Customer Reviews for

Storm Front (Virgil Flowers Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Like really good macaroni and cheese

John Sandford has been phoning the Prey and Virgil Flowers books in for a while now and Storm Front does not depart from that pattern. But that isn't nearly as harsh a criticism as it may sound. Sandford has long since developed the characters and there is only so muc...
John Sandford has been phoning the Prey and Virgil Flowers books in for a while now and Storm Front does not depart from that pattern. But that isn't nearly as harsh a criticism as it may sound. Sandford has long since developed the characters and there is only so much tweaking that he can do. So the books are now more like chapters in an ongoing saga. Most of the stomach-clenching gore and the bracing ethical quandaries that marked his earlier work are gone. What remains is as familiar and enjoyable as a plate of really good macaroni and cheese. It isn't particularly healthy and you couldn't eat it every day but it leaves you with a satisfied smile.

posted by Windriven on November 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

The decline in John Sandford novels continues with Storm Front.

The decline in John Sandford novels continues with Storm Front.  There are consistent differences in the various Sandford series: Davenport hunts killers; Kidd uses technology to fight corporations and government; Virgil tries to outsmart criminals and this book continu...
The decline in John Sandford novels continues with Storm Front.  There are consistent differences in the various Sandford series: Davenport hunts killers; Kidd uses technology to fight corporations and government; Virgil tries to outsmart criminals and this book continues that tradition.  The story tries to be clever instead of dark but it just doesn't make it.  The best way I can describe the blandness of the story is like when you are watching Goodfellas on regular TV instead of the original movie and everything is PG and kind of boring.  I was glad this story doesn't have constant killing but unfortunately its also missing real conflict and drama.  There is no soul searching, no new personal awareness or awakening.  The story doesn't make you get emotional or cause you to think, it just walks you down a road toward the ending.

The book is pretty short and a very easy read.  There are multiple inconsistencies in the story.  Without giving away stuff related to the plot line, one inconsistency was Virgil receives military retirement pay, writers pay from magazines, BCA agent pay, lives a pretty cheap lifestyle and is described in the story as heading towards affluent yet he rents a home, can't afford an overseas flight and needs to make boat payments with 16% interest.

The story could take place anywhere as there is almost no Minnesota color.  There are MN towns and businesses but none of the descriptive attributes, ways of conversing or doing things that are unique to MN.Sorry, but this book is just not that good and certainly doesn't rise to the quality of earlier novels.

posted by GM_likes_reading on October 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    The decline in John Sandford novels continues with Storm Front.

    The decline in John Sandford novels continues with Storm Front.  There are consistent differences in the various Sandford series: Davenport hunts killers; Kidd uses technology to fight corporations and government; Virgil tries to outsmart criminals and this book continues that tradition.  The story tries to be clever instead of dark but it just doesn't make it.  The best way I can describe the blandness of the story is like when you are watching Goodfellas on regular TV instead of the original movie and everything is PG and kind of boring.  I was glad this story doesn't have constant killing but unfortunately its also missing real conflict and drama.  There is no soul searching, no new personal awareness or awakening.  The story doesn't make you get emotional or cause you to think, it just walks you down a road toward the ending.

    The book is pretty short and a very easy read.  There are multiple inconsistencies in the story.  Without giving away stuff related to the plot line, one inconsistency was Virgil receives military retirement pay, writers pay from magazines, BCA agent pay, lives a pretty cheap lifestyle and is described in the story as heading towards affluent yet he rents a home, can't afford an overseas flight and needs to make boat payments with 16% interest.

    The story could take place anywhere as there is almost no Minnesota color.  There are MN towns and businesses but none of the descriptive attributes, ways of conversing or doing things that are unique to MN.Sorry, but this book is just not that good and certainly doesn't rise to the quality of earlier novels.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Maureen Johnson

    I value the reviews from "actual readers" of the books, however, when ALL of the reviews are "ANONYMOUS" I see little value in their content!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Ok

    I found the protagonist's laissez faire attitude towards criminals very offensive. Even more offensive is this author's propensity to allow so- called likeable criminals to achieve their goals without being punished. It pisses me off, so I really end up hating the book. Elijah should have been stripped of his ill gotren gains, I don't CARE how "noble" his aim was. He was a criminal, his daughter assisted in his criminality, and they should all be punished appropriatelly.

    And a field cop who doesn't carry a gun is ridiculous and would not have survived as long as Sandford pretends this one has.

    Guess I'd better stick to the Lucas books, or eschew this author entirely.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Yawwwwn, another attack on Judeo-Christian roots?

    Yawwwwn, another attack on Judeo-Christian roots?

    6 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Like really good macaroni and cheese

    John Sandford has been phoning the Prey and Virgil Flowers books in for a while now and Storm Front does not depart from that pattern. But that isn't nearly as harsh a criticism as it may sound. Sandford has long since developed the characters and there is only so much tweaking that he can do. So the books are now more like chapters in an ongoing saga. Most of the stomach-clenching gore and the bracing ethical quandaries that marked his earlier work are gone. What remains is as familiar and enjoyable as a plate of really good macaroni and cheese. It isn't particularly healthy and you couldn't eat it every day but it leaves you with a satisfied smile.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Dawne

    Up until now I could swear Virgil walked on air. The previous books were fabulous. I waited along time for this book and was completely disappointed. I wish I had read the reviews first, I could have saved 12 dollars. I found it very long winded. It could of stood 100 pages less, which isn't saying much as it was only 260 pages for 12 dollars. Even the last Davenport book wasn't so good. I guess the author has run his course in this series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I'm a big-time Sandford fan, but was a little disappointed with

    I'm a big-time Sandford fan, but was a little disappointed with this effort. Flowers is an interesting character, but Sandford's appeal with all of his major characters has been (in the past) their edginess and reaction to intense danger. Not much of that in Storm Front. I think the plot line is imaginative, and the topic of ancient artifacts is frest for Sandford fans, but the tale has too many players, and too little real danger to be up to Sandford's standards. He did say in an interview I happened to attend that it was harder and harder to write about criminals since so much technology has changed law enforcement but this was not his best attempt to get around it. All that being said, I think lots of folks like the Flowers character as an anti-Davenport and I happen to like them both.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    very disappointed in this book, was expecting some exciting stor

    very disappointed in this book, was expecting some exciting story, got nothing.  Where oh where has Mr. Sandford gone?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    I have been a huge fan of John Sandford for many years and have

    I have been a huge fan of John Sandford for many years and have looked forward to each new story with anticipation. I purchased Storm Front
    with just such excitement only to be very disappointed. There is no plot, little if any story; in short, it is just silly. What happened???

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    F'ng Flowers Fantastic

    I read the reviews & i put this read off! What a mistake i made. This was a great escape. Now, i wish it was summer & I could head on down to the 'crick.' & thanks for the shout out to all the great Welshmen off of HWY 68.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    I little boring for me. I was expecting more intrigue and substa

    I little boring for me. I was expecting more intrigue and substance. I enjoy the Lucas Davenport series and have become a fan of Virgil, this book however not so much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Juli127

    I usually love John Sandford's books, but this book is written with anothet author, Sandford's partner, Michelle, according to the intro. Very different, and somewhat awkward writing style. I had to read many sentences several times to understand the meaning. Definitely not like his usual great flowing writing. Reminded me of early Janet Evanovich- great humerous writer- but this style of wtiting for Virgil books did not work. Not much plot, corny and silly throughout.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Middle ground for a Virgil Flowers book

    I love the Virgil Flowers/Lucas Davenport series but found this one hard to get through. Not quite what I expected from this series, but because I am such a fan of John Sandford and these awesome characters, I purchased it. So-so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Sanford is always good

    I pre-ordered this book, since I am such a fan of Sandford. It did not disappoint. I so enjoy the little tongue-in-cheek comments by both of his main characters and Virgil Flowers tends to be especially profane. He always somehow "gets the girl," but doesn't really end up with any of them. He's a handsome but a slippery dude. I also enjoy the small-town and rural setting, since so many books are set in big cities.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Not up to par

    I usually love Sandford books and liked Flowers a lot until this book. It felt like a weak attempt at humor with a very boring story line. Hope he doesn't rush another book but goes back to quality writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    This book is horrendous.  I have read every book in the Virgil F

    This book is horrendous.  I have read every book in the Virgil Flowers and Lucas Davenport series and in general enjoy John Sandford's writing style.  I cannot believe Sandford wrote any part of this book.  I ke[p waiting for something big to happen, something interesting, and it just never did!  Worst book I have ever forced myself to finish.  No way will I purchase another book that is supposedly by Sandford until I read the reviews. Horrible, really just horrible. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Check it out?

    Sorry to say, I do not think this sounds like John Sandford. Please don't co=author your books Mr. Sandford.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Not a good read. Weak effort on the authors part.

    My review title says it all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    I have read (and own) every Sanford book .......he's always been

    I have read (and own) every Sanford book .......he's always been great.......this is not Sanford and not Virgil. Who kidnapped these guys?


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    This was unbelievably TERRIBLE. I've read all of his Prey and Vi

    This was unbelievably TERRIBLE. I've read all of his Prey and Virgil Flowers books and this was the
    worst.  Since I've always liked/loved his work - this is a shock.  It is pretty obviously not HIM writing the
    book and he acknowledges that much. I found it hard to read, didn't flow, syntax was often wrong and the book seemed disjointed at times. I definitely do NOT recommend anyone waste their time on this one.  Too bad, guess he's made enough money he doesn't care anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10