Customer Reviews for

Storm Cycle

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    Almost...

    You offer this as a hardback for 3.99 online, but 7.99 in e-book format... Looks like my Nook will have to wait till the price is right...

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Great read-I really like Iris Johansen and when you add her son it gives a slightly different edge or twist to the style.

    I recomend this book for readers who enjoys a little mystery, a hint of romance and thrill of the race against time read. It's also a fast read a little out of reach but not too much too make it unrealistic. A the same time it does give a sense of the out there beyond a every day sequence of events. I enjoyed it. I all ways seem to enjoy Iris Johansen's books and I'm starting to like the books they co-write.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    I think this was a great mystery book! Awesome read!

    I think this was a great mystery book! Awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Y Storm cycle is excellent

    All the characters are well matched to each other and the side stories are all relevant by the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    good story

    I really enjoy books that Iris and roy write together.there action,drama,technolgy,spy and updated. Not a lot of swearing or sex but well rounded stories.
    Dr. Rachel Kirby is in charge of a supercomputer that gets lots of computers together when people arent using them and leads projects one for NSA and other research one for the cure of a dease her sister is dying from. Someone tries to kill Rachel. Someone else was stealing her cycles on computer through backdoors.Tavak is the genius who figured out how and uses her computer to call her when hes trapped in a pryamid with bad guys tring to kill him. He is trying to find out all the pieces of cell regeneration that a Egyptian Dr. hundreds of years ago had and her followers hid around world. Of course the bads guys want the information anyway they can and are working for a drug company that will loose billion of dollars if they can find the cures she had. Cant put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Recommended

    It is a quick & entertaining read. I enjoyed it very much, I read it on my three day weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Storm Cycle

    I have always enjoyed Iris Johansen's novels and now that she has partnered with her son (I noticed many other authors doing this), I wanted to check them out. "Storm Cycle" is okay, but not exceptional. There is the exotic Egyptian location and ancient lore, a strong protagonist in Rachel Kirby (whose goal is to find a cure for her dying sister), an adventurous male lead, John Tavek. Tavek tells Rachel he can help her find a cure for her sister, but being the conniving character he is; he has other plans. A good premise and a lot of action, but the characters were not likable, for many reasons - one that comes to mind, although Rachel is strong and intelligent, she is also rude. I enjoyed their first joint venture together and will check out their next novel, but this one is not a keeper.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Storm Cycle

    I have just started this book and am finding it really hard to put it down! It seems to catch you right off and you just want to keep turning the pages.I am only about halfway through it but if the second half is anything like the first then it promises to be a page turner. A great read as far as I am concerned. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Book on CD

    This is one of the most poorly read audio books I have ever listened to. I bought it to listen to on a 2 day road trip and by the end of the first few hours I wanted to throw the CDs away. I love Johansen's books and looked forward to hearing this one. The narrator made the men sound smarmy and patronizing and the emphasis she put on certain words was maddening...kind of like the cadence used by flight attendants as they tell you how to use the oxygen mask. While I will continue to buy and enjoy Johansen's books I will never buy another CD narrator by this woman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    I enjoyed the interaction between the characters. Racheal's single minded focus on getting the formula takes them through all sorts of adventure.

    Her sisters help and John's undying devotions is holds you all the way through to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3