Customer Reviews for

Storm Front (Dresden Files Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 2073 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(943)

4 Star

(607)

3 Star

(316)

2 Star

(112)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Excellent start to a great series

At times funny, touching, snarky, scary, and exciting, this book is a great introduction to the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher. Mr. Butcher has created an excellent character in Harry Dresden, who, while being in unrealistic situations, seems to have realistic rea...
At times funny, touching, snarky, scary, and exciting, this book is a great introduction to the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher. Mr. Butcher has created an excellent character in Harry Dresden, who, while being in unrealistic situations, seems to have realistic reactions (for a hero, that is). I cannot recommend this book enough to fans of fantasy and mystery, as well as the other following books in the series.

posted by Piper68 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but often annoying.

I read the rave reviews about these novels and decided to give them a go. While they are good, there are parts which are annoying as hell. Harry's depressing introspection really detracts from the story in my opinion, and his very annoying habit of doing the wrong thing...
I read the rave reviews about these novels and decided to give them a go. While they are good, there are parts which are annoying as hell. Harry's depressing introspection really detracts from the story in my opinion, and his very annoying habit of doing the wrong thing while he explains that he is doing the wrong thing makes me cringe. This is most often evident in his dealings with Lieutenant Murphy. To paraphrase, "I'm doing the wrong thing, I know it, Murphy will be pissed, but I'm gonna do it anyway because I'm an idiot, and I don't like myself very much." This grew wearisome by the second novel, and I can't see myself reading any more of these if this pattern continues throughout the series.

posted by SandmanSlim on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2091 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 105
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent start to a great series

    At times funny, touching, snarky, scary, and exciting, this book is a great introduction to the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher. Mr. Butcher has created an excellent character in Harry Dresden, who, while being in unrealistic situations, seems to have realistic reactions (for a hero, that is). I cannot recommend this book enough to fans of fantasy and mystery, as well as the other following books in the series.

    35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Great read! I highly recommend this book!

    This book is clearly one of my favorite books! I myself have a very difficult time getting actively engaged in books. I buy many books hoping to get captured by one of them so that I will not want to put the book down. This book has done it! I didn't know anything about the Dresden Files Series until the twelfth book already came out. I read reviews on that one and it sparked some curiosity into purchasing the first book. After reading the first few chapters, I was hooked!

    The thing I love most about this book is how laid back and down to earth the main character(Harry Dresden) is. I also enjoy finding out what this paranormal investigator will get his hands into. Another great thing I enjoy about the book is that it takes place in Illinois, and the author provides very great detail in the surroundings in an actual location which people could picture in there own heads.

    This is a great read, and I highly recommend this book! I can't wait to purchase the next books in the series!

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Everyone Loves Stormfront

    This book, this series, is mystery done right - the key clue given in the first chapter or three, and you never see it because it's just part of the background. I've never recommended this book to anyone who didn't enjoy it.

    This book is fantasy for myth and folklore enthusiasts - it's real old-world style, with a powerful grounding in cultural heritage. It has a real pre-Tolkien feel to its mythology.

    I bought this book for my dad, who's not a big reader. It takes him ages to read a book. He finished it in two weeks and was eager to go to the store to get the next!

    I can rarely pick up a new book in this series and not read it from start to finish in a single sitting.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    Even better than TV

    Wow! I do not read science fiction and generally do not even watch it in TV or movies but I did watch "The Dresden Files" on the sci fi channel a few years back. Something about the character really appealed to me. So when I saw that the show was based on a series of books I had to pick one up. I was not disappointed. The characters are really brought out well and you get more of a glimpse of Harry's backstory that one season of TV was not able to do. The concept of a practicing wizard that can be found in the Chicago yellow pages is so innovative it deserves a read just for that! Harry takes the reader on a really fun ride through the world of wizrds, vampires, mages and all sorts of other worldly creatures in his efforts to help the Chicago police department solve what starts out as two truly gruesome morders that could only have been accomplished but a powerful other worldly thing. Unfortunately, Harry is the only one in the city anyone thinks is powerful enough to pull off that level of magic so he must work fast to be solve the murders, prevent more murders (including his own), and clear his own name. An awesome first novel in a series. I can't wait to read more.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, different beach read

    I tend to like fantasy elements in my books sometimes, which is probably what attracted me to this. The fact that B&N was giving it away free to Nook owners was also an important factor in my decision. I always marvel at people who pick apart a book like this because it isn't literature like Charles Dickins. So what? Sometimes you want a good, fun, fast, easy, entertaining read. That is exactly what this is. The main character isinteresting (with a lot of backstory that I hope comes out in future books) and the supporting characters are quirky and fun in good supporting roles.

    This is a fun book to take to the beach this summer or to read before bed after long days at work. You don't have to think too much. It's not terribly hard to figure out where it is going or what the resolution will be, but Butcher takes you on a fun path to get there. I never once thought of stopping my read even after I figured out what the outcome would be. There is a lot to be said for that. Butcher's style is simply entertaining and that is what I am looking for when I read fiction.

    In short, if you are looking for something a little offbeat, fun and entertaining, I would recommend picking up this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Okay, but often annoying.

    I read the rave reviews about these novels and decided to give them a go. While they are good, there are parts which are annoying as hell. Harry's depressing introspection really detracts from the story in my opinion, and his very annoying habit of doing the wrong thing while he explains that he is doing the wrong thing makes me cringe. This is most often evident in his dealings with Lieutenant Murphy. To paraphrase, "I'm doing the wrong thing, I know it, Murphy will be pissed, but I'm gonna do it anyway because I'm an idiot, and I don't like myself very much." This grew wearisome by the second novel, and I can't see myself reading any more of these if this pattern continues throughout the series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    The Adult Wizard named Harry

    A truly average read. Harry is a wizard who moonlights working with the PD on cases that don't seem to be "normal" crimes. I think the series would have more promise if the publisher would allow the author to finish writing the book rather than sum up all of the loose ends in the last 10 pages.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun read for those looking for the Not So Serious

    I got into the Dresden Files by accidentally coming upon the ill-fated TV series. Intrigued, I read the first book and was hooked. The Dresden Files, to put it simply, are fun. The characters are not to over the top, and each story (or book) is new and refreshing. If you need some easy reading escapism that will both make you laugh and give you a taste of drama, this is the series for you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You should read this book... right now!

    This is a phenomenal genre-hopping series! An entertaining read, encompassing all the best elements of fantasy, action, humor, and suspense! While the Dresden Files series is classified as SF/Fantasy, it should be recommended for readers from all genres, including Mystery, Fiction, and even Romance! Part Harry Potter and part Hard-boiled detective story, this series will get you hooked and keep you wanting more!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ah, No!

    I read a 100 pages and couldn't take it anymore.

    4 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Butcher definitely has an interesting writing style. I thought i

    Butcher definitely has an interesting writing style. I thought it was pretty good in that sense, but found a lot of grammatical errors missed by the editors. I also was surprised at how Harry seems to be surrounded by women (hardly any men to be seen in this book) who have imperfections that are put on display making them look totally weak, and if that wasn't bad enough, they all want to "get with" him. It's a total rip on women. I will not be reading the rest of the series.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    was hooked almost instantly.

    Couldn't put this book down & now look forward to reading the remaining books in the series. I enjoyed the characters, though at times I was a bit perplexed by their actions.

    Highly recommend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Dresden Files #1 - a solid single to right field

    The mashup of genres represented in the book is definitely one of its most appealing features. Dresden makes a great detective character complete with women issues, frumpy clothes and generally disheveled life. The plot is solid but unamazing with only a few twists,turns and surprizes. Likewise the magic elements are a bit trite by current fantasy standards. There isn't a clear, consistant and unique "system" of magic that you get with today's top fantasy writers. Those issues aside the genre bending did make for an enjoyable pulp fiction read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Way too much fun!

    This guy can write a good, entertaining story - that's all I can say. His main character, Harry, is dry, and funny, and seems to know better than another else how he comes across to unsuspecting people. Action, laughs, and a good mystery: perfect!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Love this series, hate the formatting

    When I bought this book, I figured that it would be relatively free of errors, seeing as it is from a popular author, but I was highly dissappointed in the electronic version. Two pages into the book there was a formatting error that made that sectiin almost unreadable. Although this is one of my favorite books, I almost put it down because if the amount of errors. A great series though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    OK at best

    I was not impressed by this book. I finished it because I was sort of interested in how it ended, but I would not read another. There was way too much hand-wringing by Dresden - yeah, we get it, he's a good guy. No need to beat the reader over the head with it.

    If you want a good, easy to read page turner, I would recommend Harry Potter, the Percy Jackson series, or Hunger Games instead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Well....

    I don't understand why people like this series. Maybe the writing gets better as the series progresses but this book is very poorly written. I'm glad I got it for free. The TV series was fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Outstanding series

    The first few books are a quick read, and a bit "slow" in terms of quality. However they are merely introducing the cast of characters and the books begin to take off and this becomes in my opinion one of the best series of books I have ever read.
    One drawback is the author is not complete in the series, so be prepared to be left on some cliffhangers for many years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Good start to an amazing series

    I'm a big fan of this series. The characters are real and relatable and flawed. This i not the best book in the series, but it's a good start. Give it a read, you won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Not for me

    Didn't enjoy this at all!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2091 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 105