Customer Reviews for

Storm Front (Dresden Files Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 2106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(961)

4 Star

(620)

3 Star

(316)

2 Star

(114)

1 Star

(95)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Excellent start to a great series

At times funny, touching, snarky, scary, and exciting, this book is a great introduction to the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher. Mr. Butcher has created an excellent character in Harry Dresden, who, while being in unrealistic situations, seems to have realistic rea...
At times funny, touching, snarky, scary, and exciting, this book is a great introduction to the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher. Mr. Butcher has created an excellent character in Harry Dresden, who, while being in unrealistic situations, seems to have realistic reactions (for a hero, that is). I cannot recommend this book enough to fans of fantasy and mystery, as well as the other following books in the series.

posted by Piper68 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but often annoying.

I read the rave reviews about these novels and decided to give them a go. While they are good, there are parts which are annoying as hell. Harry's depressing introspection really detracts from the story in my opinion, and his very annoying habit of doing the wrong thing...
I read the rave reviews about these novels and decided to give them a go. While they are good, there are parts which are annoying as hell. Harry's depressing introspection really detracts from the story in my opinion, and his very annoying habit of doing the wrong thing while he explains that he is doing the wrong thing makes me cringe. This is most often evident in his dealings with Lieutenant Murphy. To paraphrase, "I'm doing the wrong thing, I know it, Murphy will be pissed, but I'm gonna do it anyway because I'm an idiot, and I don't like myself very much." This grew wearisome by the second novel, and I can't see myself reading any more of these if this pattern continues throughout the series.

posted by SandmanSlim on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2124 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 107
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Great start to a great series, but a little pricy for a 238 page book.

    Start hear to step into Dresden's Chicago. This is a great story that stands as a pinnacle in the genre of urban fantasy. It provides enough magic to satisfy a fantasy fan, enough grit to satisfy the detective story fan, and hints at the personal growth to come as Dresden evolves.

    My only complaint, It's the same price as a paperback for the e-book. And it's short! 238 pages, and they go too fast. It's a common complaint with the e-book market, and their comes a time when you just bite the bullet to read a good story. I don't regret this purchase, it should encourage Jim Butcher to write more, but the price did bother me enough to stick in the craw a bit while reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    LOVE this series!!!

    I read the whole series and cannot wait for the next adventure with Harry Dresden. Totally love these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Brilliant

    Wonderfully written, this book draws you in, although it can be a little inappropriate at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good, but disappointing

    I was really excited to read this book, but was a little disappointed. After the book finished it was good, it finished on a good note, but the hero of the book was a little pitiful. He was definitely likable but why did so many bad things have to happen, finally at the end one thing worked out for him, but not everything. There was so much bad things and not enough good or neutral things to even out the bad. Overall it was a good book but very disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Meh...

    I like the idea of a present day wizard story and while I liked the story overall, I just couldn't seem to really get into it. I don't know why. I think maybe it's because I didn't really like Dresden. To me he is not a very likable character and I had a hard time relating to him... I guess... I am not feeling compelled to read any more of this series but if it was right in front of me, I would probably the next book to see if my opinion changes. Sorry this is so vague but like I said meh...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Beginning of Greatness

    The Dresden Files are an epic fantasy/mystery novel series written in the perspective of the main protagonist Harry Dresden. Not only is Harry, Chicago's only professional wizard, but the only one listed under the yellow pages. He is a witty, sarcastic, and likable sort of guy, if you are not one of the many supernatural creatures lurking in and out of the city. The author, Jim Butcher, does a fantastic job of designing complex characters, as both the good and bad have thought out intriguing personalities. With most mystery novels, the reader will be able to pay close attention and figure out what is going on. The author helps us out with this by placing all vital information at the beginning of the story, so there will be no surprises popping up out of nowhere. This does not mean that all new characters are introduced in the beginning, so if a new character is responsible for something, the reader will have ample time to figure it out. These books are almost like an adult version of the Harry Potter series. There is a little bit of swearing, adult themes, and gory details so it is best suited for teenagers and adults. If you like action, suspense, humor, and detail, be sure to give Storm Front a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yuck

    I didnt like this book. It was just not something that I would normally read. If you are into wizards and magic youll like this.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Author

    I was looking for something different when i read this book years ago. Jim Butcher has come a long way and I have been a follower since the biginning. I actually turned some of my friends to start reading and they love him. This book is worth every moment of your time. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Not bad, not bad....

    This was a B&N eBook freebie and I found the Harry Dresden character interesting enough to find out more about him in the sequels to this book.

    Harry's down-on-himself attitude sometimes got a little annoying, but in general I found his struggle to be a human being interesting.

    This book had surprising moments of insight into some of the characters' emotional lives and the interpersonal relationships rang true to me.

    I will definitely give the next book in this series a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    Good Read

    this is the first book i have ever read by jim butcher, and it was good, the characters were great and the plot was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dresden is truly Spellbinding!

    This is a great book. I couldn't put it down and finished it within 24 hours. The book is well-written and very original. Even with it being a sci-fi, it was grounded enough to give some semblance of reality. The story is action-packed with just the right amount of humor. You find yourself rooting for Harry as the underdog. I definitely recommend this book as a "must" read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it.

    I don't usually like sci-fy books but this one is very exciting. It is witty and very entertaining. Dresden the main character is very smart and funny. Every time he is in a bad situation he is able to come up with a clever way to escape and survive. Loved it and definitely recommend highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This is a great beginning to the series. The book is fantastic and the series just keeps getting better as Jim Butcher finds the voice of Harry Dresden.

    I find myself looking for imitations to tide me over until the next book comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Like they say: " The book is better than the movie". In this case TV show.

    I really liked the TV series on the scifi channel and was very disappointed when they ended it. But I watched a some stuff online that lead me to the author and more stories. My 1st love is fantasy but this has fire my imagination much in the same way. You will love them!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Audio Book Experience Wasn't That Great

    I found this book to be original and interesting, but I really didn't care for the writing style or settings.

    I'm a huge fan of Fantasy-Fiction and was attracted to the concept of a modern day wizard with vampires and other Fantasy characters intermingled with "real world" people and places.

    The story takes place in a mob-style Chicago and involves a lot of the seedier elements of society. The writing style is all first person, from a character that is more than a 'bit sexist.

    I found that I was uncomfortable with some of the situations. Sexual overtones are ever-present. Definitely wouldn't recommend this book for my children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Butcher is a Master

    Jim Butcher has created a new hero for our modern times. When most heroes are obviously going to save the day, you never can tell with Harry Dresden, until you finished read one of the intruging and delightful books in the series. I recommend all his novels to everyone of every age. It's fun for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Great Fantasy/Sci-Fi

    Great character development extends beyond this first book throughout the entire series. Plot development is perfect and practically seamless.

    Get ready to buy the entire series if you pick up 1 of the Dresden Files novels. Harry Dresden is a fallible antihero that plays by his own rules. Loved by few, hated by many, and wanted dead by some really powerful folks, Harry leads a life of isolation and danger. And the fun part about it is that he takes it all in stride with a razor sharp sarcastic wit.

    Jim Butcher has very quickly become one of my favorite authors due to this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    Start of an awesome series

    I'm only writing one review for this series as I would be repeating myself. The stories are all well thought through and build from book to book. I have to deliberately set down each new book or I will read it at once. They are fun and touching. Before I read any new book I like to re-read the series to date and each time, the books hold up for another read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Looking forward to reading next in series

    Not bad for 1st in the series. I felt it was slow moving at first - then the story grabbed me with the appearance of Bob the Skull, a hilarious character. Good blend of magic, mystery, and modern day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is just ok. If you want to read something that is fun, fast, and kind of trashy, then this is the book for you. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed reading Storm Front. It is just a book that is read to kill time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2124 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 107