BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Storm Glass

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read!!

I loved it. I want everyone I know to read it (along with the Study series of course). I picked it up last night and before I knew it, it was 4am. The only problem I have with Maria Snyder's books is that I wish they'd go on and on forever. They never seen long enou...
I loved it. I want everyone I know to read it (along with the Study series of course). I picked it up last night and before I knew it, it was 4am. The only problem I have with Maria Snyder's books is that I wish they'd go on and on forever. They never seen long enough - even thought this one was over 440 pages. I enjoyed Opal's story and was glad she ended up with who she did. I also liked seeing characters from the Study books in the story. I can't wait for the next one to come out and look forward to anything that involves the Ixia/Sitia world.

posted by sj9642 on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Falls Flat - Huge Disappointment

Usually I am a big fan of Maria V. Snyder, but this book comes close to being an epic fail. The lead character is strongly developed, but it is difficult to like her. It was frustrating when I kept expecting her to display more hero-like characteristics, but she was a c...
Usually I am a big fan of Maria V. Snyder, but this book comes close to being an epic fail. The lead character is strongly developed, but it is difficult to like her. It was frustrating when I kept expecting her to display more hero-like characteristics, but she was a constant disappointment. She is kidnapped several different times throughout the book but someone else always ends up saving her, she constantly makes idiotic choices that put her into even worse situations, and I won't even go into how screwed-up her love-interests are. All of the minor characters lacked depth. The plot was so fragmented that at the end I was left confused and downright disappointed (Why was Janco used to save them? How could she not tell that her bf was an impostor? Why would she leave the guy she "loves" to experiment with someone else?). This was not the quality of work I have come to expect from Maria V. Snyder.

This book was a huge disappointment and a big break from Poison Study and its sequels.

posted by 1369646 on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!!

    I loved it. I want everyone I know to read it (along with the Study series of course). I picked it up last night and before I knew it, it was 4am. The only problem I have with Maria Snyder's books is that I wish they'd go on and on forever. They never seen long enough - even thought this one was over 440 pages. I enjoyed Opal's story and was glad she ended up with who she did. I also liked seeing characters from the Study books in the story. I can't wait for the next one to come out and look forward to anything that involves the Ixia/Sitia world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A new Chapter:

    Opal studies at the Keep with the other magicians. She doesn't feel she's living up to expectations. She continues with her glass making skills at a shop outside of the Keep, creating animals that help the magicians communicate from a distance. While making glass figurines, which helps her relax, she's urgently called back to the Keep. There's a problem with the Stormdancer's Orbs. They're shattering, killing the Stormdancers and making it impossible to fill the orbs with energy. Opal must travel there to discover the why the glass is shattering. While there are other glass experts, it's possible that the glassmaker used magic to enhance the orbs. Opal must leave immediately to help solve the situation. During the journey, Opal and her magician companion are attacked; it's clear that someone doesn't want the Stormdancer's Orbs working or maybe someone just wants to steal the secret recipe for themselves. Opal must be careful not to reveal too much information to anyone, unless she wants her life to be in severe danger. Can she solve the Stormdancer's problem and help them fill the orbs before it's too late or will she be stopped?

    Opal's adventure is set in the same world as Yelena from Poison Study, Magic Study, and Fire Study. Characters overlap in the series, extending knowledge from the previous series. It's good to read the previous books prior to this series, but it isn't necessary. I really enjoyed reading about the workings of glass blowing. It's something I've always wanted to try. Opal's tale is just as addicting with danger, romance, betrayal, jealous, and magic. It's hard to put this book down, it's so addicting. I'm already eagerly awaiting the next installment of the tale - which comes out Sept 1st of this year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Relaxing read - should be read following the Magic Study series

    Storm Glass is an adventure which follows a character that was in the Magic Study series. Recommend reading that series first as it introduces and develops many of the characters that are in Storm Glass, as well as defines the main character. It is a good book, although it moves too fast through some of the "magic" details - how, why, etc. - leaving the reader a little confused and feeling like something was missed. There is a mild cliffhanger at the end, leaving us wanting for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I am glad the series is still going!!

    I loved the first 3 books and i was hoping she would keep going, and when she did I read this book in 2 days ( work is so annoying getting in the way of reading time). Great story line! I get sucked in to the setting its old fashion but not really. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    Falls Flat - Huge Disappointment

    Usually I am a big fan of Maria V. Snyder, but this book comes close to being an epic fail. The lead character is strongly developed, but it is difficult to like her. It was frustrating when I kept expecting her to display more hero-like characteristics, but she was a constant disappointment. She is kidnapped several different times throughout the book but someone else always ends up saving her, she constantly makes idiotic choices that put her into even worse situations, and I won't even go into how screwed-up her love-interests are. All of the minor characters lacked depth. The plot was so fragmented that at the end I was left confused and downright disappointed (Why was Janco used to save them? How could she not tell that her bf was an impostor? Why would she leave the guy she "loves" to experiment with someone else?). This was not the quality of work I have come to expect from Maria V. Snyder.

    This book was a huge disappointment and a big break from Poison Study and its sequels.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Stupendous

    In Sitia the Stormdancer clan is near panicked over some recent deadly incidents. An apparent diabolically clever traitor has killed some glassmakers and destroyed the glass orbs they were creating that is needed to catch elemental power. They know this unknown adversary must be stopped before the realm is devastated beyond recovery by the power of unabated torrents.-------------

    Master Magician Cowan assigns glassmaker and apprentice magician Opal Cowan to investigate the deadly incidents as he believes her two skills make her uniquely qualified to learn what is going on. The two males who seem interested in her, Kade the Stormdancer who grieves the death of his twin and Ulrick the glassmaker who is a long time friend, help her. None of them realize the peril they place themselves in from crafty foes; none of whom have any compunction with killing someone even a person they have known for years.-----------------------

    This is a terrific mystery fantasy told mostly by the unconfident Opal, who believes she is a failure due to her inability to expand her magical skills, which is ironic as she was a heroine in MAGIC STUDY. The action-packed story line is fast-paced, but character driven while the whodunit is fun to follow. Fans of the Study trilogy will enjoy returning to that world as Maria V. Snyder writes an entertaining coming of age simply superb fantasy whodunit. -------------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    ???

    Are any of this authors books for preteens or teens???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    A great read, something that keeps you guessing

    Following on from the "Study" series you follow a magician glass maker through her training and are quickly thrown into a very indepth hiararchy of political intrigue and espionage and are kept guessing all the way through the book to some unexpected events.

    Would strongly recommend this to anyone who has ready the "Study" series as you'll already know some of the politics in this book but it isn't necessary as you are filled in on the basics you need to understand the book.

    Give it a go

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST READ!!!!

    I am a huge book reader and have read hundreds of books but I have to say Snyder's writings are my favorite. I have been completely captivated by all of Snyder's books and this was no exception. As soon as I got into the middle of the book I could not stop!! Finished the rest of the book in one day! I strongly recommend her books you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    This book is right on par with the rest. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I LOVED the Study series by Maria Snyder. So, when I discovered that this series was to be set in the same world (with a character mentioned in the series) I was both really excited and apprehensive. I was worried about a few things. Turns out there was no reason to be worried.

    Opal was able to carry her own story remarkably. I actually wish we could have gotten more of the story since the end of Magic Study. But, since those 4 years are spent at the Keep, I assume not much happens. I like how for most of the book Opal doubts herself and her magic abilities. I like it when character appear human. I liked Kade as well. Although, I found him a whole lot easier to read than Opal. His character seems very textbook so far and I'm hoping he surprised me a little in the future.

    I found the subject of the stormdancers and their ability to trap energy into orbs completely fascinating. Especially because the process of creating these special orbs is just as important and the stormdancers themselves. I also really loved how Opal has powers far beyond what she initially thinks. And once again, the magicians don't like it!

    My only drawback was it was a little slow at times. But then it would pick back up. I also wish Yelena would have been left out of the story (at least for this first one). Everytime she appeared I wanted the narrative to switch to her fiery character and that's not fair to the characters in this novel. Thankfully she's just a small part of the story. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    very goood

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book. At the time of reading it, I was chilled to the bone half the time in the freezing outdoors of Maine. However, this book warmed me right down to my toes with the heat of the glass kilns, the lovely staged romance *waggles eyebrows deviously* and even the warmth that Opal felt in the Citadel. This book a very origanal plot line, and builds very well off her other series, while also being its own unique book. Her magic grows and changes at a reasonable pace, and her suprise it reasonable. Her bond with the soul inside the orb was deep and beautiful, and, while I thought it could have been explored a little more, it still left me with a fuzzy feeling in the end. While being beautiful and tragic, especially in the end, I found myself wanting slightly to slap the author. A deep feeling within me was always saying 'Don't trust him, don't trust him', from the very beginning, and what do you know? I was proved right. I find her relationship in the end to be sad, because she obviously loves him and knows it, so why does she go off looking for someone she knows she doesn't and could possibly be corrupted by black magic? This is the only thing that bothered within the book. Otherwise, a beautiful book with lots of story twists. Don't give up on it in the beginning, it picks up the pace fast. Highly recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the Study Series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    i couldn't put this book down! im dying to know what happens next! there are a lot of unanswered questions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read!

    you're gonna like this book if you like adventures and magic! the author did a good job balancing the two as well as throwing a "OH MY GOSH" punch in it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    i love these books

    from poison study to storm glass i love these books. i don't get why they were moved to romance because the love lives of the main characters are very secondary to the fantasy, adventure and intrigue. the women that the stories revolve around are much too real and too big to be consumed by their relationships. but it doesn't matter what section of the store you find Opal and Yelena in, they are worth looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Maria Snyder does it again!

    I really loved the 'Study' series, and wasn't sure how this book would come across. I was hoping that it would be just as good, and Snyder didn't dissapoint. I love the characters, and even the guest apperance of characters from the last triology was well done. If you liked the study books, or even if you're just looking for a good triology, this is really worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Don't want to spoil anything. The adventures were great w/ Opal and friends, but you really have to read the Study books first. Poison,Magic, Fire Study

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Awesome Book!

    I read this book because I had read the Poison Study series by the same author. I loved how the characters that I loved in the other series continue through conversations, memories, and some face-to-face encounters. It's a wonderfully written book and it didn't take effort at all to love the new characters. Opal, the leading heroine, is a lot like Yelena, in the first series - good character, unsure of her powers, and great personality. I would absolutely suggest this book to anyone who loves a "non-traditional romance" novel... a book in which there's mystery, drama, magic, friendship, and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7