the twins Gabriel and Nick, and Chris Merrick are not only to die for, they also have the ability to control the elements, earth, air, fire, and water. When leaving school late one evening after a class, Becca Chandler notices a guy getting beat up in the parking lot. She intervenes, and manages to help save the youngest of the Merrick brothers, Chris. Chris is beaten up pretty badly, and she is able to get him home, only to find that the oldest brother, Michael, is rude, questions her motives, and kind of scares her a little bit, especially when she mentions that she gave Chris some water. Chris is a water Elemental, and just like his brothers, a very powerful one. The last thing the Merrick brothers need is to break their agreement not to use their powers and have the town call in the Guides to deal with the issue. Try as she may, Becca can't seem to stay away from Chris. Then a new boy, Hunter, appears on the scene, who also seems very interested in Becca. Hunter seems like a really nice guy, but are Hunter's motives pure? On top of that, Becca's father who left her and her mother has popped back into her life, but is his reason for suddenly appearing really about Becca, or is there more to the story?


    I can't even begin to tell you how much I loved this book. These four guys are such typical guys, hot guys mind you, that have supernatural powers. The characters are superbly written and you just can't help but fall in love with each of the brothers. Sure, they fight with each other, like you would expect brothers to do, but they fiercely love and protect one another also. Brigid Kemmerer has outdone herself in writing these characters and making them seem so real. Then there is Becca. I really loved Becca. She has had a really rough time, especially since her ex-boyfriend has spread lies about her, and now everyone picks on her all the time. She and Chris have some real chemistry going on, and Becca even ends up discovering a lot about herself and who she really is. Hunter is the new kid that enters the picture in this novel. He's hot, he's nice, he says and does all the right things, sometimes he seems to good to be true, and he is interested in Becca also. Actually, I liked Hunter a lot, and I kept being torn between which guy I wanted Becca to be with. So yes, there is plenty of romance in this book. There is also plenty of action, pretty much nonstop action. From fighting for their lives to fighting with each other over trivial things, these brothers never have a dull moment.


    Needles to say this story is fast-paced, the plot is great, and there are twists and turns around every corner. If you are a YA reader, then Storm is one of those books that you are not going to want to miss. I loved it and I highly, highly recommend it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    andi

    Good story liked it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Just ok

    I was just ok for me. Not bad but not great. Thats just me though.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Haloo?

    Can someone tell me where thunderclan is currently camped?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2015

    Hello? Anyone still here

    Is anyone still here i want to be in storm clan...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Rainy

    A sandy colored she cat with blue eyes padded in and looked around

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Darkstar

    Welcome to Stormclan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    The book is definitely worth five stars.

    This book would be interesting to fantasy fans of any age. The plot is novel, complex, and carefully presented. The book is well written. The characters are nicely developed. Though the protagonists are teens, the author engages her older readers, too. The book is definitely worth five stars. I'll be reading more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11