BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Storm Front (Virgil Flowers Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Like really good macaroni and cheese

John Sandford has been phoning the Prey and Virgil Flowers books in for a while now and Storm Front does not depart from that pattern. But that isn't nearly as harsh a criticism as it may sound. Sandford has long since developed the characters and there is only so muc...
John Sandford has been phoning the Prey and Virgil Flowers books in for a while now and Storm Front does not depart from that pattern. But that isn't nearly as harsh a criticism as it may sound. Sandford has long since developed the characters and there is only so much tweaking that he can do. So the books are now more like chapters in an ongoing saga. Most of the stomach-clenching gore and the bracing ethical quandaries that marked his earlier work are gone. What remains is as familiar and enjoyable as a plate of really good macaroni and cheese. It isn't particularly healthy and you couldn't eat it every day but it leaves you with a satisfied smile.

posted by Windriven on November 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

The decline in John Sandford novels continues with Storm Front.

The decline in John Sandford novels continues with Storm Front.  There are consistent differences in the various Sandford series: Davenport hunts killers; Kidd uses technology to fight corporations and government; Virgil tries to outsmart criminals and this book continu...
The decline in John Sandford novels continues with Storm Front.  There are consistent differences in the various Sandford series: Davenport hunts killers; Kidd uses technology to fight corporations and government; Virgil tries to outsmart criminals and this book continues that tradition.  The story tries to be clever instead of dark but it just doesn't make it.  The best way I can describe the blandness of the story is like when you are watching Goodfellas on regular TV instead of the original movie and everything is PG and kind of boring.  I was glad this story doesn't have constant killing but unfortunately its also missing real conflict and drama.  There is no soul searching, no new personal awareness or awakening.  The story doesn't make you get emotional or cause you to think, it just walks you down a road toward the ending.

The book is pretty short and a very easy read.  There are multiple inconsistencies in the story.  Without giving away stuff related to the plot line, one inconsistency was Virgil receives military retirement pay, writers pay from magazines, BCA agent pay, lives a pretty cheap lifestyle and is described in the story as heading towards affluent yet he rents a home, can't afford an overseas flight and needs to make boat payments with 16% interest.

The story could take place anywhere as there is almost no Minnesota color.  There are MN towns and businesses but none of the descriptive attributes, ways of conversing or doing things that are unique to MN.Sorry, but this book is just not that good and certainly doesn't rise to the quality of earlier novels.

posted by GM_likes_reading on October 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Maureen Johnson

    I value the reviews from "actual readers" of the books, however, when ALL of the reviews are "ANONYMOUS" I see little value in their content!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Yawwwwn, another attack on Judeo-Christian roots?

    Yawwwwn, another attack on Judeo-Christian roots?

    6 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Dawne

    Up until now I could swear Virgil walked on air. The previous books were fabulous. I waited along time for this book and was completely disappointed. I wish I had read the reviews first, I could have saved 12 dollars. I found it very long winded. It could of stood 100 pages less, which isn't saying much as it was only 260 pages for 12 dollars. Even the last Davenport book wasn't so good. I guess the author has run his course in this series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    I have been a huge fan of John Sandford for many years and have

    I have been a huge fan of John Sandford for many years and have looked forward to each new story with anticipation. I purchased Storm Front
    with just such excitement only to be very disappointed. There is no plot, little if any story; in short, it is just silly. What happened???

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    This book is horrendous.  I have read every book in the Virgil F

    This book is horrendous.  I have read every book in the Virgil Flowers and Lucas Davenport series and in general enjoy John Sandford's writing style.  I cannot believe Sandford wrote any part of this book.  I ke[p waiting for something big to happen, something interesting, and it just never did!  Worst book I have ever forced myself to finish.  No way will I purchase another book that is supposedly by Sandford until I read the reviews. Horrible, really just horrible. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    I have read (and own) every Sanford book .......he's always been

    I have read (and own) every Sanford book .......he's always been great.......this is not Sanford and not Virgil. Who kidnapped these guys?


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    This was unbelievably TERRIBLE. I've read all of his Prey and Vi

    This was unbelievably TERRIBLE. I've read all of his Prey and Virgil Flowers books and this was the
    worst.  Since I've always liked/loved his work - this is a shock.  It is pretty obviously not HIM writing the
    book and he acknowledges that much. I found it hard to read, didn't flow, syntax was often wrong and the book seemed disjointed at times. I definitely do NOT recommend anyone waste their time on this one.  Too bad, guess he's made enough money he doesn't care anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    One would have thought I'd won a lottery, when I picked up 'Stor

    One would have thought I'd won a lottery, when I picked up 'Storm Front' at my local library a few days ago.
    Long awaited, I could not start reading it soon enough.....
    Checking the first page it shows that Mr.Sandford has copied James Paterson and got himself a co-author. Bad move. This is not our usual Virgil. I did not finish the book, a first for me and John Sandford...
    In three words ....... Chinese fire drill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    This was a big disapointment. I love Sandford's books. This bo

    This was a big disapointment. I love Sandford's books. This book was not his normal great story telling. I felt thought it was boring and had to many
    people to keep track of. I didn't like it much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Tommie: My first review. Do not recommend.

    I am on page 36 and am not sure I will be able to finish this book. The characters readers of the Flowers series have come to know, will wonder what happened to them. Did they all suddenly decide its better to be hip and inexperienced instead of knowing their job through their years of experience. Virgil said he thinks its blood but has to wait for the crime scene tech's to come out. But he could put a little spit on paper and find out sooner..........REALLY????? John when and why did you decide to change these characters for the teen age readers? I doubt very much if I will take the chance on another book in this series, though I have enjoyed the other books very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Free ipod

    Kiss your hands three times repost this on three books then look under ur pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    APPRENTICE DEN

    Apprentices sleep here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Stormy

    No *she whispers and disapears*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Charm

    Falls down and starts crying =,(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    not up to par

    the writing didn't even sound like Sanford's style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Loved it.

    Really enjoyed the humor throughout. Great reading as usually. Love Sandford's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Ash

    Im quiting this rp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Kynaie

    She lies down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Weak. Clearly not his best

    Same as above

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Rotten

    The person who coautored this stinker of a book must have written all the higher reviews. I view Sandford as as traitor to his readers by putting his name to a hack's book so it'd get published & sell. You cheated us of or money and hope you loose readers over this betrail. Nect time give money directly to some woman you want to impress instead of stealing it from readers who expexted their money's worth from a Sandford novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2